CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI 3D Modeling Comparison

Masterpiece X vs. Zoo Design Studio

At a glance

At a glance

Masterpiece X

Best for

Best for game creators who want rigged, animated 3D characters generated from text.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Zoo Design Studio

Best for

Best for engineers and product teams who want AI-generated geometry that stays editable in a real CAD feature tree.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Masterpiece X Zoo Design Studio
Starting price Free credits; paid from $10.99 / month New accounts get 250 free credits. Paid plans are monthly credit packs from $10.99 (750 credits). Free plan with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month Paid tiers (Plus, Pro, Team, Enterprise) add more reasoning time, around 400 minutes a month on Plus and unlimited on Pro; their amounts are not shown on the public pricing page. Overages run pay-as-you-go at $0.0083 per second.
Free trial 250 free credits Free plan with full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows
Output Textured, animation-ready 3D models Parametric B-rep CAD models, exported as STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY or FBX
Languages Not stated Prompts primarily in English, with other major languages accepted at varying accuracy
Hosting Not stated Cloud; the desktop application needs an internet connection because the geometry engine runs in the cloud
Made in Not stated United States
What it makes Textured, animation-ready 3D models from text prompts Parametric B-rep CAD models from text prompts, images and sketches: primitives, brackets, mechanical parts, enclosures, mounts, assemblies and 3D-printable components
Detail and topology The vendor positions the output for exploring and prototyping ideas rather than as high-fidelity AAA game assets, and publishes no polygon count or topology specification Boundary-representation solids rather than meshes, editable through sketch and feature-tree workflows with human-readable KCL as the source of truth; assembly mates are still on the roadmap
Rigging and textures Rigged and animated characters with textures, editable across mesh, texture, rig, skin and animation steps No rigging, no animation and no UV-mapped textures: the KCL standard library has no module for any of them. Surface appearance goes as far as setting a material colour on a solid
Speed Not stated No fixed generation time is published. Zoo states that Agent API requests, which is what Zookeeper runs on, have no fixed completion time and that the duration depends on the complexity of the task, the tools required and the number of iterations the agent performs; billing follows that, metered in reasoning minutes rather than per model
Export and pipeline fit GLB export today, with FBX, OBJ and glTF planned; works with Blender, Unity and Unreal Engine Exports STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY and FBX; imports KCL, STL, glTF/GLB, OBJ, FBX, PLY plus experimental STEP/STP and SLDPRT
Commercial use Private export retains ownership; models shared to the Community Library are CC0 You own the outputs and may use them commercially. Material you put in is licensed back to Zoo to run and improve the service, including training its models, and opting out of that training is possible only on subscription tiers that allow it
API Yes, the Masterpiece X - Generate API, documented as the MPX GenAI API with a quickstart and a Unity runtime guide; the pricing page offers early access sign-up rather than a published API price Yes, developer APIs for custom CAD applications; Zookeeper runs on the Agent API, billed pay-as-you-go at $0.0083 per second
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Blender, Unity, Unreal Engine Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Masterpiece X Free credits; paid from $10.99 / month Zoo Design Studio Free plan with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month
  • Free trial Masterpiece X 250 free credits Zoo Design Studio Free plan with full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows
  • Company size Masterpiece X Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Zoo Design Studio Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support Masterpiece X Email helpdesk Zoo Design Studio Email helpdesk, Community forum
  • MCP-ready Masterpiece X No Zoo Design Studio Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Masterpiece X

Strengths

  • Generates rigged, animated characters, not just static meshes
  • Editable across mesh, texture, rig, skin and animation steps
  • 250 free credits to start

Limitations

  • Currently exports GLB only, with other formats planned
  • Text input only, no image-to-3D in Generate

Zoo Design Studio

Strengths

  • Output is editable parametric CAD rather than a mesh that has to be rebuilt
  • Free plan includes full CAD access plus 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning a month
  • Native applications for Mac, Windows and Linux
  • The Design Studio application is open source on GitHub
  • Zookeeper reads selections, renders and existing KCL as context instead of starting from a blank prompt

Limitations

  • Needs an internet connection: the geometry engine runs in the cloud
  • Paid tier amounts are not shown on the public pricing page
  • The geometry engine itself is not open source
  • Zoo may train on data from free plan usage
  • Assembly mates are not implemented yet

Plans

Pricing

Masterpiece X

  • Free $0 250 credits for new accounts.
  • 750 Credits $10.99 Per month.
  • 1,500 Credits $19.99 Per month.
  • 3,000 Credits $36.99 Per month.
Visit site

Zoo Design Studio

  • Free Free Full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows, with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month. Zoo may train on free plan usage data.
  • Plus Not stated Around 400 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month. No amount is published on the pricing page.
  • Pro Not stated Unlimited Zookeeper reasoning in Design Studio, with pay-as-you-go available. No amount is published on the pricing page.
  • Team Not stated Unlimited Zookeeper reasoning, with custom billing on request. No amount is published on the pricing page.
  • Enterprise Custom Contact sales. Adds design rules and internal company knowledge to Zookeeper, plus custom billing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Masterpiece X

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Zoo Design Studio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Masterpiece X https://www.masterpiecex.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

Zoo Design Studio https://zoo.dev · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.