CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

a0.dev vs. Adalo

At a glance

At a glance

a0.dev

Best for

Best for founders who want to ship a native mobile app to the App Store from a prompt.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Adalo

Best for

Best for founders and freelancers who want one project published as a native iOS app, a native Android app and a web app without writing code.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion a0.dev Adalo
Starting price Not stated Free plan; paid from $36 / month Annual billing is the rate shown by default; monthly billing costs 20 percent more. Plans differ mainly in published apps (1 on Starter, 2 on Professional, 5 on Team), editors and storage. Publishing to the stores also needs an Apple Developer account ($99 / year) and a Google Play developer account ($25 one-time), both charged by Apple and Google directly.
Free trial Not stated Free plan with unlimited test apps, 500 records per app and no publishing
Output Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web Native iOS and Android apps plus a responsive web app from one project
API Yes Yes, a Collections API and a Notifications API, plus custom actions against any REST API
What it generates Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt Native iOS and Android apps plus a responsive web app from one project, assembled on a multi-screen canvas or built and edited by prompting the Ada assistant
Stack and frameworks React Native Visual no-code editor with more than 200 drag-and-drop components; a developer mode allows private custom components, and a marketplace adds third-party ones
Auth and database Managed backend with a choice of Convex or Supabase for the database, plus built-in push notifications Built-in hosted Postgres database with relational collections; outside data through external collections over REST, Google Sheets and Xano, which can also supply external users
Hosting and deploy One-click publishing to the App Store and Google Play (IPA/APK), with a web preview Published to an Adalo-hosted domain or a custom domain, and from paid plans to the Apple App Store and Google Play
Payments Built-in monetization: subscriptions and one-time purchases via the App Store Yes, Stripe payments collected inside the app
Access to the code Projects are built on Expo and edited by the agent inside a0's own workspace. The documentation covers runtime and Expo SDK upgrades, over-the-air updates and store publishing, and documents no source-code download, GitHub sync or local development Custom components rather than an exportable codebase. A component is bootstrapped outside Adalo with the create-adalo-component tool, which needs Node 10.2 or newer and developer mode enabled on the account, and is published with npx adalo publish, either publicly or privately. Code otherwise reaches an app from the outside: custom actions call any external REST API, and the Adalo API, documented for the Team and Business plans at up to 5 requests per second, reads and writes the app's collections and triggers push notifications. The developer documentation covers building and publishing components and does not document exporting an app's own source
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Convex, Supabase, App Store Connect, Google Play, Firebase Cloud Messaging more entries Stripe, Zapier, Make, Google Sheets, Google Maps, Xano, Airtable

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Company size a0.dev Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Adalo Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support a0.dev Community forum Adalo Email helpdesk, Community forum
  • Output a0.dev Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web Adalo Native iOS and Android apps plus a responsive web app from one project
  • API a0.dev Yes Adalo Yes, a Collections API and a Notifications API, plus custom actions against any REST API
  • What it generates a0.dev Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt Adalo Native iOS and Android apps plus a responsive web app from one project, assembled on a multi-screen canvas or built and edited by prompting the Ada assistant

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

a0.dev

Strengths

  • Generates a full React Native app and publishes it to the App Store and Google Play
  • Built-in monetization with subscriptions and one-time purchases
  • Convex backend and push notifications wired in

Limitations

  • Primarily a mobile app builder: it generates native iOS and Android apps, with web as a secondary target
  • Output is React Native on Expo, so you work within that stack rather than a framework of your choice

Adalo

Strengths

  • One project publishes as a native iOS app, a native Android app and a web app
  • Ada, the AI assistant, is included on every plan with no token or usage charges
  • Built-in relational Postgres database, so no external backend is required to start
  • Flat monthly price with no usage-based or per-action charges

Limitations

  • The free plan can build and test but cannot publish an app
  • Published apps are capped per plan, so shipping several apps means moving up tiers
  • App store publishing needs paid Apple and Google developer accounts on top
  • Email support runs on a response-time SLA of three, two or one business days depending on the plan

Plans

Pricing

Adalo

  • Free $0 Unlimited test apps and screens, 500 records per app, 1 editor, Ada AI assistant. No publishing.
  • Starter $36 Per month, billed annually. 1 published app, 1 editor, 5 GB storage, web and app store publishing, custom domain.
  • Professional $52 Per month, billed annually. 2 published apps, 5 editors, 25 GB storage.
  • Team $160 Per month, billed annually. 5 published apps, 10 editors, 125 GB storage.
  • Adalo Blue Not stated Enterprise offering with dedicated infrastructure, custom monitoring, on-premise deployment and connections to data sources without an API. Priced on request.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

a0.dev

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Adalo

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

a0.dev https://a0.dev · checked against the official source on 2026-09-02

Adalo https://www.adalo.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.