CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

a0.dev vs. AppSheet

At a glance

At a glance

a0.dev

Best for

Best for founders who want to ship a native mobile app to the App Store from a prompt.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

AppSheet

Best for

Best for teams on Google Workspace that want mobile and web apps over data already sitting in spreadsheets and cloud databases.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion a0.dev AppSheet
Starting price Not stated Free for prototyping; paid plans from $5 / user / month Starter $5, Core $10 and Enterprise Plus $20 per user per month. Core is included with most paid Google Workspace plans. Publisher Pro is priced per app instead, at $50 per app per month, and serves unlimited users.
Free trial Not stated Free plan with full platform access for prototyping with up to 10 test users, with no time limit stated
Output Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web Mobile and web business apps plus automations such as email, SMS and push notifications
API Yes Yes, a REST API for reading and writing table records in an app
Hosting Not stated Google cloud
What it generates Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt Mobile and web business apps for work such as operations, field work, HR, sales and project management, plus automations sending email, SMS and push notifications; Gemini for App Creation generates the app from a described business process, proposing tables and columns before building
Stack and frameworks React Native No-code throughout: apps are configured in AppSheet's editor rather than written in a framework, and logic is extended with Google Apps Script functions and the REST API
Auth and database Managed backend with a choice of Convex or Supabase for the database, plus built-in push notifications Runs on existing data rather than its own: Google Sheets and Drive, Microsoft 365 and hosted Excel, Cloud SQL, Azure SQL, BigQuery, Salesforce, Dropbox, Smartsheet, OData, Apigee and REST APIs, with an AppSheet database included. Row limits per database scale with the plan, from 5 databases of 2,500 rows on Starter to 200 databases of 200,000 rows on Enterprise Plus. Enterprise data service connections and the stronger security, team management and governance controls are Enterprise Plus, which needs a Google Workspace administrator account
Hosting and deploy One-click publishing to the App Store and Google Play (IPA/APK), with a web preview Google cloud only, with apps published to end users rather than deployed to infrastructure; there is no self-hosted option
Payments Built-in monetization: subscriptions and one-time purchases via the App Store No built-in payments. No payment provider appears among the external services AppSheet documents, so a provider has to be reached like any other API, through a REST data source or a webhook step in an automation
Access to the code Projects are built on Expo and edited by the agent inside a0's own workspace. The documentation covers runtime and Expo SDK upgrades, over-the-air updates and store publishing, and documents no source-code download, GitHub sync or local development Apps live in AppSheet rather than as an exportable codebase; Apps Script and the REST API are the extension points
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Convex, Supabase, App Store Connect, Google Play, Firebase Cloud Messaging more entries Google Sheets, Google Drive, Google Apps Script, BigQuery, Cloud SQL, Microsoft 365, Azure SQL, Salesforce, Dropbox, Smartsheet, OData, Apigee

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Company size a0.dev Freelancers, Small and mid-sized AppSheet Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support a0.dev Community forum AppSheet Email helpdesk
  • Output a0.dev Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web AppSheet Mobile and web business apps plus automations such as email, SMS and push notifications
  • API a0.dev Yes AppSheet Yes, a REST API for reading and writing table records in an app
  • What it generates a0.dev Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt AppSheet Mobile and web business apps for work such as operations, field work, HR, sales and project management, plus automations sending email, SMS and push notifications; Gemini for App Creation generates the app from a described business process, proposing tables and columns before building

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

a0.dev

Strengths

  • Generates a full React Native app and publishes it to the App Store and Google Play
  • Built-in monetization with subscriptions and one-time purchases
  • Convex backend and push notifications wired in

Limitations

  • Primarily a mobile app builder: it generates native iOS and Android apps, with web as a secondary target
  • Output is React Native on Expo, so you work within that stack rather than a framework of your choice

AppSheet

Strengths

  • Gemini app creation is included in every paid licence rather than charged separately
  • Starts from data a company already keeps, including non-Google sources such as Microsoft 365, Azure SQL and Salesforce
  • Core is bundled with most paid Google Workspace plans, so many organisations already hold the licence
  • Free tier has full platform access for prototyping with no stated time limit

Limitations

  • Google cloud only, with no self-hosted option
  • Apps are not an exportable codebase, so leaving the platform means rebuilding
  • Enterprise data connections, machine learning modelling and the governance controls are Enterprise Plus only, and need a Workspace administrator account
  • Database row limits are tied to the plan, so heavier data pushes the tier up

Plans

Pricing

AppSheet

  • Free $0 Full platform access for prototyping with up to 10 test users. No time limit stated.
  • Starter $5 Per user per month. Basic application and automation features, spreadsheet and cloud file storage connections, 5 AppSheet databases of 2,500 rows each.
  • Core $10 Per user per month. Advanced application and automation features, application security controls, email support, 10 databases of 2,500 rows each. Included with most paid Google Workspace plans.
  • Enterprise Plus $20 Per user per month. Adds enterprise data service connections to APIs, SaaS and databases, enhanced security, team management and governance, machine learning modelling, priority support and 200 databases of 200,000 rows each. Requires a Google Workspace administrator account.
  • Publisher Pro $50 Per app per month rather than per user. For publicly accessible apps that need no sign-in, with unlimited users per app and the Core feature set.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

a0.dev

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

AppSheet

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

a0.dev https://a0.dev · checked against the official source on 2026-09-02

AppSheet https://about.appsheet.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.