CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

a0.dev vs. Appsmith

At a glance

At a glance

a0.dev

Best for

Best for founders who want to ship a native mobile app to the App Store from a prompt.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Appsmith

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want self-hosted internal tools with the source under an open licence.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion a0.dev Appsmith
Starting price Not stated Free; Business $15 / user / month Business is billed monthly by credit card for up to 99 users. Enterprise starts at $2,500 per month from 100 users and is usually billed annually. The self-hosted community edition is free.
Free trial Not stated Free plan for up to 5 users, plus a 15-day Business trial for new cloud signups
Output Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web Internal web apps: admin panels, dashboards and service tools
API Yes Not stated
Hosting Not stated Appsmith cloud or self-hosted (Docker, Kubernetes, AWS AMI)
What it generates Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt Internal tools: admin panels, dashboards, customer 360 views and IT or service-management apps, assembled from a widget library
Stack and frameworks React Native Drag-and-drop widgets with JavaScript available in every binding; an in-product AI copilot helps write queries, JavaScript and interface changes rather than generating a whole app from a prompt
Auth and database Managed backend with a choice of Convex or Supabase for the database, plus built-in push notifications 25+ databases (PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Databricks), REST and GraphQL, and 30+ SaaS connectors; Google SSO on the free plan, SAML and OIDC SSO with SCIM provisioning on Enterprise
Hosting and deploy One-click publishing to the App Store and Google Play (IPA/APK), with a web preview Appsmith cloud, or self-hosted with Docker, Kubernetes or an AWS AMI; an air-gapped edition on Enterprise
Payments Built-in monetization: subscriptions and one-time purchases via the App Store No built-in payments; Stripe is one of the SaaS connectors an app can call
Access to the code Projects are built on Expo and edited by the agent inside a0's own workspace. The documentation covers runtime and Expo SDK upgrades, over-the-air updates and store publishing, and documents no source-code download, GitHub sync or local development Apache 2.0 and self-hostable, with Git version control against GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure: 3 repositories on the free plan, unlimited on Business
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Community forum more entries Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Convex, Supabase, App Store Connect, Google Play, Firebase Cloud Messaging more entries PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Elasticsearch, Redis, Firestore, Databricks, Amazon S3, Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Jira, Asana, Notion, Google Sheets, Airtable, Stripe, monday.com, Linear, OpenAI, Anthropic, Google AI

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Deployment a0.dev Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Appsmith Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size a0.dev Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Appsmith Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support a0.dev Community forum Appsmith Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum
  • Output a0.dev Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web Appsmith Internal web apps: admin panels, dashboards and service tools
  • What it generates a0.dev Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt Appsmith Internal tools: admin panels, dashboards, customer 360 views and IT or service-management apps, assembled from a widget library

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

a0.dev

Strengths

  • Generates a full React Native app and publishes it to the App Store and Google Play
  • Built-in monetization with subscriptions and one-time purchases
  • Convex backend and push notifications wired in

Limitations

  • Primarily a mobile app builder: it generates native iOS and Android apps, with web as a secondary target
  • Output is React Native on Expo, so you work within that stack rather than a framework of your choice

Appsmith

Strengths

  • Apache 2.0 licence with a free self-hosted community edition
  • Connects to 25+ databases plus REST, GraphQL and 30+ SaaS services
  • Git version control, including on the free plan

Limitations

  • AI assists the person building rather than generating a whole app from a prompt
  • Enterprise starts at $2,500 a month and 100 users
  • SAML and OIDC SSO and SCIM provisioning are Enterprise-only

Plans

Pricing

Appsmith

  • Free $0 Cloud, up to 5 users: 5 workspaces, 3 Git repositories, Google SSO, community support.
  • Business $15 Per user per month, billed monthly, up to 99 users. Adds unlimited workspaces and Git repositories, workflows, premium integrations, custom roles and audit logs.
  • Enterprise $2,500 Per month from 100 users, typically billed annually. Adds SAML and OIDC SSO, SCIM, CI/CD, private app embedding, an air-gapped edition and support with SLAs.
  • Community (self-hosted) $0 Open source under Apache 2.0, self-hosted.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

a0.dev

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Appsmith

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

a0.dev https://a0.dev · checked against the official source on 2026-09-02

Appsmith https://www.appsmith.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.