CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

a0.dev vs. Microsoft Power Apps

At a glance

At a glance

a0.dev

Best for

Best for founders who want to ship a native mobile app to the App Store from a prompt.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Microsoft Power Apps

Best for

Best for organisations already inside a Microsoft 365 tenant that want governed business apps built on their existing data.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion a0.dev Microsoft Power Apps
Starting price Not stated Free Developer Plan; Power Apps Premium from $22 / user / month Annual billing. Premium falls to $14 per user per month with a 2,000 seat minimum. Extra Dataverse database capacity is $40 per GB per month, and Copilot Studio is bought separately as pre-purchased credit units.
Free trial Not stated Free Power Apps Developer Plan for non-production use; separately a 30-day trial of the per-user plan, extendable twice to 90 days
Output Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web Canvas and model-driven business apps that run in a browser and in the Power Apps mobile app on phone and tablet
API Yes Yes, Dataverse and Power Platform developer APIs, plus prebuilt and custom connectors
Hosting Not stated Microsoft cloud, managed per environment from the Power Platform admin center
What it generates Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt Canvas and model-driven business apps plus Power Pages sites; Copilot generates the Dataverse tables and relationships from a description, and Plans turns a use case in natural language, with images such as process flows, into a solution blueprint
Stack and frameworks React Native No hand-written framework code: canvas apps are laid out in Power Apps Studio, model-driven apps are generated from the data model. Developers extend them with JavaScript on the client, Azure functions and plug-ins on the server, custom connectors and virtual tables
Auth and database Managed backend with a choice of Convex or Supabase for the database, plus built-in push notifications Microsoft Dataverse as the built-in database, or connectors to SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365, SQL Server and on-premises sources; identity, environments, data loss prevention policies and auditing are administered centrally in the Power Platform admin center
Hosting and deploy One-click publishing to the App Store and Google Play (IPA/APK), with a web preview Runs on Microsoft's cloud only, organised into environments; a US Government cloud meets FedRAMP High and DoD DISA IL2, and there is no self-hosted option
Payments Built-in monetization: subscriptions and one-time purchases via the App Store No checkout of its own; a Stripe connector is available in the connector library to work with customers, orders and invoices, and Power Pages has a separate payments integration
Access to the code Projects are built on Expo and edited by the agent inside a0's own workspace. The documentation covers runtime and Expo SDK upgrades, over-the-air updates and store publishing, and documents no source-code download, GitHub sync or local development Apps live in the platform rather than as an exportable codebase; they move between environments as solutions, and code enters through JavaScript, plug-ins and custom connectors rather than by exporting what was generated
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Convex, Supabase, App Store Connect, Google Play, Firebase Cloud Messaging more entries Microsoft Dataverse, SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365, SQL Server, Stripe, Microsoft Copilot Studio, Power Automate

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Company size a0.dev Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Microsoft Power Apps Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output a0.dev Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web Microsoft Power Apps Canvas and model-driven business apps that run in a browser and in the Power Apps mobile app on phone and tablet
  • API a0.dev Yes Microsoft Power Apps Yes, Dataverse and Power Platform developer APIs, plus prebuilt and custom connectors
  • What it generates a0.dev Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt Microsoft Power Apps Canvas and model-driven business apps plus Power Pages sites; Copilot generates the Dataverse tables and relationships from a description, and Plans turns a use case in natural language, with images such as process flows, into a solution blueprint
  • Stack and frameworks a0.dev React Native Microsoft Power Apps No hand-written framework code: canvas apps are laid out in Power Apps Studio, model-driven apps are generated from the data model. Developers extend them with JavaScript on the client, Azure functions and plug-ins on the server, custom connectors and virtual tables

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

a0.dev

Strengths

  • Generates a full React Native app and publishes it to the App Store and Google Play
  • Built-in monetization with subscriptions and one-time purchases
  • Convex backend and push notifications wired in

Limitations

  • Primarily a mobile app builder: it generates native iOS and Android apps, with web as a secondary target
  • Output is React Native on Expo, so you work within that stack rather than a framework of your choice

Microsoft Power Apps

Strengths

  • Copilot builds the Dataverse data model, not just the screens, and keeps editing it conversationally
  • Connects to SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365 and SQL Server through prebuilt connectors, so existing data stays where it is
  • Central governance for environments, data loss prevention, access and auditing across the whole tenant
  • Free Developer Plan with Dataverse for learning and non-production work

Limitations

  • Microsoft cloud only, with no self-hosted option
  • What gets built is not an exportable codebase, so leaving the platform means rebuilding
  • Copilot app generation depends on Dataverse access and is limited by region availability
  • Priced per user per month, so cost tracks how many colleagues run the app rather than how many apps exist

Plans

Pricing

Microsoft Power Apps

  • Power Apps Developer Plan $0 Three developer environments, prebuilt and custom connectors, 2 GB Dataverse database and 750 flows a month. For building and testing, not for production.
  • Power Apps Premium $22 Per user per month on annual billing. Unlimited Power Apps and Power Pages for the assigned user, prebuilt and custom connectors, 250 MB database and 2 GB file capacity, agentic features in model-driven apps and Microsoft 365 Copilot chat.
  • Power Apps Premium, 2,000+ seats $14 Per user per month on annual billing at volume, with a 2,000 seat minimum. Same features as standard Premium.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

a0.dev

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Microsoft Power Apps

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

a0.dev https://a0.dev · checked against the official source on 2026-09-02

Microsoft Power Apps https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/power-platform/products/power-apps · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.