CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

a0.dev vs. OutSystems

At a glance

At a glance

a0.dev

Best for

Best for founders who want to ship a native mobile app to the App Store from a prompt.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

OutSystems

Best for

Best for enterprise IT teams that want AI-generated applications inside a governed low-code platform with its own architecture guard rails.

  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion a0.dev OutSystems
Starting price Not stated Free Personal Edition; OutSystems Developer Cloud quoted by the vendor ODC is metered on three things: application complexity in Application Objects, which is the sum of screens, database tables and API methods, with a typical medium app around 150 AOs; the number of internal and external end users; and advanced add-ons. A base subscription starts with one medium production application and 100 internal users.
Free trial Not stated Free Personal Edition, no credit card required, for up to 100 internal users
Output Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web Full-stack enterprise web and mobile applications with data model, server-side logic and UI screens
API Yes Yes, API-first with CI/CD APIs and APIs for uploading external libraries
Hosting Not stated OutSystems Cloud on AWS; self-hosting is available as an advanced add-on
What it generates Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt Full-stack enterprise applications: Mentor generates the data model, server-side logic and UI screens from a natural language prompt or an uploaded requirements document, shows a visual blueprint before building, and then evolves the app through conversation inside the IDE with human sign-off on each implementation plan
Stack and frameworks React Native .NET Core on Linux containers, each application isolated in its own container, orchestrated with Kubernetes on AWS; developers extend apps with custom .NET code uploaded as high-code external libraries, whose methods are exposed to the visual editor as server actions
Auth and database Managed backend with a choice of Convex or Supabase for the database, plus built-in push notifications Amazon Aurora Serverless with PostgreSQL compatibility as the managed database; ISO 27001 compliance is included and SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS are advanced add-ons
Hosting and deploy One-click publishing to the App Store and Google Play (IPA/APK), with a web preview OutSystems Cloud with development, testing and production runtimes and a 99.5 percent uptime guarantee, upgradeable to 99.95 percent; extra runtimes and a self-hosted option are advanced add-ons. Built-in CI/CD pipelines with monitoring, tracing and logging
Payments Built-in monetization: subscriptions and one-time purchases via the App Store No checkout of its own; payment providers are integrated through components from the OutSystems Forge, including Stripe connectors for both ODC and OutSystems 11 that handle charges, customers and refunds, and a payments plugin covering Apple Pay, Google Pay and Stripe
Access to the code Projects are built on Expo and edited by the agent inside a0's own workspace. The documentation covers runtime and Expo SDK upgrades, over-the-air updates and store publishing, and documents no source-code download, GitHub sync or local development Applications are built visually rather than in a repository of hand-written source; custom C# and .NET logic enters as external libraries uploaded through the SDK and APIs, decorated so their methods surface as server actions
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Community forum more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Enterprise
Integrations Convex, Supabase, App Store Connect, Google Play, Firebase Cloud Messaging Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Deployment a0.dev Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based OutSystems Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size a0.dev Freelancers, Small and mid-sized OutSystems Enterprise
  • Support a0.dev Community forum OutSystems Email helpdesk, Community forum
  • Output a0.dev Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web OutSystems Full-stack enterprise web and mobile applications with data model, server-side logic and UI screens
  • API a0.dev Yes OutSystems Yes, API-first with CI/CD APIs and APIs for uploading external libraries

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

a0.dev

Strengths

  • Generates a full React Native app and publishes it to the App Store and Google Play
  • Built-in monetization with subscriptions and one-time purchases
  • Convex backend and push notifications wired in

Limitations

  • Primarily a mobile app builder: it generates native iOS and Android apps, with web as a secondary target
  • Output is React Native on Expo, so you work within that stack rather than a framework of your choice

OutSystems

Strengths

  • Mentor generates a complete application, data model and server logic included, from a requirements document rather than only from a chat prompt
  • Shows a visual blueprint and asks for sign-off before applying changes, instead of building unseen
  • Runs on containerised .NET Core with Kubernetes, managed Aurora PostgreSQL and built-in CI/CD, monitoring and tracing
  • Free Personal Edition for up to 100 internal users needs no credit card
  • Self-hosting is available, unlike most tools in this category

Limitations

  • No published prices at all, so every evaluation starts with a sales conversation
  • Pricing is metered on Application Objects and user counts, which makes cost hard to predict as an app grows
  • The Personal Edition is a development runtime only and cannot run production apps
  • Self-hosting, 24x7 support, higher uptime and SOC 2 or PCI DSS compliance are all paid add-ons rather than part of the base subscription
  • Base support is 8x5 business hours

Plans

Pricing

OutSystems

  • OutSystems Personal Edition $0 Free, no credit card required. Development runtime only, up to 100 internal users, hosted on OutSystems Cloud. For test applications, not production, and with no uptime guarantee or compliance options.
  • OutSystems Developer Cloud Custom Quoted by the vendor, priced on application complexity in Application Objects, end user counts and add-ons. Includes development, testing and production runtimes, professional support 8x5, OutSystems Cloud hosting, a 99.5 percent uptime guarantee and ISO 27001. Starts with 100 internal users and one medium-sized application.
  • Advanced add-ons Custom 24x7 professional support, additional non-production and production runtimes, a self-hosted option, a 99.95 percent uptime upgrade, SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS compliance, and additional users or larger applications.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

a0.dev

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

OutSystems

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

a0.dev https://a0.dev · checked against the official source on 2026-09-02

OutSystems https://www.outsystems.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.