CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Appsmith vs. Emergent

At a glance

At a glance

Appsmith

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want self-hosted internal tools with the source under an open licence.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Emergent

Best for

Best for founders and teams who want a prompt to end in a deployed app rather than a codebase to host themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Appsmith Emergent
Starting price lower value Free; Business $15 / user / month Business is billed monthly by credit card for up to 99 users. Enterprise starts at $2,500 per month from 100 users and is usually billed annually. The self-hosted community edition is free. Free tier; Standard $20 / month, Pro $200 / month Billed annually the Standard and Pro plans are $17 and $167 per month. Each deployed app costs a further 50 credits per month.
Free trial Free plan for up to 5 users, plus a 15-day Business trial for new cloud signups Free tier with 10 credits per month
Output Internal web apps: admin panels, dashboards and service tools Deployed full-stack web and Expo mobile apps
Hosting Appsmith cloud or self-hosted (Docker, Kubernetes, AWS AMI) Not stated
What it generates Internal tools: admin panels, dashboards, customer 360 views and IT or service-management apps, assembled from a widget library Full-stack web apps and Expo mobile apps, built from a prompt and deployed to a live URL
Stack and frameworks Drag-and-drop widgets with JavaScript available in every binding; an in-product AI copilot helps write queries, JavaScript and interface changes rather than generating a whole app from a prompt React and Next.js, Python with FastAPI, MongoDB; Expo (React Native) for mobile. No Flutter, Kotlin or Swift
Auth and database 25+ databases (PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Databricks), REST and GraphQL, and 30+ SaaS connectors; Google SSO on the free plan, SAML and OIDC SSO with SCIM provisioning on Enterprise Yes, MongoDB and authentication are set up with the app; Supabase is among the listed integrations
Hosting and deploy Appsmith cloud, or self-hosted with Docker, Kubernetes or an AWS AMI; an air-gapped edition on Enterprise Yes, one-click deploy in five to ten minutes, custom domains with automatic SSL, 50 credits per deployed app per month
Payments No built-in payments; Stripe is one of the SaaS connectors an app can call Stripe is among the listed integrations
Access to the code Apache 2.0 and self-hostable, with Git version control against GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure: 3 repositories on the free plan, unlimited on Business Yes, push to a GitHub repository and branch from the editor, and import an existing repository
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Elasticsearch, Redis, Firestore, Databricks, Amazon S3, Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Jira, Asana, Notion, Google Sheets, Airtable, Stripe, monday.com, Linear, OpenAI, Anthropic, Google AI GitHub, Stripe, Supabase, Airtable, Slack, Twilio, OpenAI, Claude

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Appsmith Free; Business $15 / user / month Emergent Free tier; Standard $20 / month, Pro $200 / month
  • Free trial Appsmith Free plan for up to 5 users, plus a 15-day Business trial for new cloud signups Emergent Free tier with 10 credits per month
  • Deployment Appsmith Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Emergent Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Appsmith Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Emergent Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output Appsmith Internal web apps: admin panels, dashboards and service tools Emergent Deployed full-stack web and Expo mobile apps

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Appsmith

Strengths

  • Apache 2.0 licence with a free self-hosted community edition
  • Connects to 25+ databases plus REST, GraphQL and 30+ SaaS services
  • Git version control, including on the free plan

Limitations

  • AI assists the person building rather than generating a whole app from a prompt
  • Enterprise starts at $2,500 a month and 100 users
  • SAML and OIDC SSO and SCIM provisioning are Enterprise-only

Emergent

Strengths

  • Deploys to a live URL with a custom domain and automatic SSL, no pipeline to set up
  • Web and Expo mobile apps come from the same platform
  • Code pushes to GitHub, and an existing repository can be imported

Limitations

  • The stack is fixed, with no Flutter, Kotlin or Swift
  • Every deployed app draws 50 credits a month on top of the plan
  • Large gap between the Standard and Pro plans, at $20 and $200 per month

Plans

Pricing

Appsmith

  • Free $0 Cloud, up to 5 users: 5 workspaces, 3 Git repositories, Google SSO, community support.
  • Business $15 Per user per month, billed monthly, up to 99 users. Adds unlimited workspaces and Git repositories, workflows, premium integrations, custom roles and audit logs.
  • Enterprise $2,500 Per month from 100 users, typically billed annually. Adds SAML and OIDC SSO, SCIM, CI/CD, private app embedding, an air-gapped edition and support with SLAs.
  • Community (self-hosted) $0 Open source under Apache 2.0, self-hosted.
Visit site

Emergent

  • Free $0 10 credits per month, core platform, web and mobile.
  • Standard $20 Per month, or $17 per month billed annually. 100 credits per month, private project hosting, GitHub integration.
  • Pro $200 Per month, or $167 per month billed annually. 750 credits per month, 1M context window, custom agents, priority support.
  • Business Not stated Custom. Adds role-based access control, single sign-on, shared workspaces and real-time co-editing.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom. Adds audit logs, self-hosted database support, VPC deployment, user-level credit limits and usage reporting.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Appsmith

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Emergent

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Appsmith https://www.appsmith.com · no check date recorded yet

Emergent https://emergent.sh · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.