CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Appsmith vs. FlutterFlow

At a glance

At a glance

Appsmith

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want self-hosted internal tools with the source under an open licence.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

FlutterFlow

Best for

Best for developers and teams that want to build native apps visually while keeping full ownership of the Flutter source code.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Appsmith FlutterFlow
Starting price lower value Free; Business $15 / user / month Business is billed monthly by credit card for up to 99 users. Enterprise starts at $2,500 per month from 100 users and is usually billed annually. The self-hosted community edition is free. Free plan; paid from $39 / month Billed per month; annual billing is about 25% cheaper. Higher tiers add per-seat pricing.
Free trial Free plan for up to 5 users, plus a 15-day Business trial for new cloud signups Free plan (AI Gen limited to 5 lifetime requests)
Commercial use Not stated Yes
Output Internal web apps: admin panels, dashboards and service tools Native iOS and Android apps and responsive web apps, with downloadable Flutter and Dart source code
Hosting Appsmith cloud or self-hosted (Docker, Kubernetes, AWS AMI) Not stated
What it generates Internal tools: admin panels, dashboards, customer 360 views and IT or service-management apps, assembled from a widget library Native iOS and Android apps plus responsive web apps, built from one project; screens and flows can be generated from a prompt with AI Gen
Stack and frameworks Drag-and-drop widgets with JavaScript available in every binding; an in-product AI copilot helps write queries, JavaScript and interface changes rather than generating a whole app from a prompt Visual builder on top of Flutter; generates Flutter and Dart code you can download, with no vendor lock-in
Auth and database 25+ databases (PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Databricks), REST and GraphQL, and 30+ SaaS connectors; Google SSO on the free plan, SAML and OIDC SSO with SCIM provisioning on Enterprise Built-in Firebase and Supabase integrations for database and user authentication, plus REST and GraphQL API connections
Hosting and deploy Appsmith cloud, or self-hosted with Docker, Kubernetes or an AWS AMI; an air-gapped edition on Enterprise One-click deploy to the Apple App Store, Google Play and the web, with custom domain support
Payments No built-in payments; Stripe is one of the SaaS connectors an app can call In-app payment integration available across all plans
Access to the code Apache 2.0 and self-hostable, with Git version control against GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure: 3 repositories on the free plan, unlimited on Business Full Flutter and Dart source code can be downloaded, or synced to GitHub on Growth and higher
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Elasticsearch, Redis, Firestore, Databricks, Amazon S3, Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Jira, Asana, Notion, Google Sheets, Airtable, Stripe, monday.com, Linear, OpenAI, Anthropic, Google AI Firebase, Cloud Firestore, Firebase Storage, Supabase, GitHub, Google Cloud, Google Maps, Google Analytics, Braintree, AdMob, Mux

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Appsmith Free; Business $15 / user / month FlutterFlow Free plan; paid from $39 / month
  • Free trial Appsmith Free plan for up to 5 users, plus a 15-day Business trial for new cloud signups FlutterFlow Free plan (AI Gen limited to 5 lifetime requests)
  • Deployment Appsmith Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise FlutterFlow Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Appsmith Small and mid-sized, Enterprise FlutterFlow Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output Appsmith Internal web apps: admin panels, dashboards and service tools FlutterFlow Native iOS and Android apps and responsive web apps, with downloadable Flutter and Dart source code

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Appsmith

Strengths

  • Apache 2.0 licence with a free self-hosted community edition
  • Connects to 25+ databases plus REST, GraphQL and 30+ SaaS services
  • Git version control, including on the free plan

Limitations

  • AI assists the person building rather than generating a whole app from a prompt
  • Enterprise starts at $2,500 a month and 100 users
  • SAML and OIDC SSO and SCIM provisioning are Enterprise-only

FlutterFlow

Strengths

  • Exports the full Flutter and Dart source code, so there is no vendor lock-in
  • Builds native iOS, Android and web apps from a single project
  • Built-in Firebase and Supabase integrations for data and authentication

Limitations

  • AI Gen requests are capped per plan (5 lifetime on the free plan, up to 500 per month on Business)
  • Real-time collaboration and GitHub sync require the Growth plan or higher

Plans

Pricing

Appsmith

  • Free $0 Cloud, up to 5 users: 5 workspaces, 3 Git repositories, Google SSO, community support.
  • Business $15 Per user per month, billed monthly, up to 99 users. Adds unlimited workspaces and Git repositories, workflows, premium integrations, custom roles and audit logs.
  • Enterprise $2,500 Per month from 100 users, typically billed annually. Adds SAML and OIDC SSO, SCIM, CI/CD, private app embedding, an air-gapped edition and support with SLAs.
  • Community (self-hosted) $0 Open source under Apache 2.0, self-hosted.
Visit site

FlutterFlow

  • Free $0
  • Basic $39 / month
  • Growth $80 / month
  • Business $150 / month
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Appsmith

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

FlutterFlow

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Appsmith https://www.appsmith.com · no check date recorded yet

FlutterFlow https://www.flutterflow.io · checked against the official source on 2026-09-06

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.