CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Bolt.new vs. Microsoft Power Apps

At a glance

At a glance

Bolt.new

Best for

Best for quickly validating an idea with a working full-stack prototype.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Microsoft Power Apps

Best for

Best for organisations already inside a Microsoft 365 tenant that want governed business apps built on their existing data.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Bolt.new Microsoft Power Apps
Starting price Free tier; paid credits above The free limits are reached quickly. Free Developer Plan; Power Apps Premium from $22 / user / month Annual billing. Premium falls to $14 per user per month with a 2,000 seat minimum. Extra Dataverse database capacity is $40 per GB per month, and Copilot Studio is bought separately as pre-purchased credit units.
Free trial Free tier Free Power Apps Developer Plan for non-production use; separately a 30-day trial of the per-user plan, extendable twice to 90 days
Commercial use Yes Not stated
Output Full-stack app in the browser, with automatic hosting Canvas and model-driven business apps that run in a browser and in the Power Apps mobile app on phone and tablet
API Not stated Yes, Dataverse and Power Platform developer APIs, plus prebuilt and custom connectors
Hosting Not stated Microsoft cloud, managed per environment from the Power Platform admin center
What it generates Full-stack app, built and run in the browser through StackBlitz WebContainers Canvas and model-driven business apps plus Power Pages sites; Copilot generates the Dataverse tables and relationships from a description, and Plans turns a use case in natural language, with images such as process flows, into a solution blueprint
Stack and frameworks Multi-framework No hand-written framework code: canvas apps are laid out in Power Apps Studio, model-driven apps are generated from the data model. Developers extend them with JavaScript on the client, Azure functions and plug-ins on the server, custom connectors and virtual tables
Auth and database Not out of the box, needs external services Microsoft Dataverse as the built-in database, or connectors to SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365, SQL Server and on-premises sources; identity, environments, data loss prevention policies and auditing are administered centrally in the Power Platform admin center
Hosting and deploy Yes, automatic hosting, prompt to deploy Runs on Microsoft's cloud only, organised into environments; a US Government cloud meets FedRAMP High and DoD DISA IL2, and there is no self-hosted option
Payments Yes, Stripe for one-time payments and subscriptions, via Supabase or Bolt Database No checkout of its own; a Stripe connector is available in the connector library to work with customers, orders and invoices, and Power Pages has a separate payments integration
Access to the code Yes, download the project as a zip or push it to GitHub Apps live in the platform rather than as an exportable codebase; they move between environments as solutions, and code enters through JavaScript, plug-ins and custom connectors rather than by exporting what was generated
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Microsoft Dataverse, SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365, SQL Server, Stripe, Microsoft Copilot Studio, Power Automate

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Bolt.new Free tier; paid credits above Microsoft Power Apps Free Developer Plan; Power Apps Premium from $22 / user / month
  • Free trial Bolt.new Free tier Microsoft Power Apps Free Power Apps Developer Plan for non-production use; separately a 30-day trial of the per-user plan, extendable twice to 90 days
  • Company size Bolt.new Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Microsoft Power Apps Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output Bolt.new Full-stack app in the browser, with automatic hosting Microsoft Power Apps Canvas and model-driven business apps that run in a browser and in the Power Apps mobile app on phone and tablet
  • What it generates Bolt.new Full-stack app, built and run in the browser through StackBlitz WebContainers Microsoft Power Apps Canvas and model-driven business apps plus Power Pages sites; Copilot generates the Dataverse tables and relationships from a description, and Plans turns a use case in natural language, with images such as process flows, into a solution blueprint

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Bolt.new

Strengths

  • No setup, seamless prompt to deploy
  • Multi-framework flexibility
  • Great for quick idea validation

Limitations

  • Database and auth are not out of the box, they need external services
  • Costs rise with larger codebases
  • Free limits are reached quickly

Microsoft Power Apps

Strengths

  • Copilot builds the Dataverse data model, not just the screens, and keeps editing it conversationally
  • Connects to SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365 and SQL Server through prebuilt connectors, so existing data stays where it is
  • Central governance for environments, data loss prevention, access and auditing across the whole tenant
  • Free Developer Plan with Dataverse for learning and non-production work

Limitations

  • Microsoft cloud only, with no self-hosted option
  • What gets built is not an exportable codebase, so leaving the platform means rebuilding
  • Copilot app generation depends on Dataverse access and is limited by region availability
  • Priced per user per month, so cost tracks how many colleagues run the app rather than how many apps exist

Plans

Pricing

Bolt.new

  • Free $0 Limits are reached quickly.
  • Credits Not stated
Visit site

Microsoft Power Apps

  • Power Apps Developer Plan $0 Three developer environments, prebuilt and custom connectors, 2 GB Dataverse database and 750 flows a month. For building and testing, not for production.
  • Power Apps Premium $22 Per user per month on annual billing. Unlimited Power Apps and Power Pages for the assigned user, prebuilt and custom connectors, 250 MB database and 2 GB file capacity, agentic features in model-driven apps and Microsoft 365 Copilot chat.
  • Power Apps Premium, 2,000+ seats $14 Per user per month on annual billing at volume, with a 2,000 seat minimum. Same features as standard Premium.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Bolt.new

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Microsoft Power Apps

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Bolt.new https://bolt.new · no check date recorded yet

Microsoft Power Apps https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/power-platform/products/power-apps · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.