CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Bubble vs. OutSystems

At a glance

At a glance

Bubble

Best for

Best for founders and teams that want to build and launch a full web or mobile app without engineers.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

OutSystems

Best for

Best for enterprise IT teams that want AI-generated applications inside a governed low-code platform with its own architecture guard rails.

  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Bubble OutSystems
Starting price From $32 / month Starter, web only, billed monthly; $29 per month billed annually. Mobile only starts at $49 and web plus mobile at $69 monthly. A free plan covers building and testing. Free Personal Edition; OutSystems Developer Cloud quoted by the vendor ODC is metered on three things: application complexity in Application Objects, which is the sum of screens, database tables and API methods, with a typical medium app around 150 AOs; the number of internal and external end users; and advanced add-ons. A base subscription starts with one medium production application and 100 internal users.
Free trial Free plan Free Personal Edition, no credit card required, for up to 100 internal users
Commercial use Yes Not stated
Output Web apps and native mobile apps built in one visual editor, with a managed database and user accounts Full-stack enterprise web and mobile applications with data model, server-side logic and UI screens
API Not stated Yes, API-first with CI/CD APIs and APIs for uploading external libraries
Hosting Not stated OutSystems Cloud on AWS; self-hosting is available as an advanced add-on
What it generates Web apps and native mobile apps built in one editor; the AI app builder can generate a complete app from a single prompt Full-stack enterprise applications: Mentor generates the data model, server-side logic and UI screens from a natural language prompt or an uploaded requirements document, shows a visual blueprint before building, and then evolves the app through conversation inside the IDE with human sign-off on each implementation plan
Stack and frameworks No-code visual programming: you build by pointing and clicking instead of writing code .NET Core on Linux containers, each application isolated in its own container, orchestrated with Kubernetes on AWS; developers extend apps with custom .NET code uploaded as high-code external libraries, whose methods are exposed to the visual editor as server actions
Auth and database Managed database with separate development and live environments, plus built-in user management for signup and login Amazon Aurora Serverless with PostgreSQL compatibility as the managed database; ISO 27001 compliance is included and SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS are advanced add-ons
Hosting and deploy Apps run in the browser or install from the app stores as native apps, hosted on Bubble's infrastructure OutSystems Cloud with development, testing and production runtimes and a 99.5 percent uptime guarantee, upgradeable to 99.95 percent; extra runtimes and a self-hosted option are advanced add-ons. Built-in CI/CD pipelines with monitoring, tracing and logging
Payments Payments run through Bubble's official Stripe plugin: one-time charges and recurring subscriptions, with billing and plan management handled by Stripe No checkout of its own; payment providers are integrated through components from the OutSystems Forge, including Stripe connectors for both ODC and OutSystems 11 that handle charges, customers and refunds, and a payments plugin covering Apple Pay, Google Pay and Stripe
Access to the code No-code visual editor, extended through community-made plugins Applications are built visually rather than in a repository of hand-written source; custom C# and .NET logic enters as external libraries uploaded through the SDK and APIs, decorated so their methods surface as server actions
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Community forum more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Enterprise

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Bubble From $32 / month OutSystems Free Personal Edition; OutSystems Developer Cloud quoted by the vendor
  • Free trial Bubble Free plan OutSystems Free Personal Edition, no credit card required, for up to 100 internal users
  • Deployment Bubble Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based OutSystems Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size Bubble Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise OutSystems Enterprise
  • Support Bubble Community forum OutSystems Email helpdesk, Community forum

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Bubble

Strengths

  • Builds web and native mobile apps in a single editor
  • Generates a complete app from one prompt with the AI app builder, then lets you refine it
  • Large ecosystem of community-made plugins and connectors

Limitations

  • Priced in monthly workload units, so a busy app's running cost rises with usage instead of staying fixed
  • The free plan cannot run a live app on a custom domain

OutSystems

Strengths

  • Mentor generates a complete application, data model and server logic included, from a requirements document rather than only from a chat prompt
  • Shows a visual blueprint and asks for sign-off before applying changes, instead of building unseen
  • Runs on containerised .NET Core with Kubernetes, managed Aurora PostgreSQL and built-in CI/CD, monitoring and tracing
  • Free Personal Edition for up to 100 internal users needs no credit card
  • Self-hosting is available, unlike most tools in this category

Limitations

  • No published prices at all, so every evaluation starts with a sales conversation
  • Pricing is metered on Application Objects and user counts, which makes cost hard to predict as an app grows
  • The Personal Edition is a development runtime only and cannot run production apps
  • Self-hosting, 24x7 support, higher uptime and SOC 2 or PCI DSS compliance are all paid add-ons rather than part of the base subscription
  • Base support is 8x5 business hours

Plans

Pricing

Bubble

  • Free $0 Build and test for free; launching an app requires a paid plan.
  • Starter $32 Per month for web only ($29 billed annually). Mobile only $49, web plus mobile $69.
  • Growth $134 Per month for web only ($119 billed annually). Mobile only $199, web plus mobile $249.
  • Team $399 Per month for web only ($349 billed annually). Mobile only $529, web plus mobile $649.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted by Bubble; handled through an account manager.
Visit site

OutSystems

  • OutSystems Personal Edition $0 Free, no credit card required. Development runtime only, up to 100 internal users, hosted on OutSystems Cloud. For test applications, not production, and with no uptime guarantee or compliance options.
  • OutSystems Developer Cloud Custom Quoted by the vendor, priced on application complexity in Application Objects, end user counts and add-ons. Includes development, testing and production runtimes, professional support 8x5, OutSystems Cloud hosting, a 99.5 percent uptime guarantee and ISO 27001. Starts with 100 internal users and one medium-sized application.
  • Advanced add-ons Custom 24x7 professional support, additional non-production and production runtimes, a self-hosted option, a 99.95 percent uptime upgrade, SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS compliance, and additional users or larger applications.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Bubble

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

OutSystems

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Bubble https://bubble.io · no check date recorded yet

OutSystems https://www.outsystems.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.