CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Microsoft Power Apps vs. Rocket.new

At a glance

At a glance

Microsoft Power Apps

Best for

Best for organisations already inside a Microsoft 365 tenant that want governed business apps built on their existing data.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Rocket.new

Best for

Best for solo builders and small teams who want auth, a database and payments already connected on day one.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Microsoft Power Apps Rocket.new
Starting price lower value Free Developer Plan; Power Apps Premium from $22 / user / month Annual billing. Premium falls to $14 per user per month with a 2,000 seat minimum. Extra Dataverse database capacity is $40 per GB per month, and Copilot Studio is bought separately as pre-purchased credit units. Free tier; Pro $25 / month, Rocket $50 / month, Booster $250 / month Plans are monthly credit allowances of 20, 100, 250 and 1,500 credits. Credits never expire, and extra credits can be bought.
Free trial Free Power Apps Developer Plan for non-production use; separately a 30-day trial of the per-user plan, extendable twice to 90 days Free tier with 20 credits per month
Output Canvas and model-driven business apps that run in a browser and in the Power Apps mobile app on phone and tablet Production-ready Next.js web apps and Flutter mobile apps
API Yes, Dataverse and Power Platform developer APIs, plus prebuilt and custom connectors Not stated
Hosting Microsoft cloud, managed per environment from the Power Platform admin center Not stated
What it generates Canvas and model-driven business apps plus Power Pages sites; Copilot generates the Dataverse tables and relationships from a description, and Plans turns a use case in natural language, with images such as process flows, into a solution blueprint Web apps, mobile apps, landing pages, dashboards and internal tools from a prompt, or from an imported Figma file
Stack and frameworks No hand-written framework code: canvas apps are laid out in Power Apps Studio, model-driven apps are generated from the data model. Developers extend them with JavaScript on the client, Azure functions and plug-ins on the server, custom connectors and virtual tables Next.js with TypeScript for web, Flutter with Dart for iOS and Android, chosen automatically by project type
Auth and database Microsoft Dataverse as the built-in database, or connectors to SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365, SQL Server and on-premises sources; identity, environments, data loss prevention policies and auditing are administered centrally in the Power Platform admin center Yes, Supabase out of the box: PostgreSQL, storage, edge functions and Supabase Auth with email, social login and magic links
Hosting and deploy Runs on Microsoft's cloud only, organised into environments; a US Government cloud meets FedRAMP High and DoD DISA IL2, and there is no self-hosted option Yes, one-click deploy to Netlify with staging and production environments; custom domains on paid plans
Payments No checkout of its own; a Stripe connector is available in the connector library to work with customers, orders and invoices, and Power Pages has a separate payments integration Yes, Stripe and Razorpay for checkout, subscriptions and one-time payments
Access to the code Apps live in the platform rather than as an exportable codebase; they move between environments as solutions, and code enters through JavaScript, plug-ins and custom connectors rather than by exporting what was generated Yes, download the project as a zip on Pro and above; two-way GitHub sync for Next.js projects
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Microsoft Dataverse, SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365, SQL Server, Stripe, Microsoft Copilot Studio, Power Automate more entries Supabase, Stripe, Razorpay, GitHub, Netlify, Figma, OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Analytics, Airtable, Notion, Mailchimp, Resend, Twilio, SendGrid, HubSpot, Mixpanel, Cal.com, Calendly

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Microsoft Power Apps Free Developer Plan; Power Apps Premium from $22 / user / month Rocket.new Free tier; Pro $25 / month, Rocket $50 / month, Booster $250 / month
  • Free trial Microsoft Power Apps Free Power Apps Developer Plan for non-production use; separately a 30-day trial of the per-user plan, extendable twice to 90 days Rocket.new Free tier with 20 credits per month
  • Company size Microsoft Power Apps Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Rocket.new Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Output Microsoft Power Apps Canvas and model-driven business apps that run in a browser and in the Power Apps mobile app on phone and tablet Rocket.new Production-ready Next.js web apps and Flutter mobile apps
  • What it generates Microsoft Power Apps Canvas and model-driven business apps plus Power Pages sites; Copilot generates the Dataverse tables and relationships from a description, and Plans turns a use case in natural language, with images such as process flows, into a solution blueprint Rocket.new Web apps, mobile apps, landing pages, dashboards and internal tools from a prompt, or from an imported Figma file

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Microsoft Power Apps

Strengths

  • Copilot builds the Dataverse data model, not just the screens, and keeps editing it conversationally
  • Connects to SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365 and SQL Server through prebuilt connectors, so existing data stays where it is
  • Central governance for environments, data loss prevention, access and auditing across the whole tenant
  • Free Developer Plan with Dataverse for learning and non-production work

Limitations

  • Microsoft cloud only, with no self-hosted option
  • What gets built is not an exportable codebase, so leaving the platform means rebuilding
  • Copilot app generation depends on Dataverse access and is limited by region availability
  • Priced per user per month, so cost tracks how many colleagues run the app rather than how many apps exist

Rocket.new

Strengths

  • Supabase database, storage and auth are connected from the start
  • Stripe and Razorpay checkout without separate setup
  • Credits do not expire, and extra credits can be bought

Limitations

  • The framework is decided by project type, Next.js for web and Flutter for mobile
  • Source code download needs a paid plan from Pro upwards
  • Two-way GitHub sync covers Next.js projects only

Plans

Pricing

Microsoft Power Apps

  • Power Apps Developer Plan $0 Three developer environments, prebuilt and custom connectors, 2 GB Dataverse database and 750 flows a month. For building and testing, not for production.
  • Power Apps Premium $22 Per user per month on annual billing. Unlimited Power Apps and Power Pages for the assigned user, prebuilt and custom connectors, 250 MB database and 2 GB file capacity, agentic features in model-driven apps and Microsoft 365 Copilot chat.
  • Power Apps Premium, 2,000+ seats $14 Per user per month on annual billing at volume, with a 2,000 seat minimum. Same features as standard Premium.
Visit site

Rocket.new

  • Free $0 20 credits per month.
  • Pro $25 Per month. 100 credits per month, source code download, custom domains.
  • Rocket $50 Per month. 250 credits per month.
  • Booster $250 Per month. 1,500 credits per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Microsoft Power Apps

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Rocket.new

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Microsoft Power Apps https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/power-platform/products/power-apps · no check date recorded yet

Rocket.new https://www.rocket.new · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.