CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Avatars Comparison

Akool vs. Captions

At a glance

At a glance

Akool

Best for

Best for product and marketing teams that need avatars and dubbing through an API, including real-time interactive avatars.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Captions

Best for

Best for creators and social teams producing short-form video with AI avatars and captions.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Akool Captions
Starting price Not stated Free plan; paid from $24.99 / month Higher Scale tiers and custom Enterprise pricing above. Avatar and dubbing features run on a monthly credit system.
Free trial Yes, a free Starter tier Free plan
Output Avatar video up to 16K depending on tier, real-time streaming avatars, translated and dubbed video, images Digital avatars and AI twins, with captions and translation in 100+ languages
API Yes, a public API covering avatars, video translation, face swap, lip sync, voice and image generation; available from the Pro Max tier Yes, the Mirage API
Avatar library Yes, 1,000+ avatars in the studio library plus 500+ voices, including role-based personas for real-time use Yes, a library of digital avatars plus AI-generated avatars
Custom and cloned avatars Yes, in three grades: Photo Avatar (about 10 minutes, 720p or 1080p), Instant Avatar (about 10 minutes to an hour, 4K) and fine-tuned Studio Avatar (about 24 hours, 4K, $249 each); voice cloning included Yes, an AI Twin of yourself, plus AI voice cloning
Languages and translation Yes, avatars speak 150+ languages and video translation covers 155+ languages with lip sync Captions and translation in 100+ languages
Editor Yes, a browser studio with templates and an AI video editor for post-generation edits; export up to 4K, and higher on the upper tiers Yes, an AI video editor that cuts scenes, overlays B-roll, removes noise, trims filler words and corrects eye contact
Learning features No, the plan comparison carries no quizzes, branching or SCORM export, and the tool list covers avatar video, translation, face swap and voice rather than course authoring No. The help centre lists no quizzes, no branching and no SCORM export; the product is aimed at social and marketing video rather than course authoring
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Free trial Akool Yes, a free Starter tier Captions Free plan
  • Output Akool Avatar video up to 16K depending on tier, real-time streaming avatars, translated and dubbed video, images Captions Digital avatars and AI twins, with captions and translation in 100+ languages
  • API Akool Yes, a public API covering avatars, video translation, face swap, lip sync, voice and image generation; available from the Pro Max tier Captions Yes, the Mirage API
  • Avatar library Akool Yes, 1,000+ avatars in the studio library plus 500+ voices, including role-based personas for real-time use Captions Yes, a library of digital avatars plus AI-generated avatars
  • Custom and cloned avatars Akool Yes, in three grades: Photo Avatar (about 10 minutes, 720p or 1080p), Instant Avatar (about 10 minutes to an hour, 4K) and fine-tuned Studio Avatar (about 24 hours, 4K, $249 each); voice cloning included Captions Yes, an AI Twin of yourself, plus AI voice cloning

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Akool

Strengths

  • Real-time streaming avatars for live, interactive use, not just rendered clips
  • Public API across the whole suite, so avatars can be embedded in another product
  • Video translation into 155+ languages with lip sync and voice cloning
  • Free Starter tier that does not expire

Limitations

  • Credit-based pricing with add-ons for extra credits, speed and concurrency, so the monthly cost is hard to predict
  • API access only from the Pro Max tier upwards
  • A business licence requires the Business plan; lower tiers carry a personal licence
  • Fine-tuned Studio Avatars are billed separately at $249 each
  • Face swap in the same suite raises consent questions that a buyer has to answer for themselves

Captions

Strengths

  • Free plan to start
  • AI Twin and voice cloning on paid plans
  • Captions and translation in 100+ languages

Limitations

  • Avatar and dubbing features consume monthly credits
  • No learning or SCORM features stated

Plans

Pricing

Akool

  • Starter Not stated Free tier. Up to 1080p, 15-minute maximum clip length, 2 concurrent videos and 4 concurrent images, selected video and image models, all face swap models, personal licence, medium processing speed.
  • Pro Not stated Per seat / month. Up to 4K, 30-minute maximum length, 6 concurrent videos and 8 concurrent images, all video and image models, Pro templates, personal licence, fast processing.
  • Pro Max Not stated Per seat / month. Up to 8K, 45-minute maximum length, 8 concurrent videos and 8 concurrent images, API access, Studio Voice, workspace collaboration, personal licence.
  • Business Not stated Per seat / month. Up to 16K, 60-minute maximum length, 20 concurrent videos and 24 concurrent images, 1 fine-tuned Studio Avatar, Business templates, business licence, fastest processing.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom yearly plans. Everything in Business plus custom concurrency, credits that do not expire, Ultra Avatar support, a dedicated success manager, SSO and enterprise security.
Visit site

Captions

  • Free $0 Limited feature set with basic editing tools.
  • Max $24.99 Per month. 500 credits per month, the library of AI edit styles, digital twins and custom AI actors.
  • Scale 1x $69.99 Per month. 1,400 credits per month, everything in Max.
  • Scale 2x $139.99 Per month. 2,800 credits per month.
  • Scale 4x $279.99 Per month. 5,600 credits per month.
  • Enterprise Custom Bulk credit discounts, custom seats, dedicated account management, training-data exclusion, priority support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Akool

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Captions

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Akool https://akool.com · no check date recorded yet

Captions https://captions.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.