Best for
Best for product and marketing teams that need avatars and dubbing through an API, including real-time interactive avatars.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Avatars Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for product and marketing teams that need avatars and dubbing through an API, including real-time interactive avatars.
Best for
Best for creators, marketers and agencies who need lifelike presenter videos, translation and cloning.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Akool | HeyGen |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Not stated | Creator $29 / month $24 / month billed annually. A free plan allows 3 videos a month; Business seats beyond the first cost $20 each per month. |
| Free trial | Yes, a free Starter tier | Free plan, 3 videos a month |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Yes on paid plans |
| Output | Avatar video up to 16K depending on tier, real-time streaming avatars, translated and dubbed video, images | Industry-leading lip-sync (Avatar IV) in 175+ languages |
| API | Yes, a public API covering avatars, video translation, face swap, lip sync, voice and image generation; available from the Pro Max tier | Yes |
| Avatar library | Yes, 1,000+ avatars in the studio library plus 500+ voices, including role-based personas for real-time use | Yes, 1,100+ avatars with best-in-class lip-sync and micro-expressions (Avatar IV) |
| Custom and cloned avatars | Yes, in three grades: Photo Avatar (about 10 minutes, 720p or 1080p), Instant Avatar (about 10 minutes to an hour, 4K) and fine-tuned Studio Avatar (about 24 hours, 4K, $249 each); voice cloning included | Yes, personal and cloned avatars from a short video |
| Languages and translation | Yes, avatars speak 150+ languages and video translation covers 155+ languages with lip sync | Yes, 175+ languages with video translation |
| Editor | Yes, a browser studio with templates and an AI video editor for post-generation edits; export up to 4K, and higher on the upper tiers | Yes, brand templates |
| Learning features | No, the plan comparison carries no quizzes, branching or SCORM export, and the tool list covers avatar video, translation, face swap and voice rather than course authoring | Yes, from the Business tier: interactive video, interactive quizzes, video branching and decisioning, and SCORM export into a learning management system |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Email helpdesk | Chat |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Not stated | Zapier, Make, n8n, Canva, Adobe Express, Figma, Slack, Notion, HubSpot, Salesforce, Google Drive, Airtable, Intercom, Zoom, Vimeo, GitHub |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Akool
Strengths
Limitations
HeyGen
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Akool
HeyGen
What users say
Akool
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
HeyGen
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
Akool https://akool.com · no check date recorded yet
HeyGen https://www.heygen.com · no check date recorded yet
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.