Best for
Best for anyone who wants one flexible assistant for many different tasks.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Chatbots & Assistants Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for anyone who wants one flexible assistant for many different tasks.
Best for
Best for developers and teams that want an assistant whose data never leaves the machine, with a cloud fallback for models too large to run locally.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | ChatGPT | Ollama |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | lower value Free; Go $8 / month Plus $20 per month, Pro $200 per month. Team and Enterprise tiers above. | Free for local models; Pro from $20 / month Local models cost nothing. Pro is $20 per month or $200 per year and includes $60 of cloud usage credits a month with three concurrent requests; Max is $100 per month with $300 of credits and ten concurrent requests; Team is $500 per month with $1,000 of shared credits and unlimited users; Enterprise is quoted. Extra credits can be bought on every paid plan. |
| Free trial | Free tier, without memory and with limited images | Free plan with local models, starter cloud credits and one concurrent request |
| Commercial use | Yes | Not stated |
| Output | All-in-one chat, files, images, voice and agent tasks | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Yes, one REST API for local and cloud models, with Python and JavaScript libraries and a separate web search API |
| Hosting | Not stated | Runs locally on macOS, Windows and Linux; cloud models run on Ollama's servers in the United States, Europe and Singapore |
| Ecosystem | Large ecosystem with many integrations | Desktop app and command line for macOS, Windows and Linux, with integrations for VS Code Chat, Claude Code, OpenCode and n8n |
| Live web search and sources | Yes, web search with citations | Yes, through a separate web search API returning a title, URL and content snippet per result; it needs a free account and an API key, and is also reachable over MCP |
| Files and long documents | Yes, file uploads | Yes, the desktop app takes files by drag and drop so a model can reason over text or PDFs, and code files can be passed in for understanding; for large documents the context length is raised in the settings, which the vendor notes costs more memory |
| Images, voice and video | Yes, image generation and voice | Images for vision-capable models, passed as a file path, URL or base64 through the API and the libraries |
| Coding help | Yes, also Codex for software engineering | Coding models in the library, plus integrations with terminal coding agents such as Claude Code and OpenCode and with VS Code Chat |
| Model choice | Yes, model picker for faster or deeper responses | Yes, and it is the point: any model from the library or an imported custom one, run locally or offloaded to the cloud through the same call |
| MCP-ready | No | stated Yes |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), On-premise |
| Support | Not stated | Email helpdesk, Community forum |
| Onboarding | Not stated | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Not stated | VS Code, JetBrains, Zed, Xcode, Claude Code, Claude Desktop, OpenCode, Cline, Roo Code, Codex CLI, Goose, n8n, marimo |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
ChatGPT
Strengths
Limitations
Ollama
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
ChatGPT
Ollama
What users say
ChatGPT
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Ollama
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
ChatGPT https://chatgpt.com · no check date recorded yet
Ollama https://ollama.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.