Best for
Best for reasoning, math and coding on a free app, or very low-cost API access.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Chatbots & Assistants Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for reasoning, math and coding on a free app, or very low-cost API access.
Best for
Best for developers and privacy-conscious teams who want a desktop app for open models plus a local OpenAI-compatible endpoint.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | DeepSeek | LM Studio |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free web and app; paid API The API is billed per token. | Free for local models; Bionic+ $20 / month The free plan runs local models and the Bionic agent with LM Link for up to five devices and limited web search. Bionic+ at $20 per month adds US-hosted open models and web search with page extraction; Pro at $100 per month raises the included usage fivefold. Cloud credits cover usage beyond a plan's allowance. |
| Free trial | Free web and mobile app | Free plan for local models, no time limit |
| Commercial use | Yes | Not stated |
| Output | Chat, reasoning, math and code | Not stated |
| API | Yes | Yes, a local server on OpenAI-compatible endpoints with Python and TypeScript SDKs, plus the lms command line |
| Hosting | Not stated | Runs locally on macOS, Windows and Linux; optional cloud models are US-hosted with zero data retention |
| Ecosystem | Open-weight models, free web and mobile apps, and a very low-cost API; few office integrations | Desktop app for Apple Silicon Macs, x64 and ARM64 Windows and x64 Linux, plus the lms command line, a headless llmster mode for servers and LM Link across up to five devices on the free plan |
| Live web search and sources | Yes, web search with cited sources | Limited web search on the free plan; web search with page extraction on Bionic+ and Pro, under zero data retention |
| Files and long documents | Yes, document uploads (PDF, DOCX, TXT and code) and image reading | Yes, documents attached to a chat message can be queried entirely offline, which the app calls RAG |
| Images, voice and video | Reads images; no image, audio or video generation | Images can be sent to vision-capable models through the chat completions endpoint, and offline voice transcription runs on the machine |
| Coding help | Yes, strong at coding and math | Yes, the Bionic agent works on code as well as documents, slides and PDFs, with an Auto Review step that parses shell commands before running them |
| Model choice | Yes, DeepSeek-V4 models (Flash and Pro) with a DeepThink thinking toggle | Yes, and it is the point: any llama.cpp (GGUF) or MLX model searched and downloaded from Hugging Face in the app, with US-hosted open models such as Kimi K3, GLM 5.3 and DeepSeek V4 Flash on the paid plans |
| MCP-ready | No | stated Yes |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), On-premise |
| Support | Not stated | Community forum |
| Onboarding | Not stated | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Not stated | Hugging Face, llama.cpp, MLX, Model Context Protocol |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
DeepSeek
Strengths
Limitations
LM Studio
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
DeepSeek
LM Studio
What users say
DeepSeek
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
LM Studio
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
DeepSeek https://www.deepseek.com · no check date recorded yet
LM Studio https://lmstudio.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.