CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Chatbots & Assistants Comparison

Genspark vs. Jan

At a glance

At a glance

Genspark

Best for

Best for individuals and small teams who want one agent to finish office work end to end, from decks and spreadsheets to podcasts and phone calls.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Jan

Best for

Best for developers and privacy-minded teams who want a desktop assistant whose default model runs locally, with cloud providers optional.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Genspark Jan
Starting price Free tier; paid Plus and Pro plans above Metered in credits. Plus and Pro each come in several credit tiers; the public help centre lists the credit and storage amounts but not the prices. Free and open source The desktop app is free under the Apache 2.0 licence and local models cost nothing beyond the hardware they run on. Cloud models are billed by whichever provider you connect, against your own API key.
Free trial Free plan with 100 daily credits Free and open source; local models run with no API key
Output Slides, spreadsheets, documents, podcasts, code and placed phone calls A desktop AI assistant answering from local or cloud models
API Not stated Yes, a built-in OpenAI-compatible server on port 1337, powered by llama.cpp
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Runs on macOS, Windows and Linux; Tokamak is self-hosted for teams, and cloud models run on the provider you connect
Ecosystem Web app, Chrome extension, native plugins for PowerPoint, Excel and Word, a Salesforce integration, and connections to Gmail, Outlook and Google Drive Desktop app for macOS, Windows and Linux, with Jan Agent as a separate command-line agent and Tokamak as a self-hosted router carrying policy controls and audit trails for organisations. MCP servers attach under Settings, and documented integrations cover Claude Code and OpenClaw
Live web search and sources The Chrome extension reads the current page, extracts data and clicks and fills forms; Super Agent carries out research tasks Yes, built in and on by default: web_search and web_fetch are advertised to any model that supports tool use, with a keyless Exa endpoint as the default provider, so no API key and no MCP server are needed. Only tool-capable models see the tools
Files and long documents Yes, uploads up to 500 MB per file on the free plan and 1 GB on paid plans, held in AI Drive Yes, files attach to a single message, or go into a Project where they are chunked and indexed for retrieval across every conversation in it. PDF, Markdown, DOCX, XLSX, PPTX and code files are supported, and processing happens on the machine
Images, voice and video Images and design output, AI Pods audio podcasts in 24 languages, Realtime Voice, and an AI agent that places phone calls in ten voices Images and audio attach to a chat when the active model can take them: the image option appears only with a vision-capable model such as Jan-v2-VL, and audio accepts WAV and MP3
Coding help Yes, Genspark Code, and landing pages and code are among Super Agent's deliverables Jan-Code-4B is available in the Hub for local coding, and Jan Agent runs coding tasks in a terminal with subagents, skills and memory, asking for confirmation before each write and shell command. It is a preview shipped on a nightly channel
Model choice Yes, a mixture-of-agents system routes work across many models, and a lower model tier can be picked to spend fewer credits Yes, and both kinds mix in the same app: local models through llama.cpp and MLX from the Hub, or cloud models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Azure OpenAI, Gemini, Groq, Mistral AI, OpenRouter and Hugging Face, plus any OpenAI- or Anthropic-compatible endpoint
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based On-premise
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Gmail, Outlook, Google Drive, Salesforce, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Google Chrome more entries OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini, Azure OpenAI, Groq, Mistral AI, OpenRouter, Hugging Face, llama.cpp, MLX, Model Context Protocol, Claude Code, OpenClaw, Exa

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Genspark Free tier; paid Plus and Pro plans above Jan Free and open source
  • Free trial Genspark Free plan with 100 daily credits Jan Free and open source; local models run with no API key
  • Deployment Genspark Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Jan On-premise
  • Company size Genspark Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Jan Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting Genspark Cloud (SaaS) Jan Runs on macOS, Windows and Linux; Tokamak is self-hosted for teams, and cloud models run on the provider you connect

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Genspark

Strengths

  • One agent covers slides, sheets, docs, podcasts, code and phone calls
  • Routes each task across many models instead of a single one
  • Native plugins for PowerPoint, Excel and Word, plus a Chrome extension that acts on the page
  • Free plan with 100 daily credits

Limitations

  • The public help centre lists credit amounts but not plan prices
  • Everything is metered in credits, and a connected phone call costs 500
  • Call For Me needs a paid plan to verify a number, and voicemail counts as a connected call
  • No public API is documented

Jan

Strengths

  • Local models are the default: no account, no API key and nothing leaves the machine
  • Web search and page fetching work out of the box, keyless, with no provider to configure
  • Its own OpenAI-compatible local server, so other applications can call the models it runs
  • Wide model choice, from llama.cpp and MLX locally to eight cloud providers and any compatible endpoint
  • Open source under the Apache 2.0 licence

Limitations

  • Desktop only: installers cover macOS, Windows and Linux, and there is no hosted version
  • Jan Agent is a preview distributed on a nightly channel rather than a stable release
  • Frontier models still need a third-party key and are billed by that provider
  • Answer quality from local models depends on the hardware you have
  • Memory is announced as coming soon and Cowork is marked preview

Plans

Pricing

Genspark

  • Free $0 100 daily credits and uploads up to 500 MB per file.
  • Plus Not stated From 10,000 credits a month and 50 GB of AI Drive storage, in several credit tiers at higher price points.
  • Pro Not stated From 125,000 credits a month and 1 TB of AI Drive storage, in several credit tiers at higher price points.
Visit site

Jan

  • Free $0 The whole desktop app under the Apache 2.0 licence. Local models run on your own hardware; cloud models are billed by the provider whose key you add.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Genspark

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Jan

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Genspark https://www.genspark.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-08-29

Jan https://jan.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-15

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.