CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Chatbots & Assistants Comparison

Jan vs. Kimi

At a glance

At a glance

Jan

Best for

Best for developers and privacy-minded teams who want a desktop assistant whose default model runs locally, with cloud providers optional.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Kimi

Best for

Best for working through very long documents and research in one pass.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Jan Kimi
Starting price Free and open source The desktop app is free under the Apache 2.0 licence and local models cost nothing beyond the hardware they run on. Cloud models are billed by whichever provider you connect, against your own API key. Free API billed per token through Moonshot's platform.
Free trial Free and open source; local models run with no API key Free to use
Output A desktop AI assistant answering from local or cloud models Long-context chat with web search, files and tool use
API Yes, a built-in OpenAI-compatible server on port 1337, powered by llama.cpp Yes
Hosting Runs on macOS, Windows and Linux; Tokamak is self-hosted for teams, and cloud models run on the provider you connect Not stated
Ecosystem Desktop app for macOS, Windows and Linux, with Jan Agent as a separate command-line agent and Tokamak as a self-hosted router carrying policy controls and audit trails for organisations. MCP servers attach under Settings, and documented integrations cover Claude Code and OpenClaw Kimi model family and Kimi Code CLI; flagship model as open weights
Live web search and sources Yes, built in and on by default: web_search and web_fetch are advertised to any model that supports tool use, with a keyless Exa endpoint as the default provider, so no API key and no MCP server are needed. Only tool-capable models see the tools Yes, built-in web search
Files and long documents Yes, files attach to a single message, or go into a Project where they are chunked and indexed for retrieval across every conversation in it. PDF, Markdown, DOCX, XLSX, PPTX and code files are supported, and processing happens on the machine Yes, file parsing with an ultra-long context window
Images, voice and video Images and audio attach to a chat when the active model can take them: the image option appears only with a vision-capable model such as Jan-v2-VL, and audio accepts WAV and MP3 Yes, image and document input
Coding help Jan-Code-4B is available in the Hub for local coding, and Jan Agent runs coding tasks in a terminal with subagents, skills and memory, asking for confirmation before each write and shell command. It is a preview shipped on a nightly channel Yes, plus a Kimi Code command-line agent
Model choice Yes, and both kinds mix in the same app: local models through llama.cpp and MLX from the Hub, or cloud models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Azure OpenAI, Gemini, Groq, Mistral AI, OpenRouter and Hugging Face, plus any OpenAI- or Anthropic-compatible endpoint Yes on the platform: Kimi K3, Kimi K2.7 Code and Kimi K2.6, with thinking and non-thinking modes on K2.6 and a low, high or max reasoning effort on K3
Deployment On-premise more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini, Azure OpenAI, Groq, Mistral AI, OpenRouter, Hugging Face, llama.cpp, MLX, Model Context Protocol, Claude Code, OpenClaw, Exa Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Jan Free and open source Kimi Free
  • Free trial Jan Free and open source; local models run with no API key Kimi Free to use
  • Deployment Jan On-premise Kimi Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Jan Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Kimi Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Output Jan A desktop AI assistant answering from local or cloud models Kimi Long-context chat with web search, files and tool use

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Jan

Strengths

  • Local models are the default: no account, no API key and nothing leaves the machine
  • Web search and page fetching work out of the box, keyless, with no provider to configure
  • Its own OpenAI-compatible local server, so other applications can call the models it runs
  • Wide model choice, from llama.cpp and MLX locally to eight cloud providers and any compatible endpoint
  • Open source under the Apache 2.0 licence

Limitations

  • Desktop only: installers cover macOS, Windows and Linux, and there is no hosted version
  • Jan Agent is a preview distributed on a nightly channel rather than a stable release
  • Frontier models still need a third-party key and are billed by that provider
  • Answer quality from local models depends on the hardware you have
  • Memory is announced as coming soon and Cowork is marked preview

Kimi

Strengths

  • Very long context for large documents
  • Free to use, flagship model open-weight
  • Kimi Code agent for terminal-based coding

Limitations

  • Smaller ecosystem outside its home market
  • Fewer third-party integrations than major assistants

Plans

Pricing

Jan

  • Free $0 The whole desktop app under the Apache 2.0 licence. Local models run on your own hardware; cloud models are billed by the provider whose key you add.
Visit site

Kimi

  • Free $0 Web and mobile.
  • API (pay-as-you-go) Not stated Billed per token through Moonshot's platform.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Jan

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Kimi

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Jan https://jan.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-15

Kimi https://www.kimi.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.