CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

Augment Code vs. CodeRabbit

At a glance

At a glance

Augment Code

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want an agentic assistant with deep, large-codebase context across the IDE and terminal.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

CodeRabbit

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want every pull request reviewed and ranked before a human opens it.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Augment Code CodeRabbit
Starting price lower value Standard $20 / month Flat rate for teams up to 50 seats, including $20 of usage across models, context engine and compute; top-ups are pay-as-you-go. Business is $100 per month on the same terms, Enterprise is custom. Free for open-source repos; Pro $24 / user / month Pro and Pro Plus are quoted billed annually: $24 and $48 per user per month. CodeRabbit Security is $40 per user per month. Enterprise is quoted by sales, and its self-hosted option starts at 500 seats.
Free trial Not stated 14 days, no credit card; public and open-source repositories are reviewed free permanently
Commercial use Yes Yes
Output Agentic coding across the IDE and terminal AI reviews on pull requests, with one-click fixes and pre-merge checks
API Yes, the Auggie SDK for TypeScript/Node.js and Python, plus an Analytics API Yes, on the Enterprise plan
Hosting Not stated Cloud, with a self-hosted Enterprise deployment from 500 seats and an EU SaaS region
Where it runs Extensions for VS Code and JetBrains IDEs, plus the Auggie CLI in the terminal On the pull request in GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, plus a VS Code extension and a CLI
Inline completions Tab-accepted inline completions in VS Code and JetBrains, with word-by-word acceptance; deprecated for non-Enterprise plans on 31 March 2026 and retained on Enterprise No, it reviews and comments on changes rather than completing code as you type
Agent mode Yes, the Cosmos coding agent with a codebase context engine, in the IDE and CLI Yes, agentic reviews with one-click fixes, agentic chat, coding agent loops and an issue planner; unit tests, merge-conflict resolution and post-merge actions come with Pro Plus
Model choice Yes, Claude (Sonnet and Opus) and Gemini 2.5 Pro, with a Prism router that balances cost and quality No model picker; an ensemble of models is used, with code shared with OpenAI and Anthropic for reviewing purposes
Data control SOC 2 Type II; Enterprise adds CMEK, ISO 42001 and SIEM integration Customer code is never used for training. Encrypted code caches, vector indexes and longer-lived Learnings are stored; self-hosted Enterprise can opt out entirely, and model output logging is off by default for eligible non-open-source organisations
Ecosystem fit MCP and native tool integrations; agents for code review, test coverage and ticket-to-PR workflows GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps including self-managed servers, plus Jira and Linear, MCP connections and a VS Code extension
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Visual Studio Code, JetBrains IDEs, GitHub, GitLab, Jira, Linear, Slack, Confluence, Notion, Sentry, Stripe GitHub, GitHub Enterprise Server, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Jira, Linear, Slack, VS Code

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Augment Code Standard $20 / month CodeRabbit Free for open-source repos; Pro $24 / user / month
  • Deployment Augment Code Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based CodeRabbit Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size Augment Code Small and mid-sized, Enterprise CodeRabbit Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output Augment Code Agentic coding across the IDE and terminal CodeRabbit AI reviews on pull requests, with one-click fixes and pre-merge checks
  • API Augment Code Yes, the Auggie SDK for TypeScript/Node.js and Python, plus an Analytics API CodeRabbit Yes, on the Enterprise plan

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Augment Code

Strengths

  • Strong codebase context engine for large repositories
  • Model choice across Claude and Gemini with a cost and quality router
  • Works in VS Code, JetBrains and a terminal CLI

Limitations

  • Sold to teams rather than individuals, with a flat plan price on top of usage
  • Usage beyond the included amount is billed on top
  • Inline completions are Enterprise-only since March 2026

CodeRabbit

Strengths

  • Reviews every pull request automatically and proposes one-click fixes
  • Covers GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, including self-managed servers
  • Free reviews for public and open-source repositories
  • Customer code is not used for training, and Enterprise can self-host

Limitations

  • Reviews code rather than writing it, so it sits alongside a coding assistant rather than replacing one
  • Hourly review caps per developer: 5 pull requests on Pro, 10 on Pro Plus
  • Self-hosting is Enterprise only and starts at 500 seats
  • Security monitoring is a separate $40 per user per month tier

Plans

Pricing

Augment Code

  • Standard $20 Per month. Teams up to 50 seats, $20 of usage across models, context engine and compute; top-ups pay-as-you-go.
  • Business $100 Per month. Teams up to 50 seats, $100 of usage across models, context engine and compute; top-ups pay-as-you-go.
  • Enterprise Custom Unlimited users, volume-based discounts and advanced security (CMEK, ISO 42001, SIEM).
Visit site

CodeRabbit

  • Open source $0 Free reviews for public and open-source repositories.
  • Pro $24 Per user per month, billed annually. Includes agentic reviews, one-click fixes, 5 MCP connections and Jira and Linear integrations; 5 pull request reviews per developer per hour.
  • Pro Plus $48 Per user per month, billed annually. Adds multi-repo analysis across 10 repos, 20 custom pre-merge checks, unit tests and merge-conflict resolution, post-merge actions, an issue planner and 15 MCP connections; 10 reviews per developer per hour.
  • CodeRabbit Security $40 Per user per month, for continuous security monitoring, security pull request reviews and usage-based full repository scans.
  • Enterprise Not stated Contact sales. Adds custom RBAC, SSO, audit logging, API access, self-hosting, multi-org support, an SLA, a dedicated CSM, EU SaaS deployment and 20 MCP connections.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Augment Code

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

CodeRabbit

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Augment Code https://www.augmentcode.com/ · no check date recorded yet

CodeRabbit https://www.coderabbit.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.