CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

CodeRabbit vs. Kilo Code

At a glance

At a glance

CodeRabbit

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want every pull request reviewed and ranked before a human opens it.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Kilo Code

Best for

Best for developers who want an open-source agent and want to pay for model calls at cost.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion CodeRabbit Kilo Code
Starting price Free for open-source repos; Pro $24 / user / month Pro and Pro Plus are quoted billed annually: $24 and $48 per user per month. CodeRabbit Security is $40 per user per month. Enterprise is quoted by sales, and its self-hosted option starts at 500 seats. lower value Free and open source; Teams $15 / user / month Inference is billed separately: exact provider rates through the Kilo Gateway with no markup, your own keys, or an optional Kilo Pass credit subscription at $19, $49 or $199 a month. Enterprise is quoted. Cloud compute is billed per second, Gas Town at $1.20 an hour and code review at $0.33.
Free trial 14 days, no credit card; public and open-source repositories are reviewed free permanently Free plan for individuals; a 14-day Enterprise trial for teams
Commercial use Yes Yes, the source is MIT licensed
Output AI reviews on pull requests, with one-click fixes and pre-merge checks Code, refactors, pull-request reviews and agent sessions
API Yes, on the Enterprise plan Yes, the Kilo Gateway is a single endpoint to hundreds of models, with streaming, BYOK and usage tracking
Hosting Cloud, with a self-hosted Enterprise deployment from 500 seats and an EU SaaS region Cloud (SaaS), with editor extensions and a CLI on your own machine
Where it runs On the pull request in GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, plus a VS Code extension and a CLI VS Code extension, JetBrains plugin for IntelliJ, PyCharm, WebStorm and others, a CLI installed with npm, cloud agents, Slack and mobile apps
Inline completions No, it reviews and comments on changes rather than completing code as you type Yes, fill-in-the-middle autocomplete routed through the Kilo Gateway, on by default as ghost text accepted with Tab, using Codestral by default or Mercury Edit 2 with your own Inception key; a status bar item snoozes it
Agent mode Yes, agentic reviews with one-click fixes, agentic chat, coding agent loops and an issue planner; unit tests, merge-conflict resolution and post-merge actions come with Pro Plus Yes, Code, Architect, Debug, Ask and custom modes, an automated pull-request code reviewer, and an Agent Manager running parallel worktree-isolated local and cloud sessions
Model choice No model picker; an ensemble of models is used, with code shared with OpenAI and Anthropic for reviewing purposes Yes, more than 500 models across over 60 providers through the Kilo Gateway, Auto Model routing across Frontier, Efficient and Free tiers, your own Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, Azure or AWS Bedrock keys, and local models with Ollama or LM Studio
Data control Customer code is never used for training. Encrypted code caches, vector indexes and longer-lived Learnings are stored; self-hosted Enterprise can opt out entirely, and model output logging is off by default for eligible non-open-source organisations MIT-licensed source with the prompt and context window open to inspection and no silent model switching; Teams adds data privacy controls and shared BYOK, Enterprise adds SSO, OIDC and SCIM, audit logs and limits on which models and providers may be used
Ecosystem fit GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps including self-managed servers, plus Jira and Linear, MCP connections and a VS Code extension MCP servers, GitHub integration for automated pull-request reviews, plugins, shell integration, custom rules and shared agent modes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries GitHub, GitHub Enterprise Server, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Jira, Linear, Slack, VS Code GitHub, Slack, Ollama, LM Studio

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price CodeRabbit Free for open-source repos; Pro $24 / user / month Kilo Code Free and open source; Teams $15 / user / month
  • Free trial CodeRabbit 14 days, no credit card; public and open-source repositories are reviewed free permanently Kilo Code Free plan for individuals; a 14-day Enterprise trial for teams
  • Deployment CodeRabbit Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Kilo Code Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Hosting CodeRabbit Cloud, with a self-hosted Enterprise deployment from 500 seats and an EU SaaS region Kilo Code Cloud (SaaS), with editor extensions and a CLI on your own machine
  • Commercial use CodeRabbit Yes Kilo Code Yes, the source is MIT licensed

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

CodeRabbit

Strengths

  • Reviews every pull request automatically and proposes one-click fixes
  • Covers GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, including self-managed servers
  • Free reviews for public and open-source repositories
  • Customer code is not used for training, and Enterprise can self-host

Limitations

  • Reviews code rather than writing it, so it sits alongside a coding assistant rather than replacing one
  • Hourly review caps per developer: 5 pull requests on Pro, 10 on Pro Plus
  • Self-hosting is Enterprise only and starts at 500 seats
  • Security monitoring is a separate $40 per user per month tier

Kilo Code

Strengths

  • MIT licensed, with the prompt, context window and decisions open to inspection
  • Model calls billed at exact provider rates with no markup, or run on your own keys and local models
  • One account across VS Code, JetBrains, the CLI, cloud agents, Slack and mobile

Limitations

  • Usage is metered per model call rather than per seat, so budgeting takes attention
  • Kilo Deploy has reached end of life and is closed to new users

Plans

Pricing

CodeRabbit

  • Open source $0 Free reviews for public and open-source repositories.
  • Pro $24 Per user per month, billed annually. Includes agentic reviews, one-click fixes, 5 MCP connections and Jira and Linear integrations; 5 pull request reviews per developer per hour.
  • Pro Plus $48 Per user per month, billed annually. Adds multi-repo analysis across 10 repos, 20 custom pre-merge checks, unit tests and merge-conflict resolution, post-merge actions, an issue planner and 15 MCP connections; 10 reviews per developer per hour.
  • CodeRabbit Security $40 Per user per month, for continuous security monitoring, security pull request reviews and usage-based full repository scans.
  • Enterprise Not stated Contact sales. Adds custom RBAC, SSO, audit logging, API access, self-hosting, multi-org support, an SLA, a dedicated CSM, EU SaaS deployment and 20 MCP connections.
Visit site

Kilo Code

  • Free & Open Source $0 For individuals. Open-source VS Code, JetBrains and CLI extensions; usage is billed separately.
  • Teams $15 Per user per month. Usage analytics, shared agent modes, shared BYOK, centralised billing, data privacy controls and priority support.
  • Enterprise Custom SSO, OIDC and SCIM, audit logs, model and provider limits, a shared private gateway and SLA commitments.
  • Kilo Pass From $19 Per month. Optional credit subscription for inference, at $19, $49 or $199, with up to 50 percent bonus credits.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

CodeRabbit

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Kilo Code

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

CodeRabbit https://www.coderabbit.ai · no check date recorded yet

Kilo Code https://kilo.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-10

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.