CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

CodeRabbit vs. OpenCode

At a glance

At a glance

CodeRabbit

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want every pull request reviewed and ranked before a human opens it.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

OpenCode

Best for

Best for developers who want an agent with no vendor lock-in, their own model keys, or a fully local setup.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion CodeRabbit OpenCode
Starting price Free for open-source repos; Pro $24 / user / month Pro and Pro Plus are quoted billed annually: $24 and $48 per user per month. CodeRabbit Security is $40 per user per month. Enterprise is quoted by sales, and its self-hosted option starts at 500 seats. Free, MIT licence You bring your own provider keys and pay them directly. The optional OpenCode Zen gateway is pay as you go per million tokens and includes several free models.
Free trial 14 days, no credit card; public and open-source repositories are reviewed free permanently Free open-source agent
Commercial use Yes Yes, MIT licence
Output AI reviews on pull requests, with one-click fixes and pre-merge checks Agentic coding in a terminal, a desktop app or an IDE
API Yes, on the Enterprise plan Local server with a TypeScript SDK
Hosting Cloud, with a self-hosted Enterprise deployment from 500 seats and an EU SaaS region Not stated
Where it runs On the pull request in GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, plus a VS Code extension and a CLI Terminal, a desktop app for macOS, Windows and Linux, and IDE extensions; open source under the MIT licence, installed through npm, Homebrew, Scoop, Chocolatey, Arch, Mise, Docker or a binary
Inline completions No, it reviews and comments on changes rather than completing code as you type No, OpenCode is driven by prompts rather than by suggestions as you type; its language-server integration feeds diagnostics back to the agent instead of offering inline completions
Agent mode Yes, agentic reviews with one-click fixes, agentic chat, coding agent loops and an issue planner; unit tests, merge-conflict resolution and post-merge actions come with Pro Plus Yes, an autonomous coding agent with several sessions running in parallel and the option to share a session
Model choice No model picker; an ensemble of models is used, with code shared with OpenAI and Anthropic for reviewing purposes Yes, more than 75 providers through Models.dev with your own keys, plus local models through Ollama, LM Studio or llama.cpp and any other OpenAI-compatible endpoint declared in opencode.json
Data control Customer code is never used for training. Encrypted code caches, vector indexes and longer-lived Learnings are stored; self-hosted Enterprise can opt out entirely, and model output logging is off by default for eligible non-open-source organisations Provider keys are stored locally in the user's own auth file rather than on a server, the project states it does not store your code or context data, and local models keep the work on your machine
Ecosystem fit GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps including self-managed servers, plus Jira and Linear, MCP connections and a VS Code extension Terminal, desktop app and IDE extensions, with language servers and MCP servers configurable; the optional OpenCode Zen gateway supplies models tested for coding agents
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), On-premise
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries GitHub, GitHub Enterprise Server, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Jira, Linear, Slack, VS Code Visual Studio Code, Cursor, Windsurf, VSCodium, GitHub, Ollama, LM Studio, llama.cpp

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price CodeRabbit Free for open-source repos; Pro $24 / user / month OpenCode Free, MIT licence
  • Free trial CodeRabbit 14 days, no credit card; public and open-source repositories are reviewed free permanently OpenCode Free open-source agent
  • Deployment CodeRabbit Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise OpenCode Cloud (SaaS), On-premise
  • Company size CodeRabbit Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise OpenCode Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Commercial use CodeRabbit Yes OpenCode Yes, MIT licence

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

CodeRabbit

Strengths

  • Reviews every pull request automatically and proposes one-click fixes
  • Covers GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, including self-managed servers
  • Free reviews for public and open-source repositories
  • Customer code is not used for training, and Enterprise can self-host

Limitations

  • Reviews code rather than writing it, so it sits alongside a coding assistant rather than replacing one
  • Hourly review caps per developer: 5 pull requests on Pro, 10 on Pro Plus
  • Self-hosting is Enterprise only and starts at 500 seats
  • Security monitoring is a separate $40 per user per month tier

OpenCode

Strengths

  • MIT-licensed and free, with no restriction on commercial use
  • More than 75 model providers plus fully local models, so no vendor lock-in
  • One agent across terminal, desktop app and IDE
  • Local server and TypeScript SDK for embedding the agent in other tools

Limitations

  • You manage provider keys and pay model costs directly, so spend is harder to predict than a seat price
  • Topping up OpenCode Zen credit adds a card processing fee of 4.4% plus $0.30 per transaction
  • Zen model prices span a wide range, from $0.05 to $180 per million tokens depending on the model

Plans

Pricing

CodeRabbit

  • Open source $0 Free reviews for public and open-source repositories.
  • Pro $24 Per user per month, billed annually. Includes agentic reviews, one-click fixes, 5 MCP connections and Jira and Linear integrations; 5 pull request reviews per developer per hour.
  • Pro Plus $48 Per user per month, billed annually. Adds multi-repo analysis across 10 repos, 20 custom pre-merge checks, unit tests and merge-conflict resolution, post-merge actions, an issue planner and 15 MCP connections; 10 reviews per developer per hour.
  • CodeRabbit Security $40 Per user per month, for continuous security monitoring, security pull request reviews and usage-based full repository scans.
  • Enterprise Not stated Contact sales. Adds custom RBAC, SSO, audit logging, API access, self-hosting, multi-org support, an SLA, a dedicated CSM, EU SaaS deployment and 20 MCP connections.
Visit site

OpenCode

  • OpenCode $0 Open source under the MIT licence. You bring your own provider keys and pay them directly.
  • OpenCode Zen Pay as you go Billed per million tokens, from $0.05 per million input tokens on the cheapest model up to $180 per million output tokens on the most expensive. Several models are free. Credit auto-reloads by $20 when the balance falls below $5, and top-ups add a card processing fee of 4.4% plus $0.30. Workspace and per-member monthly spending caps are available.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

CodeRabbit

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

OpenCode

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

CodeRabbit https://www.coderabbit.ai · no check date recorded yet

OpenCode https://opencode.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-07

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.