CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

Cursor vs. OpenCode

At a glance

At a glance

Cursor

Best for

Best for developers who want AI woven deeply into their editor with strong multi-file editing.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

OpenCode

Best for

Best for developers who want an agent with no vendor lock-in, their own model keys, or a fully local setup.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Cursor OpenCode
Starting price Free tier; Pro $20 / month Around $16 per month billed annually. Pro+ $60, Ultra $200, Teams $40 per user. Free, MIT licence You bring your own provider keys and pay them directly. The optional OpenCode Zen gateway is pay as you go per million tokens and includes several free models.
Free trial Free tier Free open-source agent
Commercial use Yes Yes, MIT licence
Output AI-native editing with a multi-file agent (Composer) Agentic coding in a terminal, a desktop app or an IDE
API N/A Local server with a TypeScript SDK
Where it runs Its own editor, a VS Code fork Terminal, a desktop app for macOS, Windows and Linux, and IDE extensions; open source under the MIT licence, installed through npm, Homebrew, Scoop, Chocolatey, Arch, Mise, Docker or a binary
Inline completions Yes, Tab: multi-line edits, cross-file suggestions, missing imports, and next-edit prediction that jumps to the following edit location No, OpenCode is driven by prompts rather than by suggestions as you type; its language-server integration feeds diagnostics back to the agent instead of offering inline completions
Agent mode Yes, Composer for complex multi-file refactors, with codebase understanding and .cursorrules Yes, an autonomous coding agent with several sessions running in parallel and the option to share a session
Model choice Yes, Claude, GPT and others Yes, more than 75 providers through Models.dev with your own keys, plus local models through Ollama, LM Studio or llama.cpp and any other OpenAI-compatible endpoint declared in opencode.json
Data control Privacy Mode, which an admin can set for a whole team or enterprise so new members inherit it; ISO/IEC 27001 and 42001 certified with a SOC 2 Type II attestation Provider keys are stored locally in the user's own auth file rather than on a server, the project states it does not store your code or context data, and local models keep the work on your machine
Ecosystem fit GitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps, Bitbucket, JetBrains, Slack and Linear, plus MCP servers, plugins and rules Terminal, desktop app and IDE extensions, with language servers and MCP servers configurable; the optional OpenCode Zen gateway supplies models tested for coding agents
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), On-premise
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Not stated Visual Studio Code, Cursor, Windsurf, VSCodium, GitHub, Ollama, LM Studio, llama.cpp

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Cursor Free tier; Pro $20 / month OpenCode Free, MIT licence
  • Free trial Cursor Free tier OpenCode Free open-source agent
  • Deployment Cursor Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based OpenCode Cloud (SaaS), On-premise
  • Company size Cursor Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise OpenCode Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Commercial use Cursor Yes OpenCode Yes, MIT licence

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Cursor

Strengths

  • Best AI-integrated editing experience
  • Maturest AI-native IDE ecosystem
  • Multi-model choice

Limitations

  • Requires switching editors, which means IDE lock-in
  • Power tiers get expensive

OpenCode

Strengths

  • MIT-licensed and free, with no restriction on commercial use
  • More than 75 model providers plus fully local models, so no vendor lock-in
  • One agent across terminal, desktop app and IDE
  • Local server and TypeScript SDK for embedding the agent in other tools

Limitations

  • You manage provider keys and pay model costs directly, so spend is harder to predict than a seat price
  • Topping up OpenCode Zen credit adds a card processing fee of 4.4% plus $0.30 per transaction
  • Zen model prices span a wide range, from $0.05 to $180 per million tokens depending on the model

Plans

Pricing

Cursor

  • Free $0
  • Pro $20 Per month, around $16 billed annually.
  • Pro+ $60 Per month.
  • Ultra $200 Per month.
  • Teams $40 Per user.
Visit site

OpenCode

  • OpenCode $0 Open source under the MIT licence. You bring your own provider keys and pay them directly.
  • OpenCode Zen Pay as you go Billed per million tokens, from $0.05 per million input tokens on the cheapest model up to $180 per million output tokens on the most expensive. Several models are free. Credit auto-reloads by $20 when the balance falls below $5, and top-ups add a card processing fee of 4.4% plus $0.30. Workspace and per-member monthly spending caps are available.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Cursor

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

OpenCode

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Cursor https://cursor.com · no check date recorded yet

OpenCode https://opencode.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-07

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.