CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Image Comparison

Freepik vs. Photoroom

At a glance

At a glance

Freepik

Best for

Best for creators and marketers who want stock assets, AI image generation and editing under one subscription and API.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Photoroom

Best for

Best for e-commerce sellers and marketers who need listing-ready product visuals fast, with API and MCP automation.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Freepik Photoroom
Starting price From $20 / month Premium plan, $14.50 per month billed annually, with 240,000 credits a year that stay valid for 12 months. Prices exclude VAT. lower value From $12.99 / month Photoroom Pro billed monthly, or $89.99 for a year. Max is $34.99 a month or $250 a year, Ultra $99 a month or $990 a year, and Enterprise is quoted.
Free trial Free plan with 10 stock downloads a day Free plan, paid plans add AI credits
Commercial use Yes, content license on paid plans; Merchandise License on the top individual tier Yes, for listings, ads and branded content
Output Images up to 2K from the Mystic model, with realism and super-real modes Product-focused images: backgrounds, scenes, mockups and graphics from text
API Yes, the Freepik API (Mystic and more) Yes, plus an official MCP server for AI agents
Where you use it Web app, desktop and mobile apps, a developer API and an MCP server for Claude and ChatGPT Web, iOS and Android apps, plus an API and an MCP server
Text in images Yes, the Mystic model renders readable text without a separate pass Through separate tools rather than the image generator: an AI Font and Text Generator turns a prompt into a styled text graphic as a PNG or JPEG, and the editor lays text overlays over a photo
Customization and control Style references, structure references, character syntax for consistent subjects, and an HDR control Integrates with Photoroom's editors: background removal, product staging, virtual models and upscaling, with batch workflows, plus a Brand Kit holding logos, fonts and colours
Open weights No, Mystic is proprietary No
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Shopify, Zapier, Make, Airtable, Figma, Google Drive, WordPress, Capture One, Pixelz, Image Relay

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Freepik From $20 / month Photoroom From $12.99 / month
  • Free trial Freepik Free plan with 10 stock downloads a day Photoroom Free plan, paid plans add AI credits
  • Commercial use Freepik Yes, content license on paid plans; Merchandise License on the top individual tier Photoroom Yes, for listings, ads and branded content
  • Output Freepik Images up to 2K from the Mystic model, with realism and super-real modes Photoroom Product-focused images: backgrounds, scenes, mockups and graphics from text
  • API Freepik Yes, the Freepik API (Mystic and more) Photoroom Yes, plus an official MCP server for AI agents

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Freepik

Strengths

  • Stock library and AI image generation under one subscription
  • Mystic renders text, faces and hands cleanly at up to 2K
  • Full API for automation, plus the Magnific upscaler in the suite
  • Commercial license on paid plans, Merchandise License on the top tier

Limitations

  • Credit system can limit heavy use
  • A broad creative suite rather than a single focused model

Photoroom

Strengths

  • Purpose-built for product and e-commerce visuals
  • Commercial rights for listings, ads and branded content
  • Official MCP server lets AI agents like Claude drive its tools
  • API and batch workflows for automation

Limitations

  • Oriented to product imagery, not open-ended artistic generation
  • AI generations are metered by credits

Plans

Pricing

Freepik

  • Free $0 10 downloads a day for stock content.
  • Premium $20 Per month, or $14.50 per month billed annually. 240,000 credits a year, all image, video and audio models, commercial AI licence and API access.
  • Premium+ $45 Per month, or $33.75 per month billed annually. 600,000 credits a year, commercial AI licence with music rights, Magnific and Topaz upscalers.
  • Pro $280 Per month, or $210 per month billed annually. 4 million credits a year, for professionals scaling content production.
Visit site

Photoroom

  • Free Not stated Basic AI generations to try the tool.
  • Pro $12.99 / month 8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports per month. $89.99 paid yearly.
  • Max $34.99 / month 25,000 AI credits and 3,000 exports per month. $250 paid yearly.
  • Ultra $99 / month 75,000 AI credits and 10,000 exports per month, in several tiers. $990 paid yearly.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom credits and pricing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Freepik

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Photoroom

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Freepik https://www.freepik.com · no check date recorded yet

Photoroom https://www.photoroom.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-11

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.