CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Image Comparison

Krea vs. Playground

At a glance

At a glance

Krea

Best for

Best for creators who want image, video and 3D generation and access to many models under a single subscription.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Playground

Best for

Best for creators and small businesses turning prompts into print-ready designs, logos, stickers and merch.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Krea Playground
Starting price lower value From $9 / month The Basic plan includes 5,000 monthly compute units and a commercial license. From $15 / month $12 per month billed annually. Pro Plus $45 / month ($36 annually). A 24-hour Day Pass is $8.
Free trial Free tier with daily compute units, no commercial license Free tier with up to 10 images every 3 hours
Commercial use Yes on paid plans, not on the free tier Yes on paid plans; you own the images you create
Output Images, video and 3D, using Krea's own model plus many third-party models Print-ready images and designs: logos, stickers, posters and merch
API Yes, output licensed for commercial use Partner access only
Where you use it Web app with a realtime canvas, plus a production API Web app and iOS app
Text in images Depends on the model picked; the catalogue flags Flux 2, Flux 2 Flex, Flux.1 Krea and Qwen 2512 as the strongest at rendering legible text Yes, GPT Image 2 model tuned for typography and designed layouts
Customization and control Realtime canvas, upscaling and a choice of many models Style swap, object removal, mockups, 1,000+ templates, non-destructive editing
Open weights No, proprietary suite Partly: the vendor published its earlier Playground v2.5 model on Hugging Face under the Playground v2.5 Community License, but the models the studio runs today are hosted only
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Not stated
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Krea From $9 / month Playground From $15 / month
  • Free trial Krea Free tier with daily compute units, no commercial license Playground Free tier with up to 10 images every 3 hours
  • Company size Krea Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Playground Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Commercial use Krea Yes on paid plans, not on the free tier Playground Yes on paid plans; you own the images you create
  • Output Krea Images, video and 3D, using Krea's own model plus many third-party models Playground Print-ready images and designs: logos, stickers, posters and merch

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Krea

Strengths

  • Access to many models (Krea's own plus Flux, Ideogram, Runway, Luma and more) under one subscription
  • Realtime canvas for fast iteration
  • Covers image, video and 3D in one tool

Limitations

  • Metered by compute units that do not roll over on individual plans
  • Free tier output is not licensed for commercial use

Playground

Strengths

  • Design-focused output: logos, stickers, posters and merch, print-ready
  • Several integrated models (GPT Image 2, Nano Banana, Seedream)
  • Usable free tier and a low-cost Day Pass

Limitations

  • API is limited to select partners
  • Credit caps on premium models below the top tier

Plans

Pricing

Krea

  • Free $0 Daily compute units. No commercial license.
  • Basic $9 Per month. 5,000 compute units. Commercial license.
  • Higher tiers Not stated Paid tiers above Basic and an Enterprise plan exist; prices to confirm.
Visit site

Playground

  • Free $0 Up to 10 images every 3 hours; 3 monthly generations across premium models.
  • Pro $15 Per month ($12 billed annually). Up to 75 images every 3 hours and 150 monthly premium credits.
  • Pro Plus $45 Per month ($36 billed annually). Unlimited generations and 1,000 monthly credits across all models.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Krea

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Playground

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Krea https://www.krea.ai · no check date recorded yet

Playground https://playground.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.