CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Image Comparison

Picsart vs. Playground

At a glance

At a glance

Picsart

Best for

Best for creators and small marketing teams who want generation and editing in one place, on desktop and phone alike.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Playground

Best for

Best for creators and small businesses turning prompts into print-ready designs, logos, stickers and merch.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Picsart Playground
Starting price lower value Free plan; Pro from $10.50 / month Pro is $10.50 per month billed yearly, $15 per month otherwise. Ultra is $37.50 per seat per month billed yearly, $47 otherwise. From $15 / month $12 per month billed annually. Pro Plus $45 / month ($36 annually). A 24-hour Day Pass is $8.
Free trial Free plan with limits; most paid plans include a free trial Free tier with up to 10 images every 3 hours
Commercial use Depends on the model and the plan; Picsart asks users to check the licence for each model Yes on paid plans; you own the images you create
Output Images up to 8K, plus video Print-ready images and designs: logos, stickers, posters and merch
API Yes, credit-based developer APIs with 50 free credits on signup Partner access only
Hosting Cloud Not stated
Where you use it Browser, iOS and Android apps, a free Windows app from the Microsoft Store, developer APIs, and MCP access from Claude Code, Cursor and ChatGPT Web app and iOS app
Text in images Not claimed for the generator: Picsart publishes no statement about the models rendering legible type from a prompt. Type is handled in the editor instead, with a text tool for captions and designs, AI Text Styles for 3D lettering and effects, and an Edit text in image tool that corrects typos or rewrites wording in a photo in a matching font Yes, GPT Image 2 model tuned for typography and designed layouts
Customization and control A choice of 59 image models, among them Flux 2 Pro, Ideogram V3, Imagen 4.0, GPT Image 1.5 and Gemini 3 Pro, plus AI replace, style transfer and smart backgrounds Style swap, object removal, mockups, 1,000+ templates, non-destructive editing
Open weights No, a hosted service fronting third-party models; the Picsart organisation on Hugging Face publishes no models Partly: the vendor published its earlier Playground v2.5 model on Hugging Face under the Playground v2.5 Community License, but the models the studio runs today are hosted only
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Not stated
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations MCP, Claude Code, Cursor, ChatGPT Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Picsart Free plan; Pro from $10.50 / month Playground From $15 / month
  • Free trial Picsart Free plan with limits; most paid plans include a free trial Playground Free tier with up to 10 images every 3 hours
  • MCP-ready Picsart Yes Playground No
  • Commercial use Picsart Depends on the model and the plan; Picsart asks users to check the licence for each model Playground Yes on paid plans; you own the images you create
  • Output Picsart Images up to 8K, plus video Playground Print-ready images and designs: logos, stickers, posters and merch

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Picsart

Strengths

  • Generation and editing live in the same product, so a result can be cut out or upscaled at once
  • 59 image models to choose from, including several current frontier models
  • Runs in the browser, on iOS and Android and as a free Windows app
  • Developer APIs with 50 free credits on signup
  • Usable from Claude Code, Cursor and ChatGPT over MCP

Limitations

  • Commercial rights vary by model, so each output needs its own licence check
  • Daily caps of 50 generations on most AI tools within the subscription plans
  • A front end to third-party models rather than a model of its own
  • API credits are billed separately from the subscription

Playground

Strengths

  • Design-focused output: logos, stickers, posters and merch, print-ready
  • Several integrated models (GPT Image 2, Nano Banana, Seedream)
  • Usable free tier and a low-cost Day Pass

Limitations

  • API is limited to select partners
  • Credit caps on premium models below the top tier

Plans

Pricing

Picsart

  • Free $0 Free access with limits.
  • Pro $10.50 Per month billed yearly, $15 per month otherwise. AI image generator, AI replace, AI filters, logo generator and smart background at 50 uses per day.
  • Ultra $37.50 Per seat per month billed yearly, $47 otherwise. Five times the Pro usage, 140+ AI video, image and audio models, early access to new features.
Visit site

Playground

  • Free $0 Up to 10 images every 3 hours; 3 monthly generations across premium models.
  • Pro $15 Per month ($12 billed annually). Up to 75 images every 3 hours and 150 monthly premium credits.
  • Pro Plus $45 Per month ($36 billed annually). Unlimited generations and 1,000 monthly credits across all models.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Picsart

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Playground

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Picsart https://picsart.com · no check date recorded yet

Playground https://playground.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.