CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Amazon Polly vs. Murf AI

At a glance

At a glance

Amazon Polly

Best for

Best for developers already on AWS who need speech synthesis inside an application, billed per character.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Murf AI

Best for

Best for business presentations, training and e-learning voiceovers.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Amazon Polly Murf AI
Starting price Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Pay-as-you-go by characters sent for synthesis, including spaces and most SSML tags. Standard $4, Neural $16, Generative $30 and Long-Form $100 per 1 million characters. Speech Marks requests are charged at the same rates. Free tier; paid tiers above The free tier has no downloads and no commercial rights.
Free trial AWS Free Tier: 5 million Standard characters a month, plus 1 million Neural, 500,000 Long-Form and 100,000 Generative characters a month for the first 12 months Free tier, without downloads or commercial rights
Commercial use Not stated Paid tiers only
Output Synthesised speech as MP3, Ogg Vorbis or raw PCM, plus Speech Marks metadata Studio-quality voiceover, plus real-time voices (Falcon)
API Yes, the Amazon Polly API through the AWS SDKs and the AWS CLI Yes
Hosting Cloud (AWS) Not stated
Voice cloning Brand Voice only, and not as a self-service feature. It is a custom engagement in which the Amazon Polly team builds a Neural voice for the exclusive use of one organisation, covering persona, casting an actor, recording their speech and training the model, after which the voice is released to that customer's AWS account. It starts with an AWS account manager rather than an upload Yes, voice cloning to replicate a speaker
Real-time use Yes, the API returns an audio stream that an application can begin playing as it arrives, in near real time, with a choice of sampling rates to trade bandwidth against audio quality Yes, real-time voice agents (Falcon)
Languages Voices in 42 languages and language variants, from Arabic and Cantonese to Icelandic and Korean. Which of the four engines a given voice supports differs by voice, and the Generative and Long-Form engines cover far fewer voices than Standard and Neural 200+ voices across 35+ languages
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No. Polly synthesises speech from text and nothing else. Transcription and translation are separate AWS services rather than features of this one Yes, Murf Dubbing localizes video into 40+ languages, keeping the original tone
Editing and controls SSML for phrasing, emphasis, intonation, pitch, rate and volume, custom Amazon SSML tags such as the Newscaster speaking style, custom lexicons that set the pronunciation of particular words through IPA-style phonemes, and Speech Marks metadata for speech-synchronised facial animation or word highlighting Pitch, speed and intonation controls, plus a custom pronunciation library
Consent and trust Brand Voice is a managed engagement rather than an upload, so a custom voice exists only where an actor has been cast and recorded for that purpose, and the finished voice is restricted to the commissioning organisation's AWS account IDs. There is no self-service cloning path that could be pointed at a voice without its owner taking part Voices sourced through voice-actor partnerships; SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR and HIPAA compliant
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Not stated
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Canva, Microsoft PowerPoint, Adobe Captivate

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Amazon Polly Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Murf AI Free tier; paid tiers above
  • Free trial Amazon Polly AWS Free Tier: 5 million Standard characters a month, plus 1 million Neural, 500,000 Long-Form and 100,000 Generative characters a month for the first 12 months Murf AI Free tier, without downloads or commercial rights
  • Company size Amazon Polly Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Murf AI Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output Amazon Polly Synthesised speech as MP3, Ogg Vorbis or raw PCM, plus Speech Marks metadata Murf AI Studio-quality voiceover, plus real-time voices (Falcon)
  • API Amazon Polly Yes, the Amazon Polly API through the AWS SDKs and the AWS CLI Murf AI Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Amazon Polly

Strengths

  • Four voice engines let quality be traded against cost per character, from $4 to $100 per million
  • Generous free tier, with 5 million Standard characters a month that does not expire
  • Generated speech may be cached and replayed at no additional cost
  • Speech Marks and custom lexicons cover lip-sync and awkward pronunciations properly
  • Brand Voice cannot be used without the voice owner being cast and recorded

Limitations

  • Text to speech only: no transcription, translation or dubbing in this service
  • No self-service voice cloning, and Brand Voice starts with an AWS account manager
  • The Generative and Long-Form engines cover far fewer voices than Standard and Neural
  • Long-Form voices cost $100 per million characters, twenty-five times the Standard rate
  • Useful only from code, so it suits developers rather than anyone wanting an editor

Murf AI

Strengths

  • Polished business voiceover
  • Flexible for training and e-learning
  • Also does real-time agent voices

Limitations

  • Free tier has no downloads or commercial rights
  • Less storytelling realism than ElevenLabs

Plans

Pricing

Amazon Polly

  • AWS Free Tier Free 5 million Standard characters a month. Neural 1 million, Long-Form 500,000 and Generative 100,000 characters a month for the first 12 months.
  • Standard voices $4 Per 1 million characters for speech or Speech Marks requests, outside the free tier.
  • Neural voices $16 Per 1 million characters for speech or Speech Marks requests, outside the free tier.
  • Generative voices $30 Per 1 million characters for speech requests, outside the free tier.
  • Long-Form voices $100 Per 1 million characters for speech or Speech Marks requests, outside the free tier.
Visit site

Murf AI

  • Free $0 No downloads, no commercial rights.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Amazon Polly

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Murf AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Amazon Polly https://aws.amazon.com/polly/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13

Murf AI https://murf.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.