CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

AssemblyAI vs. Vozo

At a glance

At a glance

AssemblyAI

Best for

Best for developers who need accurate transcription, speech insights or voice agents behind a pay-as-you-go API.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Vozo

Best for

Best for creators and marketing teams republishing video in many languages, including the text on screen.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion AssemblyAI Vozo
Starting price lower value From $0.15 / hour of audio Pay-as-you-go, no subscription tiers. Pre-recorded speech-to-text is $0.15 / hour on Universal-2 and $0.21 / hour on Universal-3.5 Pro; streaming is $0.15 / hour on Universal-Streaming and $0.45 / hour on Universal-3.5 Pro Realtime; the Voice Agent API is $4.50 / hour, billed per second of connected conversation. Add-ons such as speaker diarization ($0.02 / hour) and medical mode ($0.15 / hour) are charged on top. Free tier; paid from $29 / month Plans are metered in AI points rather than flat minutes, so the cost follows how much dubbing, lip sync and visual translation a project uses. Each tier also caps video length and concurrent jobs.
Free trial $50 in free credits, no credit card required, covering up to 185 hours of pre-recorded or 333 hours of streaming transcription Free tier with 20 AI points, up to 3 projects
Commercial use Yes, usage-based Not stated
Output Transcripts, structured speech insights and live voice agent conversations Dubbed and lip-synced video, translated subtitles and translated on-screen text
API Yes, REST APIs and SDKs Yes, on Enterprise plans
Languages 99 languages on Universal-2 and 18 on Universal-3.5 Pro for pre-recorded audio; translation across 100+ languages 111 source and 165 target languages
Voice cloning No, the platform covers speech recognition and voice agents rather than voice creation VoiceREAL keeps the original speaker's tone in the dubbed track, VoiceNATIVE substitutes a native-accent voice; Voice Studio carries a library of 12,000+ voices
Real-time use Yes, streaming speech-to-text and a Voice Agent API, alongside batch transcription of pre-recorded files Not a live pipeline: video is uploaded and rendered as a job, with one concurrent task on the free tier, 2 on Creator and 6 on Studio
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, the Voice Agent API runs speech-to-speech conversations by orchestrating speech-to-text, an LLM and text-to-speech at one all-inclusive rate Yes, AI dubbing of uploaded video, with lip sync from the Creator plan
Editing and controls Speaker identification, diarization, custom formatting, key phrase extraction and guardrails for PII redaction, profanity filtering and content moderation Yes, rewrite and redub a voiceover by editing text in Voice Studio, plus subtitle generation and embedding, on-screen text translation, and glossary and bulk upload on Studio
Consent and trust SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, PCI-DSS and a HIPAA BAA included at no premium; EU region available at identical US pricing for GDPR Built with SOC 2 Type II controls and GDPR-aligned data handling, in the vendor's words; glossary and brand governance sit on Studio, and human review of the delivered output is an Enterprise add-on
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Not stated
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price AssemblyAI From $0.15 / hour of audio Vozo Free tier; paid from $29 / month
  • Free trial AssemblyAI $50 in free credits, no credit card required, covering up to 185 hours of pre-recorded or 333 hours of streaming transcription Vozo Free tier with 20 AI points, up to 3 projects
  • Company size AssemblyAI Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Vozo Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Languages AssemblyAI 99 languages on Universal-2 and 18 on Universal-3.5 Pro for pre-recorded audio; translation across 100+ languages Vozo 111 source and 165 target languages
  • MCP-ready AssemblyAI Yes Vozo No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

AssemblyAI

Strengths

  • Pay-as-you-go with no subscription and $50 in free credits to start
  • 99 languages for pre-recorded transcription on Universal-2
  • Compliance certifications and an EU region at no price premium
  • Official MCP server exposes transcription and transcript search to AI agents

Limitations

  • A developer API, not a ready-made studio or editor
  • No voice cloning or voice creation
  • Speech Understanding add-ons are billed on top of the base rate, so cost stacks per request
  • Streaming is billed for as long as the connection stays open, not for the audio sent, and multichannel files are billed per channel
  • Universal-3.5 Pro covers 18 languages against 99 on the older Universal-2

Vozo

Strengths

  • Very broad language coverage, 111 source and 165 target languages
  • Visual Translate rewrites on-screen text and keeps layout and animation
  • Free tier covers a first project without a card
  • Two dubbing modes, one keeping the original voice and one using a native accent

Limitations

  • API access only on Enterprise plans
  • Metered in AI points, so cost depends on the mix of dubbing, lip sync and visual translation
  • Each tier caps video length, seats and concurrent jobs
  • Lip sync and watermark-free export need at least the Creator plan

Plans

Pricing

AssemblyAI

  • Pay-as-you-go From $0.15 / hour No subscription. Pre-recorded transcription $0.15 / hour on Universal-2 and $0.21 / hour on Universal-3.5 Pro, streaming $0.15 / hour on Universal-Streaming and $0.45 / hour on Universal-3.5 Pro Realtime, Voice Agent API $4.50 / hour. Add-ons are billed on top: speaker diarization $0.02 / hour, medical mode $0.15 / hour, keyterms prompting $0.05 / hour on Universal-3.5 Pro and included on Universal-2. Free accounts get 5 new streams per minute, pay-as-you-go accounts 100.
  • Custom Not stated Contact sales for custom rate limits, higher concurrency and volume discounts. HIPAA BAA, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 compliance at no premium, and an EU region at identical US pricing.
Visit site

Vozo

  • Free $0 20 AI points, up to 3 projects, 1 seat, 20 minutes per video.
  • Creator $29 / month 150 AI points per month, 1 seat, 2 concurrent jobs, 60 minutes per video, watermark removed.
  • Studio $99 / month 600 AI points per month, 3 seats, 6 concurrent jobs, 120 minutes per video, bulk upload and glossary.
  • Studio XL Not stated Custom price. 1,500 AI points per month, 6 seats, 12 concurrent jobs.
  • Studio XXL Not stated Custom price. 4,000 AI points per month, 10 seats, 20 concurrent jobs.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom price. Volume discounts, security and compliance, API access and a dedicated account manager.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

AssemblyAI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Vozo

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

AssemblyAI https://www.assemblyai.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

Vozo https://www.vozo.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.