CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Azure AI Speech vs. Hume AI

At a glance

At a glance

Azure AI Speech

Best for

Best for teams already building on Azure who need transcription, synthesis and translation under one compliance and billing umbrella, including where audio cannot leave their own infrastructure.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Hume AI

Best for

Best for apps and content that need expressive, emotionally aware speech and real-time voice interactions.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Azure AI Speech Hume AI
Starting price Free tier, then pay-as-you-go Billed by hours of audio transcribed or translated, characters converted to audio and speaker recognition transactions. The rates on Microsoft's pricing page are rendered per region and currency and are not published as fixed figures, so use the Azure pricing calculator for a quote. Free tier; paid from $3 / month Paid tiers are metered by monthly TTS characters and EVI minutes.
Free trial Free F0 tier: 5 audio hours a month of speech to text, 0.5 million neural characters a month of text to speech and 5 audio hours a month of speech translation Free tier with 10,000 TTS characters and 5 minutes of EVI per month
Commercial use Not stated Yes
Output Transcripts, synthesised speech, translated speech and avatar video Expressive text-to-speech (Octave) and empathic speech-to-speech (EVI)
API Yes, Speech SDK, Speech CLI and REST APIs Yes
Hosting Cloud, containers at the edge, embedded on-device, and sovereign clouds including Azure Government and Azure operated by 21Vianet Not stated
Voice cloning Yes, custom neural voice creates a private voice unique to a brand or product, behind a limited-access application and a code of conduct that requires disclosure and recorded consent from the voice talent Yes, from about 15 seconds of audio
Real-time use Yes, real-time transcription of streaming audio, fast transcription of pre-recorded files, batch transcription for large volumes, and Voice Live for live conversational agents Yes, Octave 2 streaming with latency as low as about 100ms
Languages 100+ languages for captioning, with the supported locale list differing between real-time, fast and batch transcription, text to speech and voice conversion Octave 2 in 11 languages
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, speech translation produces real-time speech-to-speech and speech-to-text translation, and can generate translated videos Yes, the EVI empathic voice interface
Editing and controls SSML control over pitch, pronunciation, rate and volume, custom speech models trained on acoustic, language and pronunciation data, custom vocabulary, language identification, pronunciation assessment, speaker recognition, and a no-code Speech Studio alongside the SDK, CLI and REST APIs Voice design from text prompts (English), plus emotional expression from context
Consent and trust Custom neural voice is a limited-access feature with published transparency notes, a code of conduct, disclosure guidelines and a voice-talent disclosure requirement; containers, embedded speech and sovereign clouds keep audio inside your own boundary Cloning requires filling out a legal agreement confirming you hold the rights or consent for the sample, and use is bound by Hume's Terms of Use and Ethical Guidelines
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Azure AI Speech Free tier, then pay-as-you-go Hume AI Free tier; paid from $3 / month
  • Free trial Azure AI Speech Free F0 tier: 5 audio hours a month of speech to text, 0.5 million neural characters a month of text to speech and 5 audio hours a month of speech translation Hume AI Free tier with 10,000 TTS characters and 5 minutes of EVI per month
  • Deployment Azure AI Speech Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Hume AI Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Azure AI Speech Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Hume AI Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output Azure AI Speech Transcripts, synthesised speech, translated speech and avatar video Hume AI Expressive text-to-speech (Octave) and empathic speech-to-speech (EVI)

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Azure AI Speech

Strengths

  • One service covers transcription, synthesis, translation, speaker recognition and avatars
  • Runs in containers at the edge, embedded on-device and in sovereign clouds
  • Custom neural voice and custom speech models for brand voices and domain vocabulary
  • Free F0 tier with 5 audio hours and 0.5 million characters a month

Limitations

  • Pay-as-you-go rates are not published as fixed figures and depend on region and currency
  • Custom neural voice requires a limited-access application before it can be used
  • A platform assembled from many services rather than a single endpoint, so setup takes longer
  • The LLM speech model is still in preview

Hume AI

Strengths

  • Expressive, emotionally aware speech
  • Voice cloning from about 15 seconds and voice design from text prompts
  • Low-latency streaming for real-time voice agents

Limitations

  • Voice design and acting instructions are English only or still in preview
  • Character and EVI-minute caps scale the monthly cost

Plans

Pricing

Azure AI Speech

  • Free (F0) Free 5 audio hours a month of speech to text across standard and custom combined, 0.5 million neural characters a month of text to speech, and 5 audio hours a month of standard speech translation.
  • Standard (S0) Not stated Pay-as-you-go, charged per hour of audio for real-time, batch, fast and custom transcription, per million characters for neural, neural HD and custom professional voice synthesis, and per audio hour for real-time speech translation. Custom speech training is billed per compute hour and custom model endpoint hosting per model per hour. Microsoft renders the rates per region and currency rather than publishing fixed figures.
Visit site

Hume AI

  • Free $0 10,000 TTS characters and 5 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Starter $3 / month 30,000 TTS characters and 40 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Creator $14 / month 140,000 TTS characters and 200 minutes of EVI per month; 50% off the first month.
  • Pro $70 / month 1M TTS characters and 1,200 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Scale $200 / month 3.3M TTS characters and 5,000 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Business $500 / month 10M TTS characters and 12,500 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing with unlimited usage.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Azure AI Speech

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Hume AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Azure AI Speech https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/products/ai-services/ai-speech · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Hume AI https://www.hume.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.