Best for
Best for regulated industries that need phone automation on their own infrastructure and one predictable per-minute bill.
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Voice & Speech Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for regulated industries that need phone automation on their own infrastructure and one predictable per-minute bill.
Best for
Best for developers putting voice agents on real phone lines for support, lead qualification or scheduling.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Bland AI | Vapi |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $0.14 / minute of calls Start has no platform fee. Build drops the rate to $0.12 per minute but adds a $299 / month platform fee, so it pays off only above a certain call volume. Transfer time is billed separately at $0.05 per minute on Start and $0.04 on Build. Enterprise is contracted to volume. | lower value From $0.05 / minute of calls Build plan, usage-based, plus $0.005 per SMS or chat message. Ten concurrent lines are included and further lines cost $10 / month each. Model provider costs for speech-to-text, the LLM and text-to-speech are passed through at cost, or nothing if you bring your own API keys. |
| Free trial | Start includes 2 credits and an inbound number, which the vendor values at $15 / month, with no card required | Not stated |
| Commercial use | Yes, usage-based | Yes, usage-based |
| Output | AI phone agents for inbound and outbound calls, plus the same agents over SMS, RCS, iMessage and a web chat widget | Voice agents for inbound and outbound phone calls, web voice, and SMS or chat |
| API | Yes, a REST API with a CLI, a Web Agent SDK and an MCP plugin for coding agents | Yes, REST API, CLI and SDKs |
| Hosting | Cloud, with self-hosted and on-premises deployments for regulated industries and US, EU and APAC data residency | Not stated |
| Voice cloning | Yes, built-in voices can be used or a voice cloned from your own recordings, with a professional clone tier and per-account clone limits | Not part of Vapi itself; voices come from connected providers such as ElevenLabs and Deepgram |
| Real-time use | Yes, inbound and outbound calls at a stated sub-400ms response latency and up to one million concurrent calls, handling interruptions, accents and topic changes | Yes, live inbound and outbound phone and web conversations at an average latency under 500 ms |
| Languages | 40 or more languages out of the box, with real-time translation in 23 of them | Depends on the providers chosen for a given assistant: automatic language detection and code-switching with Deepgram (100+ languages), Google STT (125+) or Gladia (110+), while Azure, OpenAI Whisper, Speechmatics and Talkscriber run one language at a time; on the voice side Vapi's own voices cover 40+ languages, Azure 140+ and ElevenLabs 30+. The languages an assistant may use have to be listed in its system prompt |
| Speech-to-speech and dubbing | A call runs as spoken conversation on the vendor's own speech-to-text, language model and text-to-speech, with real-time translation between languages during the call; dubbing of existing recordings is not part of the product | Yes, a call runs as spoken conversation by chaining speech-to-text, a language model and text-to-speech, with natural turn-taking |
| Editing and controls | Conversational Pathways, a node-based designer for branching calls with state, tool calls, webhooks and variable extraction, plus personas, memory across conversations, automated test scenarios, outcome tagging, custom dialling and enterprise nodes for scheduling and custom JavaScript | Assistants for a single prompt with tools, Squads for multi-assistant orchestration, tool calls into APIs and databases mid-conversation, plus testing and call observability |
| Consent and trust | SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS v4.0, with FedRAMP 20X Class A available, AES-256 encryption at rest and TLS 1.3 in transit, role-based access control with MFA, a 24/7 incident response team, BAAs for healthcare and DPAs for EU customers. Models run on the vendor's own infrastructure, so call data does not pass through third parties | SOC 2, HIPAA and PCI compliance with SSO, OAuth and role-based access control; HIPAA is a $2,000 / month add-on and zero data retention $1,000 / month on both plans |
| MCP-ready | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Not stated | Email helpdesk, Community forum |
| Onboarding | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Personal consulting | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | more entries Twilio, Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Notion, Zapier, Genesys, Five9, NICE CXone, Talkdesk, Amazon Connect, Calendly, Cal.com | OpenAI, Anthropic, Groq, Deepgram, Gladia, ElevenLabs, Salesforce, HubSpot, Zapier, Slack, Google Workspace |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Bland AI
Strengths
Limitations
Vapi
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Bland AI
Vapi
What users say
Bland AI
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Vapi
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
Bland AI https://www.bland.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13
Vapi https://vapi.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.