CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Cartesia vs. Otter.ai

At a glance

At a glance

Cartesia

Best for

Best for developers building low-latency, real-time voice agents.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Otter.ai

Best for

Best for teams who need every meeting written up, summarised and pushed into the tools where the follow-up actually happens.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Cartesia Otter.ai
Starting price lower value Free tier; Pro from $5 / month Usage-based credits and agent minutes. Pro adds a commercial-use license and instant voice cloning. Free tier, then from $8.33 / user / month The $8.33 Pro rate is billed annually; paid monthly it is $16.99. Business is $19.99 / user / month billed annually or $30 monthly. The free Basic plan carries 300 transcription minutes a month and 3 lifetime file imports.
Free trial Free tier with 20,000 credits per month Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes
Commercial use Paid Not stated
Output Low-latency real-time speech, instant clone from around three seconds Live transcripts, meeting summaries and action items
API Yes On Enterprise
Hosting Not stated Cloud, with desktop apps for Mac and Windows, mobile apps and a Chrome extension
Voice cloning Yes, instant cloning from around three seconds, plus a Pro clone trained on 30 minutes or more of audio No, Otter transcribes and summarises speech and does not synthesise or clone voices
Real-time use Yes, real-time text-to-speech (Sonic), built for live voice agents Yes, live transcription and captions during the meeting, either with Otter joining the call or recording from the desktop app without a bot
Languages Yes, Sonic 3.6 covers 44 languages natively, chosen per request with a language parameter and regional locale variants One language per conversation, selected in settings; the supported set includes English (US and UK), Spanish, French and Japanese
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, a voice changer, plus localization that converts existing audio across the 44 supported languages while holding the speaker's emotion and identity No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation
Editing and controls Speed 0.6x to 1.5x, volume 0.5x to 2x, an emotion setting (neutral, calm, angry, content, sad) or model-interpreted emotion, custom pronunciation dictionaries, accent selection for multilingual voices and text normalization Speaker identification, meeting summaries with decisions and action items, AI Chat across past meetings and connected apps, workflow agents for sales and recruiting, and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x with skip-silence on paid plans
Consent and trust The terms of service forbid publishing audio of another person's voice without that person's express permission, and name deceased people and political candidates explicitly Enterprise adds SSO and SCIM, admin controls over access policies and sharing, audit logging, and an opt-out from AI model training arranged through an account manager
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, RingCentral, HubSpot, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, Salesloft, Outreach, Slack, Notion, Asana, ClickUp, Jira, monday.com, Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Google Drive, Dropbox, Microsoft OneDrive, SharePoint, Amazon S3, Snowflake, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Cartesia Free tier; Pro from $5 / month Otter.ai Free tier, then from $8.33 / user / month
  • Free trial Cartesia Free tier with 20,000 credits per month Otter.ai Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes
  • Company size Cartesia Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Otter.ai Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • MCP-ready Cartesia No Otter.ai Yes
  • Output Cartesia Low-latency real-time speech, instant clone from around three seconds Otter.ai Live transcripts, meeting summaries and action items

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Cartesia

Strengths

  • Lowest-latency real-time voice for agents
  • Instant three-second cloning
  • Cost-effective developer API

Limitations

  • Less expressive on long-form and audiobook content
  • Newer and developer-oriented

Otter.ai

Strengths

  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app
  • Summaries and action items sync into CRM, chat and project tools
  • MCP server exposes meeting data to Claude and ChatGPT
  • Free plan with 300 transcription minutes a month

Limitations

  • Transcription only, no text-to-speech or voice cloning
  • A small number of languages, and only one per conversation
  • Per-meeting length caps on the lower plans: 30 minutes on Basic and 90 on Pro
  • API access is reserved for Enterprise

Plans

Pricing

Cartesia

  • Free $0 20,000 credits per month plus $1 of prepaid agent usage. Text-to-speech and speech-to-text.
  • Pro $5 / month 100,000 credits, a commercial-use license and instant voice cloning.
  • Startup $49 / month 1.25 million credits, professional voice cloning and organizations.
  • Scale $299 / month 8 million credits, priority support and high concurrency limits.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom credits and agent usage, custom concurrency limits, DPAs/BAAs and SSO.
Visit site

Otter.ai

  • Basic Free 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 lifetime audio or video file imports, and the 25 most recent conversations retained.
  • Pro $8.33 Per user per month billed annually, or $16.99 billed monthly. 1,200 in-app recording minutes a month, 10 file imports a month, up to 90 minutes per meeting, unlimited storage and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x.
  • Business $19.99 Per user per month billed annually, or $30 billed monthly. Unlimited meetings and in-app recordings, unlimited file imports, up to 4 hours per meeting, three concurrent meetings and admin features.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing arranged through a demo. Adds SSO and SCIM, audit logging, admin controls, API access, video replay, unlimited custom AI workflows and a HIPAA compliance add-on.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Cartesia

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Otter.ai

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Cartesia https://cartesia.ai · no check date recorded yet

Otter.ai https://otter.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.