CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

ElevenLabs vs. Hume AI

At a glance

At a glance

ElevenLabs

Best for

Best for realistic long-form narration, dubbing and voice cloning.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Hume AI

Best for

Best for apps and content that need expressive, emotionally aware speech and real-time voice interactions.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ElevenLabs Hume AI
Starting price Free tier; Starter from ~$5 / month Commercial rights start with the paid Starter tier. API from around $300 per million characters at low volume. Free tier; paid from $3 / month Paid tiers are metered by monthly TTS characters and EVI minutes.
Free trial Free tier, restricted Free tier with 10,000 TTS characters and 5 minutes of EVI per month
Commercial use From the paid Starter tier Yes
Output Realistic narration, voice cloning from a sample of around one minute, 70+ languages, dubbing Expressive text-to-speech (Octave) and empathic speech-to-speech (EVI)
API Yes Yes
Voice cloning Yes, from a sample of around one minute Yes, from about 15 seconds of audio
Real-time use Yes. Eleven Flash v2.5 is built for real-time use at around 75 ms latency, Eleven v3 Conversational runs at around 280 ms, Scribe v2 Realtime transcribes at around 150 ms, and the ElevenAgents platform runs live voice agents over phone, chat and messaging channels Yes, Octave 2 streaming with latency as low as about 100ms
Languages 70+ languages on Eleven v3 and Eleven v3 Conversational, 32 on Flash v2.5 and 29 on Multilingual v2; speech to text with Scribe v2 covers 90+ Octave 2 in 11 languages
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, the EVI empathic voice interface
Editing and controls Stability set to Creative, Natural or Robust, speed from 0.7x to 1.2x, audio tags such as [whispers] or [excited] to direct delivery, a seed value for repeatable output, and pronunciation set through IPA, phoneme tags or an uploaded pronunciation dictionary Voice design from text prompts (English), plus emotional expression from context
Consent and trust Professional voice cloning is gated behind technological verification of the speaker, cloning of celebrity and other high-risk voices is blocked, and an AI Speech Classifier tells whether a clip was made with ElevenLabs Cloning requires filling out a legal agreement confirming you hold the rights or consent for the sample, and use is bound by Hume's Terms of Use and Ethical Guidelines
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Twilio, Genesys Cloud, Five9, Vonage, LiveKit, Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk, Intercom, Freshdesk, ServiceNow, Jira, Slack, Telegram, Google Calendar, Google Drive, Cal.com, Calendly Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price ElevenLabs Free tier; Starter from ~$5 / month Hume AI Free tier; paid from $3 / month
  • Free trial ElevenLabs Free tier, restricted Hume AI Free tier with 10,000 TTS characters and 5 minutes of EVI per month
  • Support ElevenLabs Email helpdesk, Community forum Hume AI Community forum
  • MCP-ready ElevenLabs Yes Hume AI No
  • Commercial use ElevenLabs From the paid Starter tier Hume AI Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ElevenLabs

Strengths

  • Most realistic voice and cloning
  • 70+ languages on the v3 models
  • Speech-to-speech and dubbing
  • Strong API

Limitations

  • Commercial use only from the paid Starter tier
  • API pricey at high volume
  • Credits are shared across every product and roll over for at most two months

Hume AI

Strengths

  • Expressive, emotionally aware speech
  • Voice cloning from about 15 seconds and voice design from text prompts
  • Low-latency streaming for real-time voice agents

Limitations

  • Voice design and acting instructions are English only or still in preview
  • Character and EVI-minute caps scale the monthly cost

Plans

Pricing

ElevenLabs

  • Free $0 Restricted, no commercial rights.
  • Starter ~$5 Per month. Commercial rights start here.
  • API From ~$300 Per million characters at low volume.
Visit site

Hume AI

  • Free $0 10,000 TTS characters and 5 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Starter $3 / month 30,000 TTS characters and 40 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Creator $14 / month 140,000 TTS characters and 200 minutes of EVI per month; 50% off the first month.
  • Pro $70 / month 1M TTS characters and 1,200 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Scale $200 / month 3.3M TTS characters and 5,000 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Business $500 / month 10M TTS characters and 12,500 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing with unlimited usage.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ElevenLabs

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Hume AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ElevenLabs https://elevenlabs.io · checked against the official source on 2026-08-21

Hume AI https://www.hume.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.