CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

ElevenLabs vs. Otter.ai

At a glance

At a glance

ElevenLabs

Best for

Best for realistic long-form narration, dubbing and voice cloning.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Otter.ai

Best for

Best for teams who need every meeting written up, summarised and pushed into the tools where the follow-up actually happens.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ElevenLabs Otter.ai
Starting price Free tier; Starter from ~$5 / month Commercial rights start with the paid Starter tier. API from around $300 per million characters at low volume. Free tier, then from $8.33 / user / month The $8.33 Pro rate is billed annually; paid monthly it is $16.99. Business is $19.99 / user / month billed annually or $30 monthly. The free Basic plan carries 300 transcription minutes a month and 3 lifetime file imports.
Free trial Free tier, restricted Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes
Commercial use From the paid Starter tier Not stated
Output Realistic narration, voice cloning from a sample of around one minute, 70+ languages, dubbing Live transcripts, meeting summaries and action items
API Yes On Enterprise
Hosting Not stated Cloud, with desktop apps for Mac and Windows, mobile apps and a Chrome extension
Voice cloning Yes, from a sample of around one minute No, Otter transcribes and summarises speech and does not synthesise or clone voices
Real-time use Yes. Eleven Flash v2.5 is built for real-time use at around 75 ms latency, Eleven v3 Conversational runs at around 280 ms, Scribe v2 Realtime transcribes at around 150 ms, and the ElevenAgents platform runs live voice agents over phone, chat and messaging channels Yes, live transcription and captions during the meeting, either with Otter joining the call or recording from the desktop app without a bot
Languages 70+ languages on Eleven v3 and Eleven v3 Conversational, 32 on Flash v2.5 and 29 on Multilingual v2; speech to text with Scribe v2 covers 90+ One language per conversation, selected in settings; the supported set includes English (US and UK), Spanish, French and Japanese
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, speech-to-speech and dubbing No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation
Editing and controls Stability set to Creative, Natural or Robust, speed from 0.7x to 1.2x, audio tags such as [whispers] or [excited] to direct delivery, a seed value for repeatable output, and pronunciation set through IPA, phoneme tags or an uploaded pronunciation dictionary Speaker identification, meeting summaries with decisions and action items, AI Chat across past meetings and connected apps, workflow agents for sales and recruiting, and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x with skip-silence on paid plans
Consent and trust Professional voice cloning is gated behind technological verification of the speaker, cloning of celebrity and other high-risk voices is blocked, and an AI Speech Classifier tells whether a clip was made with ElevenLabs Enterprise adds SSO and SCIM, admin controls over access policies and sharing, audit logging, and an opt-out from AI model training arranged through an account manager
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Twilio, Genesys Cloud, Five9, Vonage, LiveKit, Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk, Intercom, Freshdesk, ServiceNow, Jira, Slack, Telegram, Google Calendar, Google Drive, Cal.com, Calendly more entries Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, RingCentral, HubSpot, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, Salesloft, Outreach, Slack, Notion, Asana, ClickUp, Jira, monday.com, Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Google Drive, Dropbox, Microsoft OneDrive, SharePoint, Amazon S3, Snowflake, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price ElevenLabs Free tier; Starter from ~$5 / month Otter.ai Free tier, then from $8.33 / user / month
  • Free trial ElevenLabs Free tier, restricted Otter.ai Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes
  • Output ElevenLabs Realistic narration, voice cloning from a sample of around one minute, 70+ languages, dubbing Otter.ai Live transcripts, meeting summaries and action items
  • API ElevenLabs Yes Otter.ai On Enterprise
  • Voice cloning ElevenLabs Yes, from a sample of around one minute Otter.ai No, Otter transcribes and summarises speech and does not synthesise or clone voices

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ElevenLabs

Strengths

  • Most realistic voice and cloning
  • 70+ languages on the v3 models
  • Speech-to-speech and dubbing
  • Strong API

Limitations

  • Commercial use only from the paid Starter tier
  • API pricey at high volume
  • Credits are shared across every product and roll over for at most two months

Otter.ai

Strengths

  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app
  • Summaries and action items sync into CRM, chat and project tools
  • MCP server exposes meeting data to Claude and ChatGPT
  • Free plan with 300 transcription minutes a month

Limitations

  • Transcription only, no text-to-speech or voice cloning
  • A small number of languages, and only one per conversation
  • Per-meeting length caps on the lower plans: 30 minutes on Basic and 90 on Pro
  • API access is reserved for Enterprise

Plans

Pricing

ElevenLabs

  • Free $0 Restricted, no commercial rights.
  • Starter ~$5 Per month. Commercial rights start here.
  • API From ~$300 Per million characters at low volume.
Visit site

Otter.ai

  • Basic Free 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 lifetime audio or video file imports, and the 25 most recent conversations retained.
  • Pro $8.33 Per user per month billed annually, or $16.99 billed monthly. 1,200 in-app recording minutes a month, 10 file imports a month, up to 90 minutes per meeting, unlimited storage and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x.
  • Business $19.99 Per user per month billed annually, or $30 billed monthly. Unlimited meetings and in-app recordings, unlimited file imports, up to 4 hours per meeting, three concurrent meetings and admin features.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing arranged through a demo. Adds SSO and SCIM, audit logging, admin controls, API access, video replay, unlimited custom AI workflows and a HIPAA compliance add-on.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ElevenLabs

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Otter.ai

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ElevenLabs https://elevenlabs.io · checked against the official source on 2026-08-21

Otter.ai https://otter.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.