CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech vs. Rask AI

At a glance

At a glance

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Best for

Best for developers on Google Cloud who need speech synthesis in an application and want to pick their own quality and price point.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Rask AI

Best for

Best for teams localizing existing video into many languages with dubbing and lip sync.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Rask AI
Starting price lower value Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Pay-as-you-go by characters sent for synthesis, counting spaces, newlines and most SSML tags, with a free monthly allowance per voice type. Standard and WaveNet $4 per 1 million characters, free to 4 million a month. Neural2 and Polyglot $16, Chirp 3 HD $30 and Studio $160, each free to 1 million a month. Instant Custom Voice $60 with no free allowance. Gemini-TTS is billed per token instead, from $0.50 per 1 million input text tokens and $10 per 1 million output audio tokens, also with no free allowance. Free trial; paid from $33 / month $33 is the annual rate for Creator ($396 per year); billed monthly the same plan is $60. Every plan caps the minutes of media it will process.
Free trial Free monthly allowance: 4 million characters on Standard and WaveNet voices, 1 million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Polyglot and Studio voices Free trial with 3 minutes
Output Synthesised speech, single request, streaming or long-form, as LINEAR16, MP3, OGG_OPUS, ALAW, MULAW, PCM or M4A Translated and dubbed video and audio, with captions and subtitles
API Yes, the Cloud Text-to-Speech API with client libraries and a command-line path Yes, limited on Creator, production API with webhooks from Creator Pro, dedicated API on Business and Enterprise
Languages Google's own figure is 220+ voices across 40+ languages 130+ languages for translation; voice cloning in 32 languages
Hosting Cloud (Google Cloud), with a global endpoint and regional endpoints Not stated
Voice cloning Yes, Chirp 3 Instant Custom Voice builds a personal voice model from a short high-quality recording, usable afterwards for streaming and long-form synthesis. Access is restricted to allow-listed customers and is arranged through the sales team rather than self-service. A cloning key created for en-US can also speak German, US and European Spanish, Canadian and European French and Brazilian Portuguese Yes, carries the original speaker's voice into the translated track, in 32 languages
Real-time use Yes, bidirectional streaming synthesis for live use, alongside ordinary single requests and a separate long-form path for large documents Not a live pipeline: media is uploaded and processed as a job, with multi-language batch processing from the Business plan
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No. This service synthesises speech from text only. Recognition is the separate Speech-to-Text service and translation the separate Translation AI service Yes, dubbing of uploaded video and audio with automatic multi-speaker detection; lip sync from the Creator Pro plan
Editing and controls SSML, pace control from 0.25x to 2x, experimental pause tags and custom pronunciation in IPA or X-SAMPA phonetic encoding, device profiles that tune output for the playback hardware, and text-based prompting on the Gemini-TTS models, which take a written description of the delivery rather than markup Yes, browser editor with AI script adjustment, translation dictionary and translation prompting, SRT upload and download, automatic captions and timestamps
Consent and trust Instant Custom Voice sits behind an allow list that is granted by the sales team, and enrolment requires the speaker to record a consent statement that Google supplies in the language being cloned, in English: "I am the owner of this voice and I consent to Google using this voice to create a synthetic voice model." The recording is part of the enrolment, so a voice cannot be cloned from found audio The terms make it the customer's job to own the uploaded content or hold the rights to it, and to have all legally required consents for footage of an actor or actress; impersonation is prohibited. SOC 2 Type II and GDPR compliant, and content on free accounts is deleted three months after creation
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Rask AI Free trial; paid from $33 / month
  • Free trial Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Free monthly allowance: 4 million characters on Standard and WaveNet voices, 1 million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Polyglot and Studio voices Rask AI Free trial with 3 minutes
  • Languages Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Google's own figure is 220+ voices across 40+ languages Rask AI 130+ languages for translation; voice cloning in 32 languages
  • Output Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Synthesised speech, single request, streaming or long-form, as LINEAR16, MP3, OGG_OPUS, ALAW, MULAW, PCM or M4A Rask AI Translated and dubbed video and audio, with captions and subtitles
  • API Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Yes, the Cloud Text-to-Speech API with client libraries and a command-line path Rask AI Yes, limited on Creator, production API with webhooks from Creator Pro, dedicated API on Business and Enterprise

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Strengths

  • One API spans cheap legacy voices at $4 per million characters and current HD voices at $30
  • Gemini-TTS takes a written prompt for the delivery instead of hand-written SSML markup
  • Free monthly character allowance on every voice type except Gemini-TTS and custom voices
  • Bidirectional streaming, single request and long-form synthesis from the same service
  • Voice cloning requires a recorded consent statement from the speaker, in their own language

Limitations

  • Text to speech only: recognition and translation are separate Google Cloud services
  • Instant Custom Voice is restricted to allow-listed customers and goes through sales
  • Studio voices cost $160 per million characters, forty times the Standard rate
  • Gemini-TTS is billed per token rather than per character, so the two price models do not compare directly
  • The overlapping generations of voice model take some reading before the right one is obvious

Rask AI

Strengths

  • Transcription, translation, dubbing and lip sync in one pass
  • Voice cloning carries the original speaker into 32 languages
  • Multi-speaker detection keeps panels and interviews on separate voices
  • SOC 2 Type II certified, with team spaces and shared voice presets

Limitations

  • Lip sync only from the Creator Pro plan upwards
  • The entry plan carries only a limited API; a production API with webhooks starts on Creator Pro
  • Every plan caps processed minutes, so heavy localization moves up the tiers quickly
  • Voice cloning covers 32 of the 130+ translation languages

Plans

Pricing

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

  • Standard and WaveNet voices $4 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 4 million characters a month.
  • Neural2 and Polyglot voices $16 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month. Polyglot is in preview.
  • Chirp 3: HD voices $30 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month.
  • Chirp 3: Instant Custom Voice $60 Per 1 million characters. No free allowance, and access is restricted to allow-listed customers.
  • Studio voices $160 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month. A legacy model.
  • Gemini-TTS Not stated Billed per token with no free allowance. Gemini 2.5 Flash TTS costs $0.50 per 1 million input text tokens and $10 per 1 million output audio tokens; Gemini 2.5 Pro TTS and Gemini 3.1 Flash TTS (preview) cost $1.00 and $20.00 respectively. Audio tokens correspond to 25 tokens per second of audio.
Visit site

Rask AI

  • Free trial $0 3 minutes of processed media.
  • Creator $60 / month $33 per month billed annually ($396 per year). 300 minutes a year on annual billing, 25 minutes a month on monthly. Personal glossary and a limited API.
  • Creator Pro $150 / month $78 per month billed annually ($936 per year). 1,200 minutes a year, multi-speaker lip sync, shared brand glossary, script and voice controls, production API with webhooks, up to 5 team members plus guest reviewers.
  • Business $750 / month $500 per month billed annually ($6,000 per year). 6,000 minutes a year, multi-language batch processing, managed terminology, team workspace with custom roles, dedicated API and integrations. Extra minutes cost $3 each.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom minutes and roles, SSO and SAML, SLA, managed QA and a dedicated API.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Rask AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech https://cloud.google.com/text-to-speech · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13

Rask AI https://www.rask.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.