Best for
Best for developers on Google Cloud who need speech synthesis in an application and want to pick their own quality and price point.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Voice & Speech Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for developers on Google Cloud who need speech synthesis in an application and want to pick their own quality and price point.
Best for
Best for turning documents, articles and audiobooks into natural-sounding audio.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Google Cloud Text-to-Speech | Speechify |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Pay-as-you-go by characters sent for synthesis, counting spaces, newlines and most SSML tags, with a free monthly allowance per voice type. Standard and WaveNet $4 per 1 million characters, free to 4 million a month. Neural2 and Polyglot $16, Chirp 3 HD $30 and Studio $160, each free to 1 million a month. Instant Custom Voice $60 with no free allowance. Gemini-TTS is billed per token instead, from $0.50 per 1 million input text tokens and $10 per 1 million output audio tokens, also with no free allowance. | Free; paid tiers above The free tier has no commercial rights. |
| Free trial | Free monthly allowance: 4 million characters on Standard and WaveNet voices, 1 million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Polyglot and Studio voices | Free tier, without commercial rights |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Paid tiers |
| Output | Synthesised speech, single request, streaming or long-form, as LINEAR16, MP3, OGG_OPUS, ALAW, MULAW, PCM or M4A | Natural text-to-speech for reading and listening, plus Speechify Studio for content |
| API | Yes, the Cloud Text-to-Speech API with client libraries and a command-line path | Yes, a text-to-speech API and a voice agents API on the developer platform |
| Hosting | Cloud (Google Cloud), with a global endpoint and regional endpoints | Not stated |
| Voice cloning | Yes, Chirp 3 Instant Custom Voice builds a personal voice model from a short high-quality recording, usable afterwards for streaming and long-form synthesis. Access is restricted to allow-listed customers and is arranged through the sales team rather than self-service. A cloning key created for en-US can also speak German, US and European Spanish, Canadian and European French and Brazilian Portuguese | Yes, voice cloning in Speechify Studio, and zero-shot cloning on the developer platform that turns a short reference clip into a reusable voice ID |
| Real-time use | Yes, bidirectional streaming synthesis for live use, alongside ordinary single requests and a separate long-form path for large documents | Yes, the developer models are streaming-native with a claimed time to first byte under 300ms, and a separate voice agents API adds tools, memory and telephony |
| Languages | Google's own figure is 220+ voices across 40+ languages. Chirp 3 HD ships 30 named voices, with Punjabi (India) and Chinese (Hong Kong) still in preview, and Instant Custom Voice supports a shorter list that includes Arabic, Bengali, Mandarin, several English variants and French | 1,000+ voices in 60+ languages in the reader; the developer models cover six validated locales, namely US English, German, Mexican Spanish, French, Italian and Brazilian Portuguese |
| Speech-to-speech and dubbing | No. This service synthesises speech from text only. Recognition is the separate Speech-to-Text service and translation the separate Translation AI service | Yes, dubbing in Speechify Studio |
| Editing and controls | SSML, pace control from 0.25x to 2x, experimental pause tags and custom pronunciation in IPA or X-SAMPA phonetic encoding, device profiles that tune output for the playback hardware, and text-based prompting on the Gemini-TTS models, which take a written description of the delivery rather than markup | Playback up to 4.5x with synchronized highlighting, plus captions in Studio and SSML emotion control on the developer models across neutral, calm, cheerful, energetic and sad |
| Consent and trust | Instant Custom Voice sits behind an allow list that is granted by the sales team, and enrolment requires the speaker to record a consent statement that Google supplies in the language being cloned, in English: "I am the owner of this voice and I consent to Google using this voice to create a synthetic voice model." The recording is part of the enrolment, so a voice cannot be cloned from found audio | Cloning is consent-first: a voice is built from a consented reference clip, and the company publishes its policy on keeping cloned voices out of election misinformation |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Not stated | Email helpdesk |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized |
| Integrations | Not stated | Google Docs, Gmail, Outlook, Slack |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Google Cloud Text-to-Speech
Strengths
Limitations
Speechify
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Google Cloud Text-to-Speech
Speechify
What users say
Google Cloud Text-to-Speech
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Speechify
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
Google Cloud Text-to-Speech https://cloud.google.com/text-to-speech · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13
Speechify https://speechify.com · no check date recorded yet
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.