CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech vs. Speechmatics

At a glance

At a glance

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Best for

Best for developers on Google Cloud who need speech synthesis in an application and want to pick their own quality and price point.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Speechmatics

Best for

Best for teams transcribing real conversations across accents and languages, including where the audio may not leave their own infrastructure.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Speechmatics
Starting price Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Pay-as-you-go by characters sent for synthesis, counting spaces, newlines and most SSML tags, with a free monthly allowance per voice type. Standard and WaveNet $4 per 1 million characters, free to 4 million a month. Neural2 and Polyglot $16, Chirp 3 HD $30 and Studio $160, each free to 1 million a month. Instant Custom Voice $60 with no free allowance. Gemini-TTS is billed per token instead, from $0.50 per 1 million input text tokens and $10 per 1 million output audio tokens, also with no free allowance. lower value From $0.129 / hour of audio Pro tier rate, billed to the second with no commitment. Volume discounts of 20% apply automatically above 500 hours per month for each speech-to-text type, with further discounts above 24,000 hours a year. One credit equals one dollar.
Free trial Free monthly allowance: 4 million characters on Standard and WaveNet voices, 1 million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Polyglot and Studio voices Free tier with $100 in credit, no card required
Commercial use Not stated Yes, usage-based
Output Synthesised speech, single request, streaming or long-form, as LINEAR16, MP3, OGG_OPUS, ALAW, MULAW, PCM or M4A Transcripts, translations and synthesised speech
API Yes, the Cloud Text-to-Speech API with client libraries and a command-line path Yes, batch and real-time speech-to-text, text-to-speech, translation and a management API
Languages Google's own figure is 220+ voices across 40+ languages 55+ languages and dialects for speech-to-text; translation across 69 language pairs
Hosting Cloud (Google Cloud), with a global endpoint and regional endpoints Cloud, CPU or GPU containers, Kubernetes, on-premises virtual appliance, or on-device
Made in Not stated United Kingdom
Voice cloning Yes, Chirp 3 Instant Custom Voice builds a personal voice model from a short high-quality recording, usable afterwards for streaming and long-form synthesis. Access is restricted to allow-listed customers and is arranged through the sales team rather than self-service. A cloning key created for en-US can also speak German, US and European Spanish, Canadian and European French and Brazilian Portuguese No, the text-to-speech API ships four fixed voices, sarah and theo in British English and megan and jack in American English, and the documentation describes no custom or cloned voice; speed, pitch and emphasis are not adjustable either
Real-time use Yes, bidirectional streaming synthesis for live use, alongside ordinary single requests and a separate long-form path for large documents Yes, streaming transcription returned in under a second, alongside batch transcription of recorded files
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No. This service synthesises speech from text only. Recognition is the separate Speech-to-Text service and translation the separate Translation AI service Audio translation across 69 language pairs, returned as translated transcript rather than dubbed audio; a Voice Agent API is in early access
Editing and controls SSML, pace control from 0.25x to 2x, experimental pause tags and custom pronunciation in IPA or X-SAMPA phonetic encoding, device profiles that tune output for the playback hardware, and text-based prompting on the Gemini-TTS models, which take a written description of the delivery rather than markup Speaker diarization and identification, custom dictionary, language identification, background speech filtering, and speech intelligence for summaries, sentiment, topics and auto-chapters
Consent and trust Instant Custom Voice sits behind an allow list that is granted by the sales team, and enrolment requires the speaker to record a consent statement that Google supplies in the language being cloned, in English: "I am the owner of this voice and I consent to Google using this voice to create a synthetic voice model." The recording is part of the enrolment, so a voice cannot be cloned from found audio Data is not logged as standard; container, Kubernetes, virtual appliance and on-device deployment keep audio inside your own infrastructure
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated LiveKit, Pipecat, Vapi, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Speechmatics From $0.129 / hour of audio
  • Free trial Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Free monthly allowance: 4 million characters on Standard and WaveNet voices, 1 million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Polyglot and Studio voices Speechmatics Free tier with $100 in credit, no card required
  • Deployment Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Speechmatics Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Speechmatics Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Cloud (Google Cloud), with a global endpoint and regional endpoints Speechmatics Cloud, CPU or GPU containers, Kubernetes, on-premises virtual appliance, or on-device

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Strengths

  • One API spans cheap legacy voices at $4 per million characters and current HD voices at $30
  • Gemini-TTS takes a written prompt for the delivery instead of hand-written SSML markup
  • Free monthly character allowance on every voice type except Gemini-TTS and custom voices
  • Bidirectional streaming, single request and long-form synthesis from the same service
  • Voice cloning requires a recorded consent statement from the speaker, in their own language

Limitations

  • Text to speech only: recognition and translation are separate Google Cloud services
  • Instant Custom Voice is restricted to allow-listed customers and goes through sales
  • Studio voices cost $160 per million characters, forty times the Standard rate
  • Gemini-TTS is billed per token rather than per character, so the two price models do not compare directly
  • The overlapping generations of voice model take some reading before the right one is obvious

Speechmatics

Strengths

  • 55+ languages with explicit accent, dialect and code-switching coverage
  • Runs in the cloud, in containers, on-premises or on-device
  • $100 in credit to start, with no card required
  • Data is not logged as standard

Limitations

  • A developer API rather than a ready-made voice studio
  • Text-to-speech on the free tier covers English only
  • The Voice Agent API is still in early access
  • Volume discounts start at 500 hours a month, so small workloads pay the full rate

Plans

Pricing

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

  • Standard and WaveNet voices $4 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 4 million characters a month.
  • Neural2 and Polyglot voices $16 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month. Polyglot is in preview.
  • Chirp 3: HD voices $30 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month.
  • Chirp 3: Instant Custom Voice $60 Per 1 million characters. No free allowance, and access is restricted to allow-listed customers.
  • Studio voices $160 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month. A legacy model.
  • Gemini-TTS Not stated Billed per token with no free allowance. Gemini 2.5 Flash TTS costs $0.50 per 1 million input text tokens and $10 per 1 million output audio tokens; Gemini 2.5 Pro TTS and Gemini 3.1 Flash TTS (preview) cost $1.00 and $20.00 respectively. Audio tokens correspond to 25 tokens per second of audio.
Visit site

Speechmatics

  • Free $0 $100 in credit, no card required. 55+ languages for speech-to-text, 2 concurrent real-time sessions and low-latency English text-to-speech.
  • Pro $0.129 Per hour of audio, billed to the second with no commitment. 50 concurrent real-time sessions, 10 file jobs per second and email support.
  • Enterprise Not stated Volume-based pricing that scales with usage, unlimited concurrency and no rate limits, custom models, custom vocabularies and formatting rules, and SaaS or on-premises deployment.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Speechmatics

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech https://cloud.google.com/text-to-speech · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13

Speechmatics https://www.speechmatics.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.