CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech vs. Typecast

At a glance

At a glance

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Best for

Best for developers on Google Cloud who need speech synthesis in an application and want to pick their own quality and price point.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Typecast

Best for

Best for creators who want expressive, emotion-controlled voiceover for video, audiobooks and podcasts.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Typecast
Starting price lower value Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Pay-as-you-go by characters sent for synthesis, counting spaces, newlines and most SSML tags, with a free monthly allowance per voice type. Standard and WaveNet $4 per 1 million characters, free to 4 million a month. Neural2 and Polyglot $16, Chirp 3 HD $30 and Studio $160, each free to 1 million a month. Instant Custom Voice $60 with no free allowance. Gemini-TTS is billed per token instead, from $0.50 per 1 million input text tokens and $10 per 1 million output audio tokens, also with no free allowance. Free tier; Basic from $5 / month Credit-based. The free tier offers trial voices only and requires attribution; commercial use starts on Basic.
Free trial Free monthly allowance: 4 million characters on Standard and WaveNet voices, 1 million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Polyglot and Studio voices Free tier with 3,000 lifetime credits (around 5 minutes), trial voices only
Commercial use Not stated Paid (Basic and above)
Output Synthesised speech, single request, streaming or long-form, as LINEAR16, MP3, OGG_OPUS, ALAW, MULAW, PCM or M4A Expressive AI speech with emotion and dynamics control; video export on paid tiers
API Yes, the Cloud Text-to-Speech API with client libraries and a command-line path Yes
Hosting Cloud (Google Cloud), with a global endpoint and regional endpoints Not stated
Voice cloning Yes, Chirp 3 Instant Custom Voice builds a personal voice model from a short high-quality recording, usable afterwards for streaming and long-form synthesis. Access is restricted to allow-listed customers and is arranged through the sales team rather than self-service. A cloning key created for en-US can also speak German, US and European Spanish, Canadian and European French and Brazilian Portuguese Yes, instant and professional cloning; slots scale from one to ten by plan
Real-time use Yes, bidirectional streaming synthesis for live use, alongside ordinary single requests and a separate long-form path for large documents Yes, real-time generation via the API
Languages Google's own figure is 220+ voices across 40+ languages. Chirp 3 HD ships 30 named voices, with Punjabi (India) and Chinese (Hong Kong) still in preview, and Instant Custom Voice supports a shorter list that includes Arabic, Bengali, Mandarin, several English variants and French 35+ languages
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No. This service synthesises speech from text only. Recognition is the separate Speech-to-Text service and translation the separate Translation AI service Not documented: the API covers text-to-speech, streaming playback, word- and character-level timestamps and voice cloning from a sample, with no voice-conversion or dubbing endpoint
Editing and controls SSML, pace control from 0.25x to 2x, experimental pause tags and custom pronunciation in IPA or X-SAMPA phonetic encoding, device profiles that tune output for the playback hardware, and text-based prompting on the Gemini-TTS models, which take a written description of the delivery rather than markup Emotion, pitch, intensity, speed and dynamics
Consent and trust Instant Custom Voice sits behind an allow list that is granted by the sales team, and enrolment requires the speaker to record a consent statement that Google supplies in the language being cloned, in English: "I am the owner of this voice and I consent to Google using this voice to create a synthetic voice model." The recording is part of the enrolment, so a voice cannot be cloned from found audio Every voice actor on the platform has agreed to the use cases for their voice and keeps ownership of the model. Uploading a sample requires confirming permission for any third-party voice in it, and cloned voices stay private
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Typecast Free tier; Basic from $5 / month
  • Free trial Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Free monthly allowance: 4 million characters on Standard and WaveNet voices, 1 million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Polyglot and Studio voices Typecast Free tier with 3,000 lifetime credits (around 5 minutes), trial voices only
  • Output Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Synthesised speech, single request, streaming or long-form, as LINEAR16, MP3, OGG_OPUS, ALAW, MULAW, PCM or M4A Typecast Expressive AI speech with emotion and dynamics control; video export on paid tiers
  • API Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Yes, the Cloud Text-to-Speech API with client libraries and a command-line path Typecast Yes
  • Voice cloning Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Yes, Chirp 3 Instant Custom Voice builds a personal voice model from a short high-quality recording, usable afterwards for streaming and long-form synthesis. Access is restricted to allow-listed customers and is arranged through the sales team rather than self-service. A cloning key created for en-US can also speak German, US and European Spanish, Canadian and European French and Brazilian Portuguese Typecast Yes, instant and professional cloning; slots scale from one to ten by plan

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Strengths

  • One API spans cheap legacy voices at $4 per million characters and current HD voices at $30
  • Gemini-TTS takes a written prompt for the delivery instead of hand-written SSML markup
  • Free monthly character allowance on every voice type except Gemini-TTS and custom voices
  • Bidirectional streaming, single request and long-form synthesis from the same service
  • Voice cloning requires a recorded consent statement from the speaker, in their own language

Limitations

  • Text to speech only: recognition and translation are separate Google Cloud services
  • Instant Custom Voice is restricted to allow-listed customers and goes through sales
  • Studio voices cost $160 per million characters, forty times the Standard rate
  • Gemini-TTS is billed per token rather than per character, so the two price models do not compare directly
  • The overlapping generations of voice model take some reading before the right one is obvious

Typecast

Strengths

  • 700+ voices with fine emotion and delivery control
  • Context-aware emotion model adapts tone to the script
  • Affordable entry with a commercial license from $5 per month

Limitations

  • Free tier is limited to trial voices and requires attribution
  • Credit allowances are modest on the lower tiers

Plans

Pricing

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

  • Standard and WaveNet voices $4 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 4 million characters a month.
  • Neural2 and Polyglot voices $16 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month. Polyglot is in preview.
  • Chirp 3: HD voices $30 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month.
  • Chirp 3: Instant Custom Voice $60 Per 1 million characters. No free allowance, and access is restricted to allow-listed customers.
  • Studio voices $160 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month. A legacy model.
  • Gemini-TTS Not stated Billed per token with no free allowance. Gemini 2.5 Flash TTS costs $0.50 per 1 million input text tokens and $10 per 1 million output audio tokens; Gemini 2.5 Pro TTS and Gemini 3.1 Flash TTS (preview) cost $1.00 and $20.00 respectively. Audio tokens correspond to 25 tokens per second of audio.
Visit site

Typecast

  • Free $0 3,000 lifetime credits (around 5 minutes), trial voices only, attribution required.
  • Basic $5 / month $54 / year. 30,000 credits per month (around 35 minutes), all AI voices, commercial license, 1 instant cloning slot.
  • Plus $19 / month $204 / year. 40,000 credits per month, speed control, 1 professional cloning slot.
  • Pro $29 / month $312 / year. 75,000 credits per month, emotion and intonation controls, 2 cloning slots.
  • Business $69 / month $744 / year. 200,000 credits per month, 10 cloning slots, additional credit purchases.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Typecast

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech https://cloud.google.com/text-to-speech · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13

Typecast https://typecast.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.