CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Hume AI vs. NaturalReader

At a glance

At a glance

Hume AI

Best for

Best for apps and content that need expressive, emotionally aware speech and real-time voice interactions.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

NaturalReader

Best for

Best for turning scripts into commercially licensed voiceover while keeping a document reader in the same tool.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Hume AI NaturalReader
Starting price lower value Free tier; paid from $3 / month Paid tiers are metered by monthly TTS characters and EVI minutes. Commercial from $16.50 / user / month Starter billed annually ($198 / year); $29 billed monthly. The personal reader is a separate app priced independently.
Free trial Free tier with 10,000 TTS characters and 5 minutes of EVI per month Not stated
Commercial use Yes Commercial plans only
Output Expressive text-to-speech (Octave) and empathic speech-to-speech (EVI) AI voiceover from four voice-model providers, plus document reading
Voice cloning Yes, from about 15 seconds of audio Yes, up to four cloned voices on commercial plans
Real-time use Yes, Octave 2 streaming with latency as low as about 100ms No streaming voice for live applications; the reader apps speak text on demand and the commercial generator renders a file to download
Languages Octave 2 in 11 languages 90+ languages
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, the EVI empathic voice interface Script translation into other languages with multilingual voices, plus voiceover synced to video
Editing and controls Voice design from text prompts (English), plus emotional expression from context Prompt-based delivery and tone control, plus a pronunciation editor
Consent and trust Cloning requires filling out a legal agreement confirming you hold the rights or consent for the sample, and use is bound by Hume's Terms of Use and Ethical Guidelines Voice features require informed authorisation; NaturalSoft may ask for evidence of it and can suspend or delete unauthorised voices. Customer content, including voice samples and cloned voices, is not used to train models
API Yes No, the vendor's commercial documentation states that an API is not available
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum more entries Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Hume AI Free tier; paid from $3 / month NaturalReader Commercial from $16.50 / user / month
  • Support Hume AI Community forum NaturalReader Email helpdesk, Chat
  • Commercial use Hume AI Yes NaturalReader Commercial plans only
  • Output Hume AI Expressive text-to-speech (Octave) and empathic speech-to-speech (EVI) NaturalReader AI voiceover from four voice-model providers, plus document reading
  • Voice cloning Hume AI Yes, from about 15 seconds of audio NaturalReader Yes, up to four cloned voices on commercial plans

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Hume AI

Strengths

  • Expressive, emotionally aware speech
  • Voice cloning from about 15 seconds and voice design from text prompts
  • Low-latency streaming for real-time voice agents

Limitations

  • Voice design and acting instructions are English only or still in preview
  • Character and EVI-minute caps scale the monthly cost

NaturalReader

Strengths

  • Bundles voices from Gemini, OpenAI, Azure and ElevenLabs in one place
  • Doubles as a reader for your own documents, PDFs and ebooks
  • Commercial license and up to four voice clones on paid plans

Limitations

  • Personal reader and commercial generator are separate apps with separate subscriptions
  • The Team plan requires a minimum of two users
  • No API, so the voices cannot be built into another product or used live

Plans

Pricing

Hume AI

  • Free $0 10,000 TTS characters and 5 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Starter $3 / month 30,000 TTS characters and 40 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Creator $14 / month 140,000 TTS characters and 200 minutes of EVI per month; 50% off the first month.
  • Pro $70 / month 1M TTS characters and 1,200 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Scale $200 / month 3.3M TTS characters and 5,000 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Business $500 / month 10M TTS characters and 12,500 minutes of EVI per month.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing with unlimited usage.
Visit site

NaturalReader

  • Starter $29 / user / month $198 / year ($16.50 / month). 500,000 credits per month, 1 user.
  • Creator $49 / user / month $297 / year ($24.75 / month). 2,000,000 credits per month, 1 user.
  • Team $33 / user / month $192 / year ($16 / month) per user, minimum 2 users. 2,000,000 shared credits per user per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Hume AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

NaturalReader

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Hume AI https://www.hume.ai · no check date recorded yet

NaturalReader https://www.naturalreaders.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.