CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Otter.ai vs. Rev

At a glance

At a glance

Otter.ai

Best for

Best for teams who need every meeting written up, summarised and pushed into the tools where the follow-up actually happens.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Rev

Best for

Best for teams who need a transcript accurate enough to be relied on in court or in the record, with a human pass available on top of the machine one.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Otter.ai Rev
Starting price lower value Free tier, then from $8.33 / user / month The $8.33 Pro rate is billed annually; paid monthly it is $16.99. Business is $19.99 / user / month billed annually or $30 monthly. The free Basic plan carries 300 transcription minutes a month and 3 lifetime file imports. Free tier, then from $25.49 / seat / month The $25.49 Essentials rate is billed annually at $305.90 a year; paid monthly it is $29.99. Pro is $47.99 billed annually or $59.99 monthly. Human services are bought separately by the minute or page and are pooled across seats at account level. The Rev AI developer platform is billed per hour of audio instead, from $0.10 an hour on Reverb Turbo.
Free trial Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes Free plan with 45 AI transcription and caption minutes a month, plus free Rev AI credits worth 5 hours of Reverb transcription
Output Live transcripts, meeting summaries and action items Transcripts, captions, subtitles and case documents
API On Enterprise Yes, Rev AI for asynchronous and streaming speech-to-text, plus a human transcription API
Languages One language per conversation; the set includes English (US and UK), Spanish, French and Japanese 57+ languages for the Rev AI speech-to-text API; 37+ on the Pro subscription; human captions in English and Spanish and subtitles in 17 languages
Hosting Cloud, with desktop apps for Mac and Windows, mobile apps and a Chrome extension Cloud or on-premises for the Rev AI platform
Voice cloning No, Otter transcribes and summarises speech and does not synthesise or clone voices No, Rev works only on incoming speech and does not synthesise or clone voices
Real-time use Yes, live transcription and captions during the meeting, either with Otter joining the call or recording from the desktop app without a bot Yes, a streaming speech-to-text API for live audio alongside asynchronous transcription of recorded files; human services are turnaround-based rather than real-time
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation No dubbing or synthesised speech. Translation is text-only, at $0.002 to $0.025 per minute through the API depending on standard or premium, plus human subtitles at $6.49 to $15.99 a minute
Editing and controls Speaker identification, meeting summaries with decisions and action items, AI Chat across past meetings and connected apps, workflow agents for sales and recruiting, and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x with skip-silence on paid plans Transcript editor with clipping, multi-file evidence analysis with citations, image analysis, a document editor exporting to Word and PDF, AI templates for chronologies and affidavits, and API-side custom vocabulary, forced alignment with word-level timestamps, topic extraction and sentiment analysis
Consent and trust Enterprise adds SSO and SCIM, admin controls over access policies and sharing, audit logging, and an opt-out from AI model training arranged through an account manager SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI compliant with data encrypted at rest and in transit, a stated 99.99% uptime, and on-premises deployment for the API; the Unlimited subscription adds HIPAA and CJIS compliance, SSO and a dedicated specialist
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, RingCentral, HubSpot, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, Salesloft, Outreach, Slack, Notion, Asana, ClickUp, Jira, monday.com, Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Google Drive, Dropbox, Microsoft OneDrive, SharePoint, Amazon S3, Snowflake, Zapier Clio

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Otter.ai Free tier, then from $8.33 / user / month Rev Free tier, then from $25.49 / seat / month
  • Free trial Otter.ai Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes Rev Free plan with 45 AI transcription and caption minutes a month, plus free Rev AI credits worth 5 hours of Reverb transcription
  • Deployment Otter.ai Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Rev Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Hosting Otter.ai Cloud, with desktop apps for Mac and Windows, mobile apps and a Chrome extension Rev Cloud or on-premises for the Rev AI platform
  • Languages Otter.ai One language per conversation; the set includes English (US and UK), Spanish, French and Japanese Rev 57+ languages for the Rev AI speech-to-text API; 37+ on the Pro subscription; human captions in English and Spanish and subtitles in 17 languages

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Otter.ai

Strengths

  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app
  • Summaries and action items sync into CRM, chat and project tools
  • MCP server exposes meeting data to Claude and ChatGPT
  • Free plan with 300 transcription minutes a month

Limitations

  • Transcription only, no text-to-speech or voice cloning
  • A small number of languages, and only one per conversation
  • Per-meeting length caps on the lower plans: 30 minutes on Basic and 90 on Pro
  • API access is reserved for Enterprise

Rev

Strengths

  • Human transcription at a stated 99%+ accuracy alongside the machine tier
  • Developer API priced per hour of audio, from $0.10 on Reverb Turbo
  • Runs on-premises as well as in the cloud on the API side
  • Free credits worth 5 hours of transcription, with no card required

Limitations

  • Speech-to-text only, no text-to-speech, dubbing or voice cloning
  • The subscription is built around legal and investigative work, which is dead weight for other uses
  • The free plan covers 45 minutes a month and English only
  • Human services are charged on top of the subscription rather than included

Plans

Pricing

Otter.ai

  • Basic Free 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 lifetime audio or video file imports, and the 25 most recent conversations retained.
  • Pro $8.33 Per user per month billed annually, or $16.99 billed monthly. 1,200 in-app recording minutes a month, 10 file imports a month, up to 90 minutes per meeting, unlimited storage and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x.
  • Business $19.99 Per user per month billed annually, or $30 billed monthly. Unlimited meetings and in-app recordings, unlimited file imports, up to 4 hours per meeting, three concurrent meetings and admin features.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing arranged through a demo. Adds SSO and SCIM, audit logging, admin controls, API access, video replay, unlimited custom AI workflows and a HIPAA compliance add-on.
Visit site

Rev

  • Free $0 45 AI transcription and caption minutes a month, English only, up to 5 files analysed at once, document editor and mobile app.
  • Essentials $25.49 Per seat per month billed annually at $305.90, or $29.99 billed monthly. Up to 3 seats, 5,000 AI minutes per seat per month in English and Spanish, up to 10 files analysed and 10% off human services.
  • Pro $47.99 Per seat per month billed annually at $575.88, or $59.99 billed monthly. Up to 5 seats, 10,000 AI minutes per seat per month across 37+ languages, up to 50 files analysed, image analysis, Clio integration and 15% off human services.
  • Unlimited Not stated Custom pricing. Unlimited seats and AI minutes, up to 500 files analysed, HIPAA and CJIS compliance, SSO and a dedicated specialist.
  • Rev AI pay-as-you-go $0.10 Per hour of audio on Reverb Turbo; Reverb is $0.20 an hour and foreign-language transcription $0.30 an hour across 56+ languages. Whisper Fusion and Large are $0.005 a minute. Human transcription through the API is $1.99 a minute. Insights are priced separately: language identification and forced alignment $0.003 a minute, topic extraction and sentiment analysis $0.0008 per 10 words, translation $0.002 to $0.025 a minute. Free credits equivalent to 5 hours of Reverb transcription to start.
  • Human services From $1.99 Per minute for human transcription and for human captions, with up to 15% off on a subscription. Legal rough drafts are $2.25 a page and legal premium transcripts $2.50 a page. Global subtitles run $6.49 to $15.99 a minute depending on the language, across 17 languages.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Otter.ai

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Rev

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Otter.ai https://otter.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Rev https://www.rev.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.