CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Otter.ai vs. Speechify

At a glance

At a glance

Otter.ai

Best for

Best for teams who need every meeting written up, summarised and pushed into the tools where the follow-up actually happens.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Speechify

Best for

Best for turning documents, articles and audiobooks into natural-sounding audio.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Otter.ai Speechify
Starting price Free tier, then from $8.33 / user / month The $8.33 Pro rate is billed annually; paid monthly it is $16.99. Business is $19.99 / user / month billed annually or $30 monthly. The free Basic plan carries 300 transcription minutes a month and 3 lifetime file imports. Free; paid tiers above The free tier has no commercial rights.
Free trial Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes Free tier, without commercial rights
Commercial use Not stated Paid tiers
Output Live transcripts, meeting summaries and action items Natural text-to-speech for reading and listening, plus Speechify Studio for content
API On Enterprise Yes, a text-to-speech API and a voice agents API on the developer platform
Hosting Cloud, with desktop apps for Mac and Windows, mobile apps and a Chrome extension Not stated
Voice cloning No, Otter transcribes and summarises speech and does not synthesise or clone voices Yes, voice cloning in Speechify Studio, and zero-shot cloning on the developer platform that turns a short reference clip into a reusable voice ID
Real-time use Yes, live transcription and captions during the meeting, either with Otter joining the call or recording from the desktop app without a bot Yes, the developer models are streaming-native with a claimed time to first byte under 300ms, and a separate voice agents API adds tools, memory and telephony
Languages One language per conversation, selected in settings; the supported set includes English (US and UK), Spanish, French and Japanese 1,000+ voices in 60+ languages in the reader; the developer models cover six validated locales, namely US English, German, Mexican Spanish, French, Italian and Brazilian Portuguese
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation Yes, dubbing in Speechify Studio
Editing and controls Speaker identification, meeting summaries with decisions and action items, AI Chat across past meetings and connected apps, workflow agents for sales and recruiting, and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x with skip-silence on paid plans Playback up to 4.5x with synchronized highlighting, plus captions in Studio and SSML emotion control on the developer models across neutral, calm, cheerful, energetic and sad
Consent and trust Enterprise adds SSO and SCIM, admin controls over access policies and sharing, audit logging, and an opt-out from AI model training arranged through an account manager Cloning is consent-first: a voice is built from a consented reference clip, and the company publishes its policy on keeping cloned voices out of election misinformation
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, RingCentral, HubSpot, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, Salesloft, Outreach, Slack, Notion, Asana, ClickUp, Jira, monday.com, Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Google Drive, Dropbox, Microsoft OneDrive, SharePoint, Amazon S3, Snowflake, Zapier Google Docs, Gmail, Outlook, Slack

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Otter.ai Free tier, then from $8.33 / user / month Speechify Free; paid tiers above
  • Free trial Otter.ai Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes Speechify Free tier, without commercial rights
  • Company size Otter.ai Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Speechify Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • MCP-ready Otter.ai Yes Speechify No
  • Output Otter.ai Live transcripts, meeting summaries and action items Speechify Natural text-to-speech for reading and listening, plus Speechify Studio for content

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Otter.ai

Strengths

  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app
  • Summaries and action items sync into CRM, chat and project tools
  • MCP server exposes meeting data to Claude and ChatGPT
  • Free plan with 300 transcription minutes a month

Limitations

  • Transcription only, no text-to-speech or voice cloning
  • A small number of languages, and only one per conversation
  • Per-meeting length caps on the lower plans: 30 minutes on Basic and 90 on Pro
  • API access is reserved for Enterprise

Speechify

Strengths

  • Best for turning reading material into audio
  • Accessibility focus
  • Popular with creators

Limitations

  • Free tiers lack commercial rights
  • More consumer reader than production studio

Plans

Pricing

Otter.ai

  • Basic Free 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 lifetime audio or video file imports, and the 25 most recent conversations retained.
  • Pro $8.33 Per user per month billed annually, or $16.99 billed monthly. 1,200 in-app recording minutes a month, 10 file imports a month, up to 90 minutes per meeting, unlimited storage and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x.
  • Business $19.99 Per user per month billed annually, or $30 billed monthly. Unlimited meetings and in-app recordings, unlimited file imports, up to 4 hours per meeting, three concurrent meetings and admin features.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing arranged through a demo. Adds SSO and SCIM, audit logging, admin controls, API access, video replay, unlimited custom AI workflows and a HIPAA compliance add-on.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Otter.ai

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Speechify

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Otter.ai https://otter.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Speechify https://speechify.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.