CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Otter.ai vs. Voicemod

At a glance

At a glance

Otter.ai

Best for

Best for teams who need every meeting written up, summarised and pushed into the tools where the follow-up actually happens.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Voicemod

Best for

Best for streamers, gamers and creators who need the voice changed live in the call rather than rendered into a file.

  • Freelancers

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Otter.ai Voicemod
Starting price Free tier, then from $8.33 / user / month The $8.33 Pro rate is billed annually; paid monthly it is $16.99. Business is $19.99 / user / month billed annually or $30 monthly. The free Basic plan carries 300 transcription minutes a month and 3 lifetime file imports. Not stated
Free trial Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes Free version for Windows and Mac
Output Live transcripts, meeting summaries and action items A changed voice delivered live through a virtual microphone, plus soundboard clips and recordings
API On Enterprise Yes, a Control API with an API key and bindings for Unity, JavaScript, C/C++ and Java
Hosting Cloud, with desktop apps for Mac and Windows, mobile apps and a Chrome extension Desktop application for Windows and Mac, a mobile soundboard app, and the Voicemod Key device for consoles
Voice cloning No, Otter transcribes and summarises speech and does not synthesise or clone voices No. Voicelab builds a voice by layering more than 140 effects over your own, and the vendor publishes no way to reproduce a specific person's voice
Real-time use Yes, live transcription and captions during the meeting, either with Otter joining the call or recording from the desktop app without a bot Yes, and it is the whole product: a virtual microphone changes the voice live in Discord, OBS, Fortnite, Valorant, Minecraft, League of Legends and more than 30 other applications
Languages One language per conversation, selected in settings; the supported set includes English (US and UK), Spanish, French and Japanese No published language list. The vendor states the AI voices were built from data recorded by English-speaking voice actors, so English gives the best results, and that other languages can still work but the AI may have difficulty with some of their sounds and articulations
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation Real-time voice changing transforms your own speech into another voice; no dubbing or translation is published
Editing and controls Speaker identification, meeting summaries with decisions and action items, AI Chat across past meetings and connected apps, workflow agents for sales and recruiting, and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x with skip-silence on paid plans Over 200 AI voices, Voicelab for building or remixing voices from more than 140 effects including pitch, tone, Reverb, Delay and Robotifier, plus a soundboard with keybinds, a recorder for YouTube and in-game audio and a 30-second instant replay
Consent and trust Enterprise adds SSO and SCIM, admin controls over access policies and sharing, audit logging, and an opt-out from AI model training arranged through an account manager The vendor states its AI voices are trained by professional voice actors and carry a Fairly Trained certification
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based On-premise
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers
Integrations more entries Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, RingCentral, HubSpot, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, Salesloft, Outreach, Slack, Notion, Asana, ClickUp, Jira, monday.com, Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Google Drive, Dropbox, Microsoft OneDrive, SharePoint, Amazon S3, Snowflake, Zapier Discord, OBS, Fortnite, Valorant, Minecraft, League of Legends, Elgato, Corsair, Razer, MSI, Qualcomm

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Free trial Otter.ai Free Basic plan with 300 monthly transcription minutes Voicemod Free version for Windows and Mac
  • Deployment Otter.ai Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Voicemod On-premise
  • Company size Otter.ai Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Voicemod Freelancers
  • Hosting Otter.ai Cloud, with desktop apps for Mac and Windows, mobile apps and a Chrome extension Voicemod Desktop application for Windows and Mac, a mobile soundboard app, and the Voicemod Key device for consoles
  • MCP-ready Otter.ai Yes Voicemod No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Otter.ai

Strengths

  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app
  • Summaries and action items sync into CRM, chat and project tools
  • MCP server exposes meeting data to Claude and ChatGPT
  • Free plan with 300 transcription minutes a month

Limitations

  • Transcription only, no text-to-speech or voice cloning
  • A small number of languages, and only one per conversation
  • Per-meeting length caps on the lower plans: 30 minutes on Basic and 90 on Pro
  • API access is reserved for Enterprise

Voicemod

Strengths

  • Works live in more than 30 games and applications through a virtual microphone
  • Voicelab builds custom voices from over 140 effects and publishes them to the community
  • Control API drives the app from Unity, JavaScript, C/C++ or Java
  • AI voices are trained with professional voice actors under a Fairly Trained certification
  • Free version for Windows and Mac

Limitations

  • No voice cloning: Voicelab shapes effects rather than reproducing a specific person's voice
  • Plan amounts are not published on the site
  • Built around gaming, streaming and chat applications rather than rendered audio files

Plans

Pricing

Otter.ai

  • Basic Free 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 lifetime audio or video file imports, and the 25 most recent conversations retained.
  • Pro $8.33 Per user per month billed annually, or $16.99 billed monthly. 1,200 in-app recording minutes a month, 10 file imports a month, up to 90 minutes per meeting, unlimited storage and playback speeds from 0.5x to 3x.
  • Business $19.99 Per user per month billed annually, or $30 billed monthly. Unlimited meetings and in-app recordings, unlimited file imports, up to 4 hours per meeting, three concurrent meetings and admin features.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing arranged through a demo. Adds SSO and SCIM, audit logging, admin controls, API access, video replay, unlimited custom AI workflows and a HIPAA compliance add-on.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Otter.ai

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Voicemod

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Otter.ai https://otter.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Voicemod https://www.voicemod.net · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.