Best for
Best for teams who need a transcript accurate enough to be relied on in court or in the record, with a human pass available on top of the machine one.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Voice & Speech Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for teams who need a transcript accurate enough to be relied on in court or in the record, with a human pass available on top of the machine one.
Best for
Best for developers putting voice agents on real phone lines for support, lead qualification or scheduling.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Rev | Vapi |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free tier, then from $25.49 / seat / month The $25.49 Essentials rate is billed annually at $305.90 a year; paid monthly it is $29.99. Pro is $47.99 billed annually or $59.99 monthly. Human services are bought separately by the minute or page and are pooled across seats at account level. The Rev AI developer platform is billed per hour of audio instead, from $0.10 an hour on Reverb Turbo. | lower value From $0.05 / minute of calls Build plan, usage-based, plus $0.005 per SMS or chat message. Ten concurrent lines are included and further lines cost $10 / month each. Model provider costs for speech-to-text, the LLM and text-to-speech are passed through at cost, or nothing if you bring your own API keys. |
| Free trial | Free plan with 45 AI transcription and caption minutes a month, plus free Rev AI credits worth 5 hours of Reverb transcription | Not stated |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Yes, usage-based |
| Output | Transcripts, captions, subtitles and case documents | Voice agents for inbound and outbound phone calls, web voice, and SMS or chat |
| API | Yes, Rev AI for asynchronous and streaming speech-to-text, plus a human transcription API | Yes, REST API, CLI and SDKs |
| Hosting | Cloud or on-premises for the Rev AI platform | Not stated |
| Voice cloning | No, Rev works only on incoming speech and does not synthesise or clone voices | Not part of Vapi itself; voices come from connected providers such as ElevenLabs and Deepgram |
| Real-time use | Yes, a streaming speech-to-text API for live audio alongside asynchronous transcription of recorded files; human services are turnaround-based rather than real-time | Yes, live inbound and outbound phone and web conversations at an average latency under 500 ms |
| Languages | 57+ languages for speech-to-text through Rev AI, 37+ on the Pro subscription and English only on the free plan; human captions cover English and Spanish, and human subtitles 17 languages | Depends on the providers chosen for a given assistant: automatic language detection and code-switching with Deepgram (100+ languages), Google STT (125+) or Gladia (110+), while Azure, OpenAI Whisper, Speechmatics and Talkscriber run one language at a time; on the voice side Vapi's own voices cover 40+ languages, Azure 140+ and ElevenLabs 30+. The languages an assistant may use have to be listed in its system prompt |
| Speech-to-speech and dubbing | No dubbing or synthesised speech. Translation is text-only, at $0.002 to $0.025 per minute through the API depending on standard or premium, plus human subtitles at $6.49 to $15.99 a minute | Yes, a call runs as spoken conversation by chaining speech-to-text, a language model and text-to-speech, with natural turn-taking |
| Editing and controls | Transcript editor with clipping, multi-file evidence analysis with citations, image analysis, a document editor exporting to Word and PDF, AI templates for chronologies and affidavits, and API-side custom vocabulary, forced alignment with word-level timestamps, topic extraction and sentiment analysis | Assistants for a single prompt with tools, Squads for multi-assistant orchestration, tool calls into APIs and databases mid-conversation, plus testing and call observability |
| Consent and trust | SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI compliant with data encrypted at rest and in transit, a stated 99.99% uptime, and on-premises deployment for the API; the Unlimited subscription adds HIPAA and CJIS compliance, SSO and a dedicated specialist | SOC 2, HIPAA and PCI compliance with SSO, OAuth and role-based access control; HIPAA is a $2,000 / month add-on and zero data retention $1,000 / month on both plans |
| MCP-ready | No | stated Yes |
| Deployment | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Not stated | Email helpdesk, Community forum |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Clio | more entries OpenAI, Anthropic, Groq, Deepgram, Gladia, ElevenLabs, Salesforce, HubSpot, Zapier, Slack, Google Workspace |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Rev
Strengths
Limitations
Vapi
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Rev
Vapi
What users say
Rev
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Vapi
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
Rev https://www.rev.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04
Vapi https://vapi.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.