CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Speechmatics vs. Vapi

At a glance

At a glance

Speechmatics

Best for

Best for teams transcribing real conversations across accents and languages, including where the audio may not leave their own infrastructure.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Vapi

Best for

Best for developers putting voice agents on real phone lines for support, lead qualification or scheduling.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Speechmatics Vapi
Starting price From $0.129 / hour of audio Pro tier rate, billed to the second with no commitment. Volume discounts of 20% apply automatically above 500 hours per month for each speech-to-text type, with further discounts above 24,000 hours a year. One credit equals one dollar. lower value From $0.05 / minute of calls Build plan, usage-based, plus $0.005 per SMS or chat message. Ten concurrent lines are included and further lines cost $10 / month each. Model provider costs for speech-to-text, the LLM and text-to-speech are passed through at cost, or nothing if you bring your own API keys.
Free trial Free tier with $100 in credit, no card required Not stated
Commercial use Yes, usage-based Yes, usage-based
Output Transcripts, translations and synthesised speech Voice agents for inbound and outbound phone calls, web voice, and SMS or chat
API Yes, batch and real-time speech-to-text, text-to-speech, translation and a management API Yes, REST API, CLI and SDKs
Hosting Cloud, CPU or GPU containers, Kubernetes, on-premises virtual appliance, or on-device Not stated
Made in United Kingdom Not stated
Voice cloning No, the text-to-speech API ships four fixed voices, sarah and theo in British English and megan and jack in American English, and the documentation describes no custom or cloned voice; speed, pitch and emphasis are not adjustable either Not part of Vapi itself; voices come from connected providers such as ElevenLabs and Deepgram
Real-time use Yes, streaming transcription returned in under a second, alongside batch transcription of recorded files Yes, live inbound and outbound phone and web conversations at an average latency under 500 ms
Languages 55+ languages and dialects with accent, dialect and code-switching coverage; translation across 69 language pairs Depends on the providers chosen for a given assistant: automatic language detection and code-switching with Deepgram (100+ languages), Google STT (125+) or Gladia (110+), while Azure, OpenAI Whisper, Speechmatics and Talkscriber run one language at a time; on the voice side Vapi's own voices cover 40+ languages, Azure 140+ and ElevenLabs 30+. The languages an assistant may use have to be listed in its system prompt
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Audio translation across 69 language pairs, returned as translated transcript rather than dubbed audio; a Voice Agent API is in early access Yes, a call runs as spoken conversation by chaining speech-to-text, a language model and text-to-speech, with natural turn-taking
Editing and controls Speaker diarization and identification, custom dictionary, language identification, background speech filtering, and speech intelligence for summaries, sentiment, topics and auto-chapters Assistants for a single prompt with tools, Squads for multi-assistant orchestration, tool calls into APIs and databases mid-conversation, plus testing and call observability
Consent and trust Data is not logged as standard; container, Kubernetes, virtual appliance and on-device deployment keep audio inside your own infrastructure SOC 2, HIPAA and PCI compliance with SSO, OAuth and role-based access control; HIPAA is a $2,000 / month add-on and zero data retention $1,000 / month on both plans
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations LiveKit, Pipecat, Vapi, Zapier more entries OpenAI, Anthropic, Groq, Deepgram, Gladia, ElevenLabs, Salesforce, HubSpot, Zapier, Slack, Google Workspace

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Speechmatics From $0.129 / hour of audio Vapi From $0.05 / minute of calls
  • Deployment Speechmatics Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Vapi Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Support Speechmatics Email helpdesk Vapi Email helpdesk, Community forum
  • MCP-ready Speechmatics No Vapi Yes
  • Output Speechmatics Transcripts, translations and synthesised speech Vapi Voice agents for inbound and outbound phone calls, web voice, and SMS or chat

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Speechmatics

Strengths

  • 55+ languages with explicit accent, dialect and code-switching coverage
  • Runs in the cloud, in containers, on-premises or on-device
  • $100 in credit to start, with no card required
  • Data is not logged as standard

Limitations

  • A developer API rather than a ready-made voice studio
  • Text-to-speech on the free tier covers English only
  • The Voice Agent API is still in early access
  • Volume discounts start at 500 hours a month, so small workloads pay the full rate

Vapi

Strengths

  • Per-minute pricing with model provider costs passed through at cost
  • Bring your own provider keys and the pass-through drops to nothing
  • Free choice of speech-to-text, model and voice provider across dozens of options
  • Official MCP server lets external AI agents drive Vapi's APIs

Limitations

  • HIPAA compliance and zero data retention are monthly add-ons rather than included
  • Total cost depends on which model, transcription and voice providers you choose
  • Concurrent lines beyond the first ten cost $10 per month each
  • A platform to build on, not a finished call-centre product

Plans

Pricing

Speechmatics

  • Free $0 $100 in credit, no card required. 55+ languages for speech-to-text, 2 concurrent real-time sessions and low-latency English text-to-speech.
  • Pro $0.129 Per hour of audio, billed to the second with no commitment. 50 concurrent real-time sessions, 10 file jobs per second and email support.
  • Enterprise Not stated Volume-based pricing that scales with usage, unlimited concurrency and no rate limits, custom models, custom vocabularies and formatting rules, and SaaS or on-premises deployment.
Visit site

Vapi

  • Build $0.05 Per minute of calls, usage-based, plus $0.005 per SMS or chat message. Ten call concurrency included, additional lines $10 / month each. Model provider costs at cost. Community Discord and email support.
  • Scale Not stated Annual contract with a fixed platform fee and committed volume, volume-based per-minute pricing on quote, enterprise features including SOC 2, HIPAA and PCI, a dedicated account team and a custom support SLA.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Speechmatics

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Vapi

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Speechmatics https://www.speechmatics.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

Vapi https://vapi.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.