CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Vapi vs. WellSaid Labs

At a glance

At a glance

Vapi

Best for

Best for developers putting voice agents on real phone lines for support, lead qualification or scheduling.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

WellSaid Labs

Best for

Best for teams that need commercially licensed, consent-sourced voiceover reviewed by the team before it ships.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Vapi WellSaid Labs
Starting price lower value From $0.05 / minute of calls Build plan, usage-based, plus $0.005 per SMS or chat message. Ten concurrent lines are included and further lines cost $10 / month each. Model provider costs for speech-to-text, the LLM and text-to-speech are passed through at cost, or nothing if you bring your own API keys. From $19 / month Or $10 per month billed annually at $120. Pro is $49 per month, or $33 billed annually at $396. Business is $160 per user per month billed annually, Enterprise is quote-based.
Free trial Not stated Free tier with 3 download minutes per month, without commercial rights
Commercial use Yes, usage-based Paid and enterprise tiers, fully licensed
Output Voice agents for inbound and outbound phone calls, web voice, and SMS or chat Voiceovers at 24 kHz on Starter, up to 48 kHz on Pro and up to 96 kHz on Enterprise
API Yes, REST API, CLI and SDKs Yes
Voice cloning Not part of Vapi itself; voices come from connected providers such as ElevenLabs and Deepgram No, no plan offers custom voice creation or cloning; you pick from the library of licensed voice avatars
Real-time use Yes, live inbound and outbound phone and web conversations at an average latency under 500 ms Yes, real-time streaming at sub-600ms latency, plus asynchronous endpoints for background and batch workloads
Languages Depends on the providers chosen for a given assistant: automatic language detection and code-switching with Deepgram (100+ languages), Google STT (125+) or Gladia (110+), while Azure, OpenAI Whisper, Speechmatics and Talkscriber run one language at a time; on the voice side Vapi's own voices cover 40+ languages, Azure 140+ and ElevenLabs 30+. The languages an assistant may use have to be listed in its system prompt 50+ languages and accents across 280+ voices. Starter and Pro cover the English voices; all languages and translation come with Enterprise
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, a call runs as spoken conversation by chaining speech-to-text, a language model and text-to-speech, with natural turn-taking No speech-to-speech conversion and no dubbing of existing audio. Enterprise can translate a finished clip from English into other languages, but the input is always a script
Editing and controls Assistants for a single prompt with tools, Squads for multi-assistant orchestration, tool calls into APIs and databases mid-conversation, plus testing and call observability AI Director for pitch, pace and tone, custom pronunciation rules for names, brands and technical terms, and shared workspaces for team review
Consent and trust SOC 2, HIPAA and PCI compliance with SSO, OAuth and role-based access control; HIPAA is a $2,000 / month add-on and zero data retention $1,000 / month on both plans Voices are modeled on licensed recordings from real voice actors, and all audio created through WellSaid is fully licensed for commercial use
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries OpenAI, Anthropic, Groq, Deepgram, Gladia, ElevenLabs, Salesforce, HubSpot, Zapier, Slack, Google Workspace Adobe Express, Adobe Premiere Pro

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Vapi From $0.05 / minute of calls WellSaid Labs From $19 / month
  • Company size Vapi Small and mid-sized, Enterprise WellSaid Labs Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support Vapi Email helpdesk, Community forum WellSaid Labs Chat
  • MCP-ready Vapi Yes WellSaid Labs No
  • Commercial use Vapi Yes, usage-based WellSaid Labs Paid and enterprise tiers, fully licensed

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Vapi

Strengths

  • Per-minute pricing with model provider costs passed through at cost
  • Bring your own provider keys and the pass-through drops to nothing
  • Free choice of speech-to-text, model and voice provider across dozens of options
  • Official MCP server lets external AI agents drive Vapi's APIs

Limitations

  • HIPAA compliance and zero data retention are monthly add-ons rather than included
  • Total cost depends on which model, transcription and voice providers you choose
  • Concurrent lines beyond the first ten cost $10 per month each
  • A platform to build on, not a finished call-centre product

WellSaid Labs

Strengths

  • Voices licensed from professional voice actors, with consent
  • AI Director controls for pitch, pace and tone, plus custom pronunciation rules
  • Shared workspaces, so a script gets reviewed before it ships
  • Real-time streaming API at sub-600ms latency, up to 96 kHz

Limitations

  • Free tier has no commercial rights and only three download minutes a month
  • Paid tiers meter output in minutes rather than leaving it open
  • All languages and translation are Enterprise-only, the self-serve tiers are English
  • Adobe Premiere Pro integration starts at the $160 Business tier

Plans

Pricing

Vapi

  • Build $0.05 Per minute of calls, usage-based, plus $0.005 per SMS or chat message. Ten call concurrency included, additional lines $10 / month each. Model provider costs at cost. Community Discord and email support.
  • Scale Not stated Annual contract with a fixed platform fee and committed volume, volume-based per-minute pricing on quote, enterprise features including SOC 2, HIPAA and PCI, a dedicated account team and a custom support SLA.
Visit site

WellSaid Labs

  • Trial $0 3 download minutes per month, curated voices, tone and pitch controls. No commercial rights.
  • Starter $19 Per month, or $10 per month billed annually at $120. 20 minutes per month, 10 projects, all English voices, caption files, 24 kHz. Full commercial rights.
  • Pro $49 Per month, or $33 per month billed annually at $396. 180 minutes per month, unlimited projects, Adobe Express integration, up to 48 kHz.
  • Business $160 Per user per month, billed annually at $1,920. 2,880 minutes per user per year, team workspace, collaborator seats, live chat support, Adobe Premiere Pro integration.
  • Enterprise Custom Custom minutes, all languages, translation, priority support, up to 96 kHz, SSO and security controls.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Vapi

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

WellSaid Labs

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Vapi https://vapi.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

WellSaid Labs https://www.wellsaid.io · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.