Best for
Best for individuals who want AI writing help and a personal assistant across the web.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Writing Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for individuals who want AI writing help and a personal assistant across the web.
Best for
Best for authors and screenwriters who want AI help drafting and editing long-form fiction.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | HyperWrite | Type |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free tier; Premium from $19.99 / month Premium $16 / month billed annually; Ultra $44.99 / month ($29 annually). | lower value Free tier; Basic from $8 / month Basic $96 billed annually; Pro $16 / month, Max $64 / month. Paid plans include the latest models from Anthropic, OpenAI and Google. |
| Free trial | Free plan with limited monthly credits | Free plan available |
| Commercial use | Yes | Yes |
| Output | Written content and emails | Books, screenplays and long-form writing |
| Content types | Emails, paragraphs, speeches and general writing | Books, novels, screenplays and long-form stories, up to about 150,000 words per document |
| Brand voice | Yes, custom personas mirror your writing style (3 on Premium, 10 on Ultra) | Custom writing rules capture the quirks of your own style |
| Content scoring | No score or grade for a draft; the editor gives written AI feedback, rewrites and citations instead | No score or grade for a draft; feedback comes from the document-aware AI chat instead |
| Drafting tools | Yes, Flexible AutoWrite, Magic Editor, a summarizer and hundreds of AI tools, plus custom tools | Yes, AI drafting, rewriting, tone adjustment and expand or condense, plus a Notes feature for characters, settings and scenes |
| Templates | Hundreds of built-in AI tools for specific tasks | Yes, a library of more than 50 curated writing templates covering professional, blog, email and social formats, dropped into a document as a starting point |
| Team workflows | No team plan and no shared workspace; the published plans are Free, Premium and Ultra, all single-user | No shared workspace and no team plan. A finished document goes out as a private view-only link or as a DOCX for editing elsewhere |
| API | No public developer API is published; HyperWrite is used through the web app and the Chrome extension | No, Type publishes no developer API |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum | Email helpdesk |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | Not stated |
| Company size | more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized | Freelancers |
| Integrations | Chrome extension, Gmail | Not stated |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
HyperWrite
Strengths
Limitations
Type
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
HyperWrite
Type
What users say
HyperWrite
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Type
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
HyperWrite https://www.hyperwriteai.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08
Type https://type.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-06
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.