CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Writing Comparison

Jasper vs. Paperpal

At a glance

At a glance

Jasper

Best for

Best for marketing teams managing brand voice across multiple writers and channels.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Paperpal

Best for

Best for researchers and students who write in Word, Google Docs or Overleaf and need submission checks before a journal deadline.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Jasper Paperpal
Starting price From ~$49 to $69 / month Business and Enterprise are custom, around $125 per seat. Free tier; Prime from $12 / month, Pro from $29 / month Prime is $144 per year ($12 per month billed annually) or $25 billed monthly. Pro is $348 per year ($29 per month billed annually) or $59 billed monthly.
Free trial Trial only, no permanent free tier Free plan with 200 language suggestions per month and 5 generative AI uses per day
Commercial use Yes Not stated
Output Marketing content with brand voice Edited academic text, citations and references, plus submission readiness checks
API Yes No, it is delivered as plugins for Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Overleaf and Chrome plus a web editor
Content types Marketing content Academic manuscripts, theses and essays
Brand voice Yes No brand voice profile to configure. The target register is fixed to academic writing, and the nearest equivalent is the manuscript checker's 30+ pre-submission checks against journal requirements, covering language and grammar, references, structure and counts, figures and tables, disclosures and metadata
Content scoring Through the Surfer SEO integration, not native; Surfer's content editor shows optimization scores inside Jasper Yes, submission readiness checks covering plagiarism and similarity, AI pattern detection, reference verification and journal fit
Drafting tools Yes, drafting, brainstorming, a Canvas workspace and Content Pipelines, plus 100+ marketing agents Yes, AI writing and essay writer, paraphrasing and sentence rewriting, academic translation, summarizer, PDF chat and reference finder
Templates Yes, template library Yes, template-based writing assistance
Team workflows Yes, team workflows Separate offerings for universities and publishers
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Not stated Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Overleaf, Google Chrome

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Jasper From ~$49 to $69 / month Paperpal Free tier; Prime from $12 / month, Pro from $29 / month
  • Free trial Jasper Trial only, no permanent free tier Paperpal Free plan with 200 language suggestions per month and 5 generative AI uses per day
  • Company size Jasper Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Paperpal Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Output Jasper Marketing content with brand voice Paperpal Edited academic text, citations and references, plus submission readiness checks
  • API Jasper Yes Paperpal No, it is delivered as plugins for Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Overleaf and Chrome plus a web editor

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Jasper

Strengths

  • Deepest feature set for professional marketing copy
  • Strong brand voice
  • Team and enterprise workflows

Limitations

  • Pricey
  • Overkill for solo or simple needs
  • No permanent free tier

Paperpal

Strengths

  • Add-ins for Microsoft Word, Google Docs and Overleaf, so writing stays where it already is
  • Grammar checker trained on scholarly writing
  • Reference verification flags broken links and AI-hallucinated references
  • Free plan includes the submission readiness checks

Limitations

  • Free plan allows only 5 uses of the generative AI features per day
  • Monthly billing costs roughly twice the annual rate on both paid plans

Plans

Pricing

Jasper

  • Not stated ~$49 to $69 Per month.
  • Business / Enterprise Custom Around $125 per seat.
Visit site

Paperpal

  • Free $0 200 language suggestions per month, 5 generative AI uses per day, submission readiness checks.
  • Prime $12 Per month billed annually ($144 per year). $25 billed monthly.
  • Pro $29 Per month billed annually ($348 per year). $59 billed monthly.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Jasper

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Paperpal

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Jasper https://www.jasper.ai · no check date recorded yet

Paperpal https://paperpal.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.