CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Amazon SES vs. Mailmodo

At a glance

At a glance

Amazon SES

Best for

Best for engineering teams already running on AWS that want high-volume email billed per message and are willing to build the surrounding tooling themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Mailmodo

Best for

Best for marketing teams that want interactive AMP emails, where forms and surveys run inside the inbox, backed by AI drafting and automation.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Amazon SES Mailmodo
Starting price lower value From $0.10 / 1,000 emails À la carte sending is $0.10 per 1,000 emails with no monthly fee. The tiered plans are Essentials at $0.16 per 1,000 and no fixed fee, Pro at $105 per month per account and region plus $0.22 per 1,000, and Enterprise at $500 per month plus $0.23 per 1,000. Rates fall above 10 million and again above 100 million emails. Attachment data is charged at $0.12 per GB. From $149 / month Lite plan, billed annually, for 500 contacts and 2,000 email credits per month; higher plans add contacts and credits.
Free trial New AWS customers receive up to $200 in AWS Free Tier credits, usable over six months Free trial available
API Yes, the SES v2 API and an SMTP interface, called from the AWS SDKs and the AWS CLI Yes, an API, with integrations for Zapier, HubSpot, Customer.io and Clevertap
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), run as an AWS service per region Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Not stated United States
Campaign types Marketing, transactional and newsletter sending through the console, the SMTP interface or the SES v2 API, plus inbound receiving that can store mail in Amazon S3, publish it to Amazon SNS or trigger AWS Lambda Yes, email newsletters and bulk campaigns, AMP interactive emails, and transactional email
Automation and journeys No journey builder. Sending is driven by your own application or by other AWS services, and received mail can trigger Lambda functions, which is how autoresponders and unsubscribe systems are built on it. Yes, email sequences and prebuilt automation templates
Segmentation and personalisation Per-recipient personalisation through template replacement data, with SendBulkEmail taking up to 50 destination objects per call, each carrying its own values and falling back to defaults where none are supplied Yes, contact segmentation, with AI segment generation
Templates and editor Stored templates created through the API, up to 20,000 per region and 500 KB each, or inline templates supplied with the request; both substitute placeholder tags in the subject, HTML and text parts. There is no drag-and-drop builder. Yes, a drag-and-drop editor with AI template and subject-line generation and a brand kit
Deliverability and testing Easy DKIM authentication, bounce and complaint notifications through Amazon SNS, rendering failure notifications, and event publishing to CloudWatch or Amazon Data Firehose. Virtual Deliverability Manager is priced separately, from $0.02 to $0.07 per 1,000 emails, with global deliverability at $1,250 per month. IPs can be shared, managed dedicated, or brought from your own range at $24.95 per month per IP. Yes, a managed deliverability service: Mailmodo monitors its own sending IPs, keeps bulk and transactional mail on separate sending streams, provides its own high-reputation SMTP, and its in-house experts run a deliverability audit of email health, performance and domain reputation, then plan domain warm-up and safe volume increases
Ecommerce and CRM data No ecommerce or CRM connectors. SES keeps one contact list per AWS account, with up to 20 topics, a subscription status per topic and a free-form attributes field on each contact; contacts are imported from an Amazon S3 object in CSV or JSON, up to one million per import job. Order and customer data stay in your own systems and travel with the send request. Yes, integrations with HubSpot, Customer.io and Clevertap for CRM data
Integrations and API Yes, the SES v2 API and an SMTP interface, called from the AWS SDKs and the AWS CLI, with IAM for access control and CloudTrail for API call logging. Integrates with S3, SNS, Lambda, CloudWatch, Data Firehose, KMS, Route 53 and Elastic Beanstalk. Yes, an API, plus integrations for Zapier, HubSpot, Customer.io and Clevertap
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7, Community forum Email helpdesk, Chat, Phone
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Amazon S3, Amazon SNS, AWS Lambda, Amazon CloudWatch, Amazon Data Firehose, AWS KMS, AWS IAM, AWS CloudTrail, Amazon Route 53, AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Amazon EC2 more entries HubSpot, Customer.io, Clevertap, Zapier, Make, Google Sheets, Mailchimp, Shopify, Segment, Mixpanel, Twilio, Zoom, Google Calendar, Intercom, Zendesk, MoEngage, WebEngage

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Amazon SES From $0.10 / 1,000 emails Mailmodo From $149 / month
  • Free trial Amazon SES New AWS customers receive up to $200 in AWS Free Tier credits, usable over six months Mailmodo Free trial available
  • Company size Amazon SES Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Mailmodo Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting Amazon SES Cloud (SaaS), run as an AWS service per region Mailmodo Cloud (SaaS)
  • Support Amazon SES Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7, Community forum Mailmodo Email helpdesk, Chat, Phone

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Amazon SES

Strengths

  • Per-message pricing with no seat licence and no monthly fee on the à la carte rate
  • SMTP interface and SES v2 API, callable from the AWS SDKs and the CLI
  • Inbound mail can land in S3, publish to SNS or trigger Lambda functions
  • Up to 20,000 stored templates per region, or inline templates supplied per request
  • Shared, managed dedicated or bring-your-own IP addresses
  • Sending rates fall at 10 million and 100 million emails per month

Limitations

  • No campaign editor, journey builder or drag-and-drop template designer
  • The Pro and Enterprise fixed fees are charged per account and per region
  • Deliverability tooling is a separately priced add-on, Virtual Deliverability Manager
  • Running it in practice means operating SNS, Lambda, CloudWatch and IAM alongside it
  • A failed call to a multi-recipient message rejects the whole email, so AWS recommends one recipient per call
  • Attachment data is billed separately at $0.12 per GB

Mailmodo

Strengths

  • AMP interactive emails with forms, surveys and carts inside the inbox
  • AI generates templates, subject lines and segments
  • Email sequences and prebuilt automation templates
  • Integrations for HubSpot, Customer.io, Clevertap and Zapier

Limitations

  • Higher entry price than most email tools, from $149 per month
  • Plans start at 500 contacts

Plans

Pricing

Amazon SES

  • À la carte $0.10 Per 1,000 emails sent, with no fixed monthly fee.
  • Essentials $0.16 Per 1,000 emails up to 10 million per month and no fixed fee. $0.14 per 1,000 from 10 to 100 million, $0.11 above 100 million.
  • Pro $105 Per month per account and region, plus $0.22 per 1,000 emails up to 10 million, $0.17 from 10 to 100 million and $0.12 above.
  • Enterprise $500 Per month per account and region, plus $0.23 per 1,000 emails up to 10 million, $0.18 from 10 to 100 million and $0.13 above.
Visit site

Mailmodo

  • Lite From $149 / month Billed annually; 500 contacts, 2,000 email credits per month and one team member.
  • Pro From $199 / month Billed annually; 500 contacts, 3,000 email credits per month and three team members.
  • Max Not stated Unlimited email credits and five team members, quoted by sales.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Amazon SES

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Mailmodo

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Amazon SES https://aws.amazon.com/ses/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-09

Mailmodo https://www.mailmodo.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-22

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.