CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Customer.io vs. Flodesk

At a glance

At a glance

Customer.io

Best for

Best for product-led SaaS teams that trigger lifecycle messaging from event data and want the whole platform available over an API.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Flodesk

Best for

Best for creators, designers and small businesses that want beautifully designed emails without a steep learning curve.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Customer.io Flodesk
Starting price From $100 / month Essentials, billed monthly, for 5,000 profiles and 1 million emails a month. Premium starts at $1,000 a month and is billed yearly; Enterprise is quoted. Extra usage costs $0.009 per profile, $0.12 per 1,000 emails and $10 per 100,000 AI credits. lower value Free plan; paid from $19 / month Lite billed annually at 1,000 subscribers, or $25 / month billed monthly. Every paid price scales with the active subscriber count, and annual billing includes one month free. Priced in US dollars worldwide.
Free trial Startup Program gives early-stage companies that have raised under $10M a full year free Free plan available, plus free trials on the paid plans
API Yes, the Journeys UI API and CDP Data Pipelines API, plus a CLI, webhooks, mobile SDKs and an official MCP server Yes, a developer API with webhooks and a Model Context Protocol server; API keys are available on paid plans but not on free or trial accounts
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), with US and EU endpoints Cloud (SaaS)
Made in United States Not stated
Campaign types Yes, email, SMS, push, in-app messages, WhatsApp, LINE, webhooks and Slack, plus transactional messages Yes, email campaigns, plus forms, landing pages and, on the top plan, sales pages
Automation and journeys Yes, a visual workflow builder with branching logic, triggered by segment, event, form, relationship, date or webhook Yes, workflow automations on the paid plans, unlimited on Pro and above
Segmentation and personalisation Yes, Audiences segments on customer profiles, events, account relationships and real-time data Yes, audience segmentation
Templates and editor Yes, Design Studio for creating messages at scale Yes, designer-made templates and a visual editor
Deliverability and testing A/B and multivariate testing, conversion tracking, send-time optimisation and email content analysis on every plan; managed deliverability from the Premium plan Yes, subject line A/B testing that sends two variants to part of the list and the winner to the rest after 24 hours, with side-by-side results, plus AI subject line recommendations, content and sequence testing through split-path workflows, a send time optimizer, resend to unopens and a dedicated IP as a paid add-on
Ecommerce and CRM data Yes, CDP Data Pipelines unify customer data and apps, with object types alongside people for accounts and other non-person records Yes, integrated checkouts, sales pages and subscriptions with payment processing on the Everything plan
Integrations and API Yes, the Journeys UI API and CDP Data Pipelines API, plus a CLI, webhooks, mobile SDKs for iOS, Android, React Native, Flutter and Expo, and an official MCP server Yes, a developer API with webhooks plus a Model Context Protocol server, included on every paid plan, alongside native integrations and Zapier and Pabbly Connect
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Not stated Shopify, Canva, Instagram, Squarespace, Wix, ThriveCart, ManyChat, HoneyBook, Interact, BookFunnel, Zapier, Pabbly Connect

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Customer.io From $100 / month Flodesk Free plan; paid from $19 / month
  • Free trial Customer.io Startup Program gives early-stage companies that have raised under $10M a full year free Flodesk Free plan available, plus free trials on the paid plans
  • Company size Customer.io Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Flodesk Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting Customer.io Cloud (SaaS), with US and EU endpoints Flodesk Cloud (SaaS)
  • Support Customer.io Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Flodesk Email helpdesk, Community forum

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Customer.io

Strengths

  • Journeys triggered by product events, forms, relationships, dates or webhooks
  • Official MCP server exposing the full Journeys UI and CDP Data Pipelines APIs, on US and EU endpoints
  • LLM actions inside a workflow generate data and personalise content at send time
  • Startup Program gives early-stage companies a full year free

Limitations

  • Only Essentials publishes its volumes; Premium names a starting figure but quotes profiles and emails individually
  • Billing counts objects as well as people towards the profile total
  • Object types are capped per plan, at two on Essentials and ten on Premium
  • Daily Routines, premium chat support and HIPAA compliance start at the Premium plan

Flodesk

Strengths

  • Design-led templates and a simple visual builder
  • Free plan with forms, landing pages and segmentation
  • Sell directly with checkouts, sales pages and subscriptions on the top plan

Limitations

  • Workflow automations require a paid plan
  • Advanced analytics and reporting are limited to the higher plans

Plans

Pricing

Customer.io

  • Essentials $100 Per month, billed monthly. 5,000 profiles (people and objects), 1 million emails a month, 2 object types, 2 workspaces, email and community support, basic data integrations.
  • Premium $1,000 Per month, billed yearly, as a starting figure. Custom profile and email volumes, 10 object types, elevated AI Agent limits with custom skills, Daily Routines, premium chat and email support, 90-day onboarding support, premium data integrations and HIPAA compliance.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted. Dedicated infrastructure and hardware, custom AI Agent limits, priority technical support, migration support, a dedicated Customer Success Manager and Technical Implementation Specialist, a shared Slack channel, audit logging and data governance.
Visit site

Flodesk

  • Free $0 / month No subscriber limit, with forms, landing pages, link in bio, designer templates and audience segmentation.
  • Lite $25 / month Up to 25,000 subscribers and 1 seat, with unlimited email sends, workflow automations, forms, landing pages and analytics. $19 / month billed annually. Both figures are for 1,000 subscribers and rise with the list.
  • Pro $28 / month Up to 255,000 subscribers and 2 seats, adding unlimited workflows, advanced analytics and reporting and the option to remove Flodesk branding. $25 / month billed annually. Both figures are for 1,000 subscribers and rise with the list.
  • Everything $54 / month Up to 255,000 subscribers and 3 seats, adding unlimited integrated checkouts, sales pages and funnels, subscriptions, payment plans and abandoned cart automations. $49 / month billed annually. Both figures are for 1,000 subscribers and rise with the list.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Customer.io

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Flodesk

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Customer.io https://customer.io · checked against the official source on 2026-09-03

Flodesk https://flodesk.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.