CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Ghost vs. Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

At a glance

At a glance

Ghost

Best for

Best for independent publishers and creators who want a website, newsletter and paid subscriptions in one platform they can host themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Best for

Best for B2B teams already running Salesforce as their CRM, who want lead scoring, nurture and attribution on the same records their sellers work in.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Ghost Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement
Starting price lower value Free version if self-hosted; Ghost(Pro) from $18 / month Ghost(Pro) Starter is $18 per month billed yearly for up to 1,000 members. Self-hosting the open source application carries no licence cost, but the server and email delivery are your own. From $1250 / org / month Growth+ is $1,250 per organisation and month with 10,000 contacts included, Plus+ $2,750, Advanced+ $4,400 and Premium+ $15,000 with 75,000 contacts. Extra contact blocks cost $100 per 10,000 contacts and month on Growth+, rising to $400 on Premium+. All per-month products require an annual contract.
API Yes, REST APIs for reading and writing content, documented for headless use Yes, a daily API call allowance that rises with the edition, plus an External Activity API and custom object integration with Salesforce CRM
Hosting Cloud (Ghost Pro) or self-hosted; open source under the MIT licence Cloud (SaaS)
Campaign types Newsletters published to a website and sent by email in the same step, with free and paid membership tiers Unlimited email marketing, landing pages, forms and form handlers for existing forms, with an integrated marketing calendar and a CMS with approval workflows
Automation and journeys Yes, in public beta since June 2026. An Automations tab opens a drag-and-drop canvas with two flows ready to go, one for new free members and one for new paid ones, built from two actions: send an email and wait a set amount of time. Existing welcome emails move into it automatically, and more triggers and actions are announced as coming Engagement Programs for nurture tracks plus automation rules, with lead scoring and grading, multiple scoring categories and rule-based account scoring deciding who moves on
Segmentation and personalisation Yes, audience segmentation so different newsletters go to different groups of readers Prospect tracking across online campaigns feeds rule-based dynamic content and cross-object merge fields, so messages vary on data held against the CRM record; Einstein adds lead scoring, behaviour scoring and engagement frequency
Templates and editor Yes, an editor built for long-form work with galleries, video, audio and dynamic content cards; custom themes from the Publisher plan Drag-and-drop building with reusable repeater blocks and fully customisable URLs, and Einstein Content Creation drafts and iterates subject lines, email copy and landing page copy
Deliverability and testing Preview shows the post as it will look on the web, on mobile, in an email and on social, and a test email can be sent to your own inbox with a custom subject line before publishing. On Ghost(Pro) email delivery is included and configured for you; a self-hosted install has to supply Mailgun API keys, which is the only supported bulk email provider Email A/B testing and multivariate landing page testing, a dedicated IP address, Einstein Send Time Optimization, and advanced email analytics with email rendering and preview analysis
Ecommerce and CRM data Yes, native paid subscriptions through Stripe on monthly and yearly tiers, with signup forms and promotional offers. Ghost takes 0% of subscription revenue on Publisher and above, though payment processor fees still apply Built on the Salesforce CRM database: Engagement History Dashboards sit on leads, contacts, accounts and opportunities, with custom object integration, a Data Cloud connector and multi-touch attribution through B2B Marketing Analytics
Integrations and API Yes, REST APIs for content in and out, plus more than 8,000 integrations through Zapier and similar from the Publisher plan Daily API call allowance scaling by edition, an External Activity API with active extensions, custom object integration, and prebuilt Google Ads and Eventbrite integrations
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Stripe, Slack, Google Analytics, Zapier more entries Salesforce CRM, Google Ads, Eventbrite, Salesforce Data Cloud, B2B Marketing Analytics

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Ghost Free version if self-hosted; Ghost(Pro) from $18 / month Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement From $1250 / org / month
  • Deployment Ghost Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Ghost Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting Ghost Cloud (Ghost Pro) or self-hosted; open source under the MIT licence Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement Cloud (SaaS)
  • AI features Ghost No Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Ghost

Strengths

  • Open source under the MIT licence and self-hostable, so the whole platform can run on your own infrastructure
  • Ghost takes 0% of paid subscription revenue on Publisher and above; only payment processor fees apply
  • Website, newsletter and paid memberships in one product, with no separate email tool to wire up
  • Run by a non-profit foundation funded by its users, with no outside investors
  • Unlimited email sends on every Ghost(Pro) tier

Limitations

  • The Starter plan has no paid subscriptions, no custom themes and only limited integrations
  • Member count drives the price: Starter and Publisher both stop at 1,000 members, Business at 10,000
  • Self-hosting means providing and maintaining your own server and email delivery
  • Built for publishing rather than campaign marketing, so there is no multi-channel journey builder

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Strengths

  • Scores, engagement history and attribution sit directly on Salesforce CRM records, with no connector between marketing and sales
  • Multi-touch attribution models and B2B Marketing Analytics report campaign effect against pipeline rather than against opens alone
  • Einstein covers both sides of the job, scoring prospects and drafting email and landing page copy

Limitations

  • Priced per organisation from $1,250 a month billed annually, so the entry cost does not scale down for a small team
  • Contact allowances are the real cost driver, and extra blocks run from $100 to $400 per 10,000 contacts and month depending on edition
  • Business units cost $2,000 per unit and month on top of the edition price
  • The value rests on Salesforce being the system of record, which makes it a poor fit for companies running another CRM

Plans

Pricing

Ghost

  • Self-hosted $0 The open source Ghost application under the MIT licence. No licence cost; you provide the server and email delivery.
  • Starter $18 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 1,000 members, one staff user, website, newsletter, free custom domain and unlimited email sends. No paid subscriptions or custom themes.
  • Publisher $29 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 1,000 members, three staff users, custom themes, paid subscriptions, advanced analytics and more than 8,000 integrations.
  • Business $199 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 10,000 members, 15 staff users, priority support, higher usage limits and early access to new features.
  • Custom Not stated Unlimited members and staff users, advanced configuration, dedicated IP and a 99.9% uptime SLA.
Visit site

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

  • Growth+ $1,250 Per organisation and month, billed annually. 10,000 contacts included. Extra contacts $100 per 10,000 and month.
  • Plus+ $2,750 Per organisation and month, billed annually. 10,000 contacts included. Extra contacts $150 per 10,000 and month.
  • Advanced+ $4,400 Per organisation and month, billed annually. 10,000 contacts included. Extra contacts $300 per 10,000 and month.
  • Premium+ $15,000 Per organisation and month, billed annually. 75,000 contacts included. Extra contacts $400 per 10,000 and month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Ghost

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Ghost https://ghost.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-07

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement https://www.salesforce.com/marketing/b2b-automation/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-15

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.