CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Mailmodo vs. Resend

At a glance

At a glance

Mailmodo

Best for

Best for marketing teams that want interactive AMP emails, where forms and surveys run inside the inbox, backed by AI drafting and automation.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Resend

Best for

Best for product and engineering teams that want transactional email, broadcasts and templates in the same codebase as the application that sends them.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Mailmodo Resend
Starting price From $149 / month Lite plan, billed annually, for 500 contacts and 2,000 email credits per month; higher plans add contacts and credits. lower value Free tier; Pro from $20 / month Transactional and marketing volume are billed separately. The transactional ladder runs Free, Pro from $20 per month and Scale from $90 per month, priced in bands by monthly email volume; marketing runs Free, Pro Marketing from $40 per month and Enterprise, priced by contact count.
Free trial Free trial available Free tier: 3,000 emails per month, 100 per day, 3 domains, plus 1,000 marketing contacts
API Yes, an API, with integrations for Zapier, HubSpot, Customer.io and Clevertap Yes, REST API with official SDKs for Node.js, Python, PHP, Ruby, Go, Rust, Elixir, Java and .NET, plus a CLI, webhooks and an official MCP server
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in United States Not stated
Campaign types Yes, email newsletters and bulk campaigns, AMP interactive emails, and transactional email Transactional email over the API, broadcasts to contacts and segments, and inbound email by pointing MX records at Resend
Automation and journeys Yes, email sequences and prebuilt automation templates Yes, flows triggered by custom events from your own application, built from condition, delay, wait for event, send email, contact update, contact delete and add to segment steps, with a Runs view for debugging
Segmentation and personalisation Yes, contact segmentation, with AI segment generation Yes, contacts with custom properties grouped into segments, plus Topics so recipients can opt in or out of individual categories
Templates and editor Yes, a drag-and-drop editor with AI template and subject-line generation and a brand kit React Email, a component-based template system written in code; there is no drag-and-drop builder
Deliverability and testing Yes, a managed deliverability service: Mailmodo monitors its own sending IPs, keeps bulk and transactional mail on separate sending streams, provides its own high-reputation SMTP, and its in-house experts run a deliverability audit of email health, performance and domain reputation, then plan domain warm-up and safe volume increases Domain verification with SPF, DKIM and DMARC, delivery event webhooks and event monitoring in the dashboard; dedicated IPs are a $30 per month add-on on Scale and above
Ecommerce and CRM data Yes, integrations with HubSpot, Customer.io and Clevertap for CRM data Contacts are created and updated over the API or bulk-imported by CSV up to 200 MB, with custom properties carrying the data used for personalisation
Integrations and API Yes, an API, plus integrations for Zapier, HubSpot, Customer.io and Clevertap Yes, REST API with bearer key authentication, a batch endpoint for up to 100 messages per request, SDKs for nine languages, a CLI, webhooks and an official MCP server
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Chat, Phone Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations HubSpot, Customer.io, Clevertap, Zapier, Make, Google Sheets, Mailchimp, Shopify, Segment, Mixpanel, Twilio, Zoom, Google Calendar, Intercom, Zendesk, MoEngage, WebEngage Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Mailmodo From $149 / month Resend Free tier; Pro from $20 / month
  • Free trial Mailmodo Free trial available Resend Free tier: 3,000 emails per month, 100 per day, 3 domains, plus 1,000 marketing contacts
  • Company size Mailmodo Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Resend Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support Mailmodo Email helpdesk, Chat, Phone Resend Email helpdesk
  • AI features Mailmodo Yes Resend No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Mailmodo

Strengths

  • AMP interactive emails with forms, surveys and carts inside the inbox
  • AI generates templates, subject lines and segments
  • Email sequences and prebuilt automation templates
  • Integrations for HubSpot, Customer.io, Clevertap and Zapier

Limitations

  • Higher entry price than most email tools, from $149 per month
  • Plans start at 500 contacts

Resend

Strengths

  • Transactional sending, broadcasts, contacts and automations on one API and one account
  • Official SDKs for Node.js, Python, PHP, Ruby, Go, Rust, Elixir, Java and .NET, plus a CLI
  • Standing free tiers on both ladders rather than a time-limited trial
  • Inbound email by pointing MX records at Resend, delivered as webhooks
  • Official MCP server, so the platform can be driven by AI agents

Limitations

  • Templates are React components, so building an email needs a developer
  • Two separate price ladders, one for sending volume and one for contacts
  • Dedicated IPs, extra domains and SSO are priced as add-ons on top of the plan
  • SSO and dedicated IPs require the Scale plan or above
  • The free tier caps sending at 100 emails per day

Plans

Pricing

Mailmodo

  • Lite From $149 / month Billed annually; 500 contacts, 2,000 email credits per month and one team member.
  • Pro From $199 / month Billed annually; 500 contacts, 3,000 email credits per month and three team members.
  • Max Not stated Unlimited email credits and five team members, quoted by sales.
Visit site

Resend

  • Free $0 3,000 emails per month, capped at 100 per day, 3 domains, 10,000 automation runs and 30-day data retention. Marketing side is free up to 1,000 contacts.
  • Pro $20 Per month, 50,000 emails and 10 domains, no daily limit, 5 webhook endpoints. $35 per month for 100,000 emails. Overage $0.90 per 1,000 emails.
  • Scale $90 Per month, from 100,000 emails and 1,000 domains, 10 webhook endpoints and a dedicated Slack channel. Rises through $160, $350, $650, $825 and $1,150 per month up to 2.5 million emails, with the overage rate falling from $0.90 to $0.46 per 1,000.
  • Pro Marketing $40 Per month for 5,000 contacts, rising to $650 per month for 150,000 contacts.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom volume and contact limits, a 99.99% uptime SLA, a dedicated customer success manager, migration support and flexible AI credits.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Mailmodo

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Resend

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Mailmodo https://www.mailmodo.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-22

Resend https://resend.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-07

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.