CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

Adobe Workfront vs. OpenProject

At a glance

At a glance

Adobe Workfront

Best for

Best for enterprise marketing and creative teams whose bottleneck is review and approval rather than task assignment.

  • Enterprise

OpenProject

Best for

Best for organisations that need a full project management suite on their own infrastructure rather than in someone else's cloud.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Adobe Workfront OpenProject
Starting price Quote-based Adobe publishes no prices. Packages are Select, Prime and Ultimate; Workfront Fusion is included with Ultimate and bought separately with Prime or Select, priced on monthly operations. Free (Community edition); Enterprise from €5.95 / user / month Community edition is free, self-hosted and has no user minimum. Enterprise Basic €5.95 and Professional €10.95 per user / month from 25 users, Premium €15.95 from 100 users, Corporate on request from 250 users. Rates are for a one-year term; a monthly term adds €1.00 per user and is available for Cloud Basic only. The BIM add-on costs €1.00 per user.
Free trial Demo 14 days on the Enterprise cloud, or a 14-day trial licence for a self-hosted installation
Users Not stated Unlimited on the self-hosted Community edition; Enterprise plans start at 25 users
API Yes, REST API Yes, REST API v3 plus a BCF API
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Self-hosted on-premises (DEB and RPM packages, Docker, Kubernetes) or Enterprise cloud on servers in the EU
Made in Not stated Germany
Task planning Yes, projects, tasks and issues with intake and request queues, approvals and the Scenario Planner for multi-year initiative planning Yes, work packages with hierarchies and relations, Gantt charts with automatic or manual scheduling, agile boards for Scrum and Kanban with sprints and story points, and reusable project templates
Resource planning Yes, resource pools assigned per project plus a workload balancer for scheduling and allocating people Yes, team planner plus resource allocation across projects, with working hours, holidays and availability feeding the schedule
Time tracking Yes, timesheets covering project time on projects, tasks and issues and non-project time such as meetings and training Yes, hours logged on work packages daily or weekly, a personal time tracking page and PDF timesheet reports
Reporting and controlling Yes, customisable dashboards over reports such as timesheets, open issues and billing, showing team capacity, schedule risk, hours logged and budget adherence Yes, filterable cost reports, budgets for labour and unit costs, hourly rates per member and project, baseline comparison and customisable project dashboards
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API, built-in connectors, the low-code Workfront Fusion automation platform and an official MCP server Yes, REST API v3 and a BCF API, plus integrations with Nextcloud, GitHub, GitLab, OneDrive, SharePoint, XWiki and openDesk and an official MCP server
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Personal consulting, Guided onboarding
Company size Enterprise more entries Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Adobe Creative Cloud, Adobe Experience Cloud, Frame.io, Workfront Fusion more entries Nextcloud, GitHub, GitLab, OneDrive, SharePoint, XWiki, openDesk

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Adobe Workfront Quote-based OpenProject Free (Community edition); Enterprise from €5.95 / user / month
  • Free trial Adobe Workfront Demo OpenProject 14 days on the Enterprise cloud, or a 14-day trial licence for a self-hosted installation
  • Deployment Adobe Workfront Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based OpenProject Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size Adobe Workfront Enterprise OpenProject Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting Adobe Workfront Cloud (SaaS) OpenProject Self-hosted on-premises (DEB and RPM packages, Docker, Kubernetes) or Enterprise cloud on servers in the EU

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Adobe Workfront

Strengths

  • Digital proofing and automated approval workflows, with a native Frame.io connection for creative review
  • Native fit with Adobe Creative Cloud and Experience Cloud for teams already on Adobe tools
  • An official MCP server, so Claude, ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot and Gemini can query and change Workfront items directly
  • Three integration routes: built-in connectors, a REST API and the low-code Fusion platform

Limitations

  • No published pricing at any tier, demo and quote only
  • Workfront Fusion is only included with the Ultimate package; Prime and Select pay separately, priced on monthly operations
  • Layered licensing, with Select, Prime and Ultimate packages crossed with Standard, Light and Contributor licence types
  • Enterprise-scale product, heavier than a small team needs

OpenProject

Strengths

  • Free Community edition under the GNU GPL v3 with no user limit
  • Runs on-premises or in an EU-hosted cloud, so project data can stay in-house
  • Hours, hourly rates, unit costs and budgets sit in the same tool as the plan
  • Official MCP server lets AI assistants work on project data within existing roles and permissions

Limitations

  • Enterprise plans start at 25 users, Premium at 100 and Corporate at 250
  • Self-hosting means running, securing and upgrading the installation yourself
  • Monthly billing costs €1.00 more per user and is limited to Cloud Basic

Plans

Pricing

Adobe Workfront

  • Select Not stated Entry package. Workfront Fusion is not included and is purchased separately, priced on monthly operations. Not priced publicly.
  • Prime Not stated Adds work management and security capabilities over Select. Fusion is again purchased separately. Not priced publicly.
  • Ultimate Not stated Adds automation and data management over Prime, and includes Workfront Fusion. Not priced publicly.
Visit site

OpenProject

  • Community €0 Free and open source, self-hosted, no user minimum. Community features, community forum and user guides.
  • Basic €5.95 Per user / month on a one-year term, from 25 users. Adds the Basic Enterprise add-ons and email support, Mon-Fri 9:30-16:00 CET.
  • Professional €10.95 Per user / month on a one-year term, from 25 users. Adds the Professional Enterprise add-ons and phone support, Mon-Fri 9:30-17:00 CET.
  • Premium €15.95 Per user / month on a one-year term, from 100 users. Adds the Premium Enterprise add-ons, remote hands and installation and upgrade assistance.
  • Corporate On request From 250 users. Adds the Corporate Enterprise add-ons, openDesk and OpenID Connect for Nextcloud Hub, a dedicated support engineer, custom plugin support and onboarding training.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Adobe Workfront

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

OpenProject

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Adobe Workfront https://business.adobe.com/products/workfront.html · checked against the official source on 2026-09-06

OpenProject https://www.openproject.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-03

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.