CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

Microsoft Project vs. Scoro

At a glance

At a glance

Microsoft Project

Best for

Best for organizations that need detailed scheduling and resource management within the Microsoft ecosystem.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Scoro

Best for

Best for professional-services firms that want projects, resources and finances in one PSA, from small consultancies to enterprises.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Microsoft Project Scoro
Starting price From $10 / user / month Planner Plan 1, paid yearly. Planner and Project Plan 3 is $30 per user and month and adds the desktop client. Desktop licenses are one-time: Project Standard $679.99, Project Professional $1,129.99. Project Server runs on-premises through a partner. From €15 / user / month Time-billing bundle, minimum 5 users. The price rises with the apps combined, up to €52 for the end-to-end bundle; annual billing is 13 to 17 percent cheaper.
Free trial Not stated 14 days, no credit card
Languages Not stated English, German, Estonian, French, Spanish
Hosting Not stated Cloud, GDPR-compliant
Made in United States (Microsoft) Estonia
Task planning Yes, Gantt scheduling with task dependencies and baselines, plus grid, board and timeline views in the web app Yes, quote-to-invoice, Gantt, tasks and subtasks
Resource planning Yes, resource assignment and management across projects, fuller in Project Professional and the higher plans Yes, with capacity forecasting
Time tracking Timesheet capture in Project Online and the higher Project plans Yes, billable and non-billable
Reporting and controlling Yes, built-in reports and dashboards, with Power BI for portfolio reporting Yes, real-time financials and profitability forecasting
Integrations and API Yes, through Power Platform connectors and Microsoft Graph Yes, API plus integrations with accounting, calendar and automation tools
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Personal consulting
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Microsoft Teams, Power BI, Power Automate, SharePoint more entries Xero, QuickBooks, Sage Intacct, Exact Online, Google Calendar, Microsoft Exchange, HubSpot, Salesforce, Jira, Stripe, Expensify, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Microsoft Project From $10 / user / month Scoro From €15 / user / month
  • Deployment Microsoft Project Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Scoro Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Support Microsoft Project Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum Scoro Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
  • Made in Microsoft Project United States (Microsoft) Scoro Estonia
  • AI features Microsoft Project No Scoro Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Microsoft Project

Strengths

  • Powerful scheduling with Gantt, dependencies and baselines
  • Deep resource and portfolio management for larger projects
  • Integrates with the Microsoft 365 and Power BI ecosystem

Limitations

  • Steeper learning curve than lightweight task tools
  • Editions and pricing (cloud plans versus one-time desktop) can be confusing
  • Full capabilities need higher plans or the Professional desktop client

Scoro

Strengths

  • Unifies projects, resources and finances in one PSA
  • Strong profitability and financial insights
  • Connects to the main accounting, calendar and automation tools

Limitations

  • Higher price point
  • Depth can be complex for small teams

Plans

Pricing

Microsoft Project

  • Planner Plan 1 $10 Per user and month, paid yearly.
  • Planner and Project Plan 3 $30 Per user and month, paid yearly. Adds the Project desktop client, roadmaps and portfolio features.
  • Project Standard 2024 $679.99 One-time purchase for one PC.
  • Project Professional 2024 $1,129.99 One-time purchase for one PC. Adds resource management and Project Server connectivity.
  • Project Server Subscription Edition Not stated On-premises, priced through a Microsoft partner.
Visit site

Scoro

  • Time-billing €15 Per user and month, minimum 5 users. Combines the Track and Invoice apps.
  • Projects & Resources €25 Per user and month, minimum 5 users. Combines Do, Deliver, Track and Resource.
  • Quote to Cash €25 Per user and month, minimum 5 users. Combines Estimate, Deliver, Track and Invoice.
  • End-to-end €52 Per user and month, minimum 5 users. All eight apps plus Advanced Work and Advanced Financials. Annual billing is 13 to 17 percent cheaper on every bundle.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Microsoft Project

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Scoro

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Microsoft Project https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/project/project-management-software · checked against the official source on 2026-08-22

Scoro https://www.scoro.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-01

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.